Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore

    Average Rating:

    191 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 191

    Sort by:

    • on October 03, 2002

      Add this to your list of favorites and you won't be sorry. So quick and easy to put together and no run to the store for an ingredient I didn't have. The smell alone was delightful. I served this with spagetti, salad and garlic bread. Everyone loved the tender, moist, flavorful chicken and went back for seconds. I used skinless, boneless thighs. I'm filing this recipe under "Quick, Easy, Delicious, Make Often".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2002

      My Gosh, Girl, this is a fantastic "Cacciatore" recipe! How easy can it get when all you have to do is toss everything in the crockpot, go about your business, and sit down to a super-duper meal! This goes to the top of my "Must Have List"! Thanks for posting a true winner! Laudee C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2002

      A good throw together crockpot recipe. The smell just fulled the house. I really liked the addition of celery powder. I used skinless thighs. Everyone went back for seconds. I will make this one again. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2002

      This was a great recipe. Even my picky teenager really liked it. Used celery seed instead of celery powder. Used skinless chicken, 2 Tbsp. olive oil and added 1 tsp. sugar. Prep time was more than 5 minutes. This is a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2002

      Based on all your reviews, I trusted them and made it when we had company. I used one package of skinless, boneless chicken breasts and one package of skinless, boneless chicken thighs. I don't buy tomato paste, so I used my homemade tomato sauce in its place. The chicken was so amazingly tender, it fell apart with a fork, and the flavour was fabulous. I will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2002

    • on September 10, 2003

      I was appalled that I'd forgotten the stars on my first review! This dish is excellent - I'd give it more stars if I could. Easy to prepare, completely flavorful, the house smelled incredible all day, the chicken was so tender it fell off the bones! Have made this many times and will fall approaching, will make it many, many more times! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2002

      I used bone in skinless chicken breast and I thought the chicken was dry. Probably should have used thighs as the others did. The sauce itself was excellent. I added a couple of bay leaves along with the other spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      For those of you who can't find or don't know what celery powder is (like me), its ground celery SEEDS (not to be confused with dried ground celery). Celery SALT is celery powder plus salt. I wanted to save others the precious minutes I lost googling this info on my blackberry while in the middle of aisle 9 at my local supermarket. I used the celery SALT (since recipe calls for salt anyway and powder unavailable) and I added one can diced tomatoes. I think the sauce came out with the PERFECT consistency and I served it over roasted spaghetti squash. I also used skinless thighs and breasts to try to make this as light (fat and calorie-wise) as possible. I used the high setting on crockpot for 4 hrs and it was cooked to perfection!! My family thought I labored intensely over this meal_ if only they knew, but I'll never tell!!!! Great recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Loved this! Super flavorful! I used 1 can of tomato paste and 1 28oz can of crushed San Marzano tomatoes. I doubled the garlic and used all boneless skinless chicken breasts. I also added some italian seasoning to the other seasonings. Will definitely make this my go-to cacciatore. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2003

      This was great! I made it after seeing someone posted this was their FAV recipe on the TALK boards. I did change it a bit: left out the green pepper (as I don't like it); used 1 can tomato paste and one can chopped tomatoes, used some italian spice mix instead of the basil and celery powder (i was out of them). It was great. Hubby and I both enjoyed it. Super easy which is key. Will definatley make again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      I use 1 lb of mushrooms and add a large can of crushed tomatoes. This recipe is so easy and it is my favorite recipe on this website. I have probably tried 2 dozen recipes to date. I add italian seasoning in addition to the oregano basil and celery powder. i only tried with red wine since didn't have white on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      I tried this, and the recipe doesn't state what size of crock pot. I wouldn't make this in anything more than a 2 quart, it seems like it would fit, but I came home to the nasty smell of burnt dinner. I ended up remaking it in a pan on the stove and it was ok. Just disappointed it doesn't work for my 5 quart crock pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      Very tasty. I used red cooking wine. Like another reviewer, I think some sliced black olives would be a good addition. Thanks, Tish! 8/26/10 update: Like many dishes, this is better the second day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Easy and DELICIOUS! I used Costco's chicken breast strips, red wine, 1 can tomato paste and one of diced tomatoes, a can of black olives with the juice, and extra garlic. Served it on wide egg noodles. It made tons of juicey sauce and my 3 year old son was lifting the plate to drink off the little bit extra (the table manners were bad, the compliment to the recipe was excellent!)! The aromatherapy while cooking was awesome...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      This was excellent. Made as directed, except I added a can of diced tomatoes as well. I used chicken breasts (I even put them in frozen) and I did use the crushed red pepper flakes, the heat was good! I served over quinoa. The leftovers were even BETTER. Thanks Tish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2004

      I loved this recipe!! And so did my dh! I wanted it a little more saucy so I instead of the 2nd can of tomato paste I added a can of tomato sauce. Yummy! I can hardly wait to have it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      This is my absolute favorite crock pot recipe. I make it at least once a month!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      OMG, YUM! This was sooo good! We made it as follows, but omitted the mushroom (i don't like them), and used chicken stock instead of wine. This smelled so amazing when it was cooking, and it tasted just as amazing! We will DEFINITELY make this again, and probably double the recipe because we didn't have any leftovers to enjoy later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      Not the most flavorful Chicken Cacciatore that I have ever eaten. If did smell wonderful cooking but it was lacking in flavor. Followed directions exactly, and the chicken was very tender and falling apart. Will probably try this again with some tweaking to the recipe to add some flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore

    Serving Size: 1 (579 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 948.7
     
    Calories from Fat 558
    58%
    Total Fat 62.0 g
    95%
    Saturated Fat 16.2 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 255.1 mg
    85%
    Sodium 1503.2 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    21%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 69.1 g
    138%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes