Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken Chow Mein Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken Chow Mein

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2011

      This was fantasic. I am usually not a fan of crock pot food but keep trying because its easy and this is definately a keeper. I didn't use the water chesnuts or the canned bean sprouts because I don't like them. I added drained baby corn instead. I cooked on high for about 4 hours, added the cornstarch/water and cooked another 10 minutes. Turned out perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      This was great chow mein for a beginner like me. In the chaos of preparation with an infant at my feet I forgot the T of sugar but when it was done I didn't even notice. I also used a whole bag of fresh bean sprouts instead of the can. Yum! To add an extra health benefit I served this with brown rice. It was great! We'll make it again when the craving comes along.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

      dh loves chow mein and said this was pretty good. As for me, I liked it also because it's so easy to prepare and gave us lots of left-overs, even though I'm not big on Asian food, I thought it was tasty.
      Thanks for posting it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      I would give this 10 stars! We just loved this recipe! It has the exact right taste for chow mein. Plus , it was so easy. It smelled so good cooking this afternoon! My hubby had seconds and told me to make this again. I added in a can of bamboo shoots , drained, and I drained my water chestnuts and bean sprouts. I had a 15 ounce can of bean sprouts so I put the whole can in there. I used 4 garlic cloves and 1 tablespoon fresh grated gingerroot instead of the powder. I added 1 tablespoon of molasses , a pinch of white pepper and a little sesame oil. I found the amount of cornstarch in this recipe to be the perfect amount to achieve the correct consistency. I served it over jasmine rice with the crunchy chow mein noodles sprinkled on top, just like when I would eat the canned chow mein as a kid. This was so much better. Mine was done in 4 hours on low in my crock pot. Served egg rolls on the side. What a great meal. Thank you so much for posting! I don't have many slow cooker recipes for chicken that I love, but this is my favorite-a total keeper! Clean-up was a breeze!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      This is an easy and tasty dish. I didn't add the cornstarch & water at the end, and it still worked out well served over brown rice. I also substituted 1 packet of Splenda for the sugar. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      This is yummy and it only needed about 4 hours to be done in my crock pot. I bought fresh bean sprouts to put in it in the last hour, but they didn't last for the 2 days that I had them in the fridge, so our version is sprout-less! :( My kids mostly like Chow Mein because of the noodles that you usually get with them, so I bought Chow Mein noodles and put a little bit of egg omelette on top of the dish. Yum! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Delicious and so easy for a week night supper! I only used 3 carrots but followed the rest of the recipe as written -- delish! Thanks for sharing this keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      This was really good and quick prep, quite tasty. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Yummy! I don't know why it's listed as a southern recipe in the description, but it is a great Asian dish. I drained my cans, as it did not specify and the whole thing was done in 2 hrs. I also halved the cornstarch as a quarter cup seemed like a lot, and it worked perfectly. This is really good chow mein that I will be making often. Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken Chow Mein

    Serving Size: 1 (350 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.6
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    19%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 72.6 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1113.6 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 29.1 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes