9 Reviews

This was good. I made this on the stove top. I used pinto beans because that's what I had on hand. I used boneless, skinless chicken breast which I sliced and added to the pot. Once it was cooked, I removed chicken and shredded with two forks then placed back in the pot & simmered for 5 minutes, stirred & served. I served with a dollop of sour cream, shredded Colby jack cheese & diced avocado. It was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brightma November 11, 2013

Not only was this chili super delish, I also fell in love with the ease in making it. Got all my ingredients prepped early this morning and came home from work to a nearly ready dish. I used chicken drumsticks instead of the chicken thighs (already had it in the freezer) and used 1 14.5 oz can red kidney beans and 1 can white kidney beans. For more ease, I added 2 T cornmeal flour and saute'd it with onion/garlic mixture instead adding regular flour at the end. I also added about 2 cups chicken broth as suggested by other reviewers. Once chili was ready I removed the bones and cartilage and diced chicken. I also added extra cumin, because I love it. Because lime juice was used, I decided to utilize the peel, therefore the zest of 1 lime was added to the chili. My oops - I totally forgot about the cilantro, but tomorrow I will add it to the leftover. I can only imagine how more tasty it will be. We all loved it and it most definitely is perfect for a cold night (it's cold here tonight). Because I wasn't going to be home early enough, had to cook it longer than 5 hours on low (cooked for 8ish)....it came out perfect. I also added a few sprinkles of extra lime juice to my plate-yum! Thank you Deantini for a perfect winter's night meal. Made it for Went to Market tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ForeverMama March 14, 2013

I made this exactly as posted......well almost! I didn't have quite enough chicken thighs so I threw 1/2 of a chicken breast in there. I made this in the crockpot, starting during my lunch break so it would be ready for a delicious dinner. Loved that there was not much work to be done so I could take care of this and grab a bite to eat! The end result was a very thick chili, with just a hint of heat. I really enjoyed this and will make it again. Thanks for sharing! Made for PRMR Tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 25, 2013

I made this on the stove instead of the crock pot and it was really good. It is very similar to mine with a few differences I might incoporate. I did add some chicken stock, we like it a little jucier. I only used one can of green chilis but I think next time I will use 2 because they just melted in with the onions and my kids could not discern them. We sprinkled some shredded sharp cheddar cheese on top. I made it for Went to the Market Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 May 14, 2012

This is a delicious, easy chicken chili recipe with lots of flavor! I added some corn to the chili as well as some shredded cheese, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. My daughter had multiple helpings and only weighs 99 lbs. soaking wet! I will definitely be adding this to my regular rotation-thanks for a great recipe. Made for Best of 2011 Cookbook Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jociecee January 16, 2012

Made this chili as per the recipe & must admit that we thoroughly enjoyed the use of chicken thighs (I usually use breast meat in these)! Wonderfully tasty & definitely worth making again! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 20, 2011

WOW !! This was a very satisying light dinner on a chilly night. The only change I made was that I used 8 boneless skinless chicken breasts. The only change I might make in the future is to add a little shredded cheese to this, but we all enjoyed this as posted. Great variation and right amount of ingredients here. Cooking time was right on the money. :). Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker March 02, 2011

This is a great chili. I made this on top of the stove instead of in the crock pot because I didn't plan very well. Regardless, this was good and I will make it again. I did have to add a little bit of chicken broth, but I believe this is only because I made it on top of the stove. Thanks for posting this Deantini. Made for 123 Hits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft March 01, 2010

Delicious chili which DH loved! The changes I made was using chili powder (instead of chipotle powder) and 1 4 oz pkg of chilies and 1 chipotle chili with the adobe sauce -- I also added 1 can of V-8 as I didn't think there was enough liquid -- but there was plenty, so next time I won't add any extra liquid. Thanks for sharing this keeper which we will be having again soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ January 21, 2010
(Crock Pot) Chicken Chili