Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken Chowder

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2009

      Very, very delicous! The entire familiy loved it. I ususally don't take liberties with a recipe the first time I make it but after reading your instructions and the rave reviews of others I figured that this is a versatile soup and could use whatever ingredients I had on hand. For example, I used leftover cooked turkey and sauted the onions, celelry and carrots to further the cooking process (as you suggested). I added cream of chicken and cream of mushroom soups (that's what was in the cupboard), put in about 1 cup of leftover mashed potatoes, and threw in a handful of frozen peas. Then I cooked it in the crockpot on low for 4 hours. Wonderful!! This will be a recipe that is made often at our house! Thanks Roxygirl in Colorado!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      This is an absolutely fabulous recipe that I will make really often; also very versatile as I made some changes. I used Tyson Grilled Chicken Breast Strips, left out the onion, celery and carrots and instead used onion powder and 2 cups of frozen peas and carrots. I thought I had 2 cans of cream of potato soup but only had one so I used one can of Cheddar Cheese and one can of Cream of Potato. I had an extra potato that was going to go bad so I diced it up without peeling it and threw that in. I forgot dill, so didn't use that either... Because I wasn't using onion and was using pre-cooked chicken, I didn't sauté anything; I just threw all the ingredients (except the half and half) into the crockpot and cooked it on low for 8 hours. As one of the other ratings says, this soup really does taste like the inside of a pot pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      Let me start off by saying the changes I made: I used a half of a frozen turkey breast I had in the freezer leftover from when my mom roasted a turkey breast awhile back instead of the chicken. I used frozen mixed vegetables in place of all of the vegetables listed and I used skim milk instead of the half and half and I added less than a half of a block of cream cheese. I also cooked this stove top as opposed to crockpot and it took roughly 45 minutes...I didn't really count the time. I served this with cornbread and it was a huge hit. It tasted just like the middle of a pot pie..it was thick and creamy and delicious and very filling. I will definitely be making this again and again this winter. I dont know if this recipe actually serves 8 as it served me and my mom two hearty bowls each and a small bowl for my grandma but I guess it could? I don't see it happening at my house though! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      This was a nice bowl of comfort. I used milk instead of half and half, and I think next time I'll use the half and half, as this was more soup-y than chowder-y. Even my soup dislikers liked this. Made for PAC Fall 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      Tasty soup! I halved the recipe for hubby and me. Used the cr. of potato soup & added a little fresh chopped Italian parsley. I cooked this stovetop vs. crockpot. It was done in about 45 minutes (which inludes boiling the chicken and veggies in water which then made broth). Tasted best after sitting a while to let the flavors meld (probably would not have needed to let it rest if I had used the crockpot). Very good topped with grated parmesan cheese! Also added a small dash dry white wine (would be good too with a squeeze of fresh lemon juice). Next time I will try subbing frozen peas for the corn. Thanks, Roxygirl, for sharing this comforting & versatile chowda recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      This was a great confort meal and made wonderful leftovers the next day. We used fresh dill instead of the dried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      We really enjoyed this creamy flavoursome soup on what was a chilly winter evening when comfort food was just SO welcome! This is SO easy to make that I’ll certainly be making it again. I sautéed the chicken and vegetables; I used sliced zucchini instead of the corn (we're not overly fond of corn) and I added a tablespoon of minced garlic (a personal taste preference). I used one can of potato and leek soup and one can of cream of chicken soup, a cup of chicken broth and ½ cup of white wine. Sorry, Roxygirl, the whim of the moment took charge -and I just had to add wine! Thanks for a super crockpot soup recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      This was absolutely delicous!!! My boys loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2005

      Absolutely delicious! I made this exactly as the recipe stated, using 1 can of cream of potato and 1 can of cream of celery soup and served it over rice - SO easy! DH had THREE helpings lol! Definite keeper in this house! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      This is awesome!! DH looked in the pot while I was making it with that "Uh, what is THAT?" look on his face. However, when he put the first bite in his mouth, I saw that change to definite approval and he told me it would be great for our traditional Christmas Eve soup supper. If he approves it for that, it's a sure winner!!! Thanks a bunch for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (303 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 240.1
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    29%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 66.4 mg
    22%
    Sodium 859.2 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 23.6 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites