10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was fantasic. I am usually not a fan of crock pot food but keep trying because its easy and this is definately a keeper. I didn't use the water chesnuts or the canned bean sprouts because I don't like them. I added drained baby corn instead. I cooked on high for about 4 hours, added the cornstarch/water and cooked another 10 minutes. Turned out perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessi0824 August 25, 2011

So easy! So delicious! I have never made chicken chow mein but it was one of my favorite dishes my mom made. This recipe tasted just like hers! I made it a few weeks ago and will make two crackpots of it tomorrow, which is a lot because my husband, who also loved the recipe, and I are in our upper 60s and don't eat that much. We will be giving this to 2 friends from church whose spouses are going through chemotherapy. I'm a decent cook so I wouldn't take something unless it tasted really good. This recipe fills the bill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 30, 2015

This was great chow mein for a beginner like me. In the chaos of preparation with an infant at my feet I forgot the T of sugar but when it was done I didn't even notice. I also used a whole bag of fresh bean sprouts instead of the can. Yum! To add an extra health benefit I served this with brown rice. It was great! We'll make it again when the craving comes along.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kacie27 December 30, 2010

dh loves chow mein and said this was pretty good. As for me, I liked it also because it's so easy to prepare and gave us lots of left-overs, even though I'm not big on Asian food, I thought it was tasty.
Thanks for posting it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohgal August 06, 2010

I would give this 10 stars! We just loved this recipe! It has the exact right taste for chow mein. Plus , it was so easy. It smelled so good cooking this afternoon! My hubby had seconds and told me to make this again. I added in a can of bamboo shoots , drained, and I drained my water chestnuts and bean sprouts. I had a 15 ounce can of bean sprouts so I put the whole can in there. I used 4 garlic cloves and 1 tablespoon fresh grated gingerroot instead of the powder. I added 1 tablespoon of molasses , a pinch of white pepper and a little sesame oil. I found the amount of cornstarch in this recipe to be the perfect amount to achieve the correct consistency. I served it over jasmine rice with the crunchy chow mein noodles sprinkled on top, just like when I would eat the canned chow mein as a kid. This was so much better. Mine was done in 4 hours on low in my crock pot. Served egg rolls on the side. What a great meal. Thank you so much for posting! I don't have many slow cooker recipes for chicken that I love, but this is my favorite-a total keeper! Clean-up was a breeze!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bad kitty 1116 March 30, 2010

This is an easy and tasty dish. I didn't add the cornstarch & water at the end, and it still worked out well served over brown rice. I also substituted 1 packet of Splenda for the sugar. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glgrimes April 26, 2009

This is yummy and it only needed about 4 hours to be done in my crock pot. I bought fresh bean sprouts to put in it in the last hour, but they didn't last for the 2 days that I had them in the fridge, so our version is sprout-less! :( My kids mostly like Chow Mein because of the noodles that you usually get with them, so I bought Chow Mein noodles and put a little bit of egg omelette on top of the dish. Yum! Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif February 23, 2009

Delicious and so easy for a week night supper! I only used 3 carrots but followed the rest of the recipe as written -- delish! Thanks for sharing this keeper recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ January 26, 2009

This was really good and quick prep, quite tasty. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parrot Head Mama January 21, 2009

Yummy! I don't know why it's listed as a southern recipe in the description, but it is a great Asian dish. I drained my cans, as it did not specify and the whole thing was done in 2 hrs. I also halved the cornstarch as a quarter cup seemed like a lot, and it worked perfectly. This is really good chow mein that I will be making often. Thanks for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu January 19, 2009
Crock Pot Chicken Chow Mein