192 Reviews

Add this to your list of favorites and you won't be sorry. So quick and easy to put together and no run to the store for an ingredient I didn't have. The smell alone was delightful. I served this with spagetti, salad and garlic bread. Everyone loved the tender, moist, flavorful chicken and went back for seconds. I used skinless, boneless thighs. I'm filing this recipe under "Quick, Easy, Delicious, Make Often".

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terrilynn October 03, 2002

My Gosh, Girl, this is a fantastic "Cacciatore" recipe! How easy can it get when all you have to do is toss everything in the crockpot, go about your business, and sit down to a super-duper meal! This goes to the top of my "Must Have List"! Thanks for posting a true winner! Laudee C.

29 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee October 01, 2002

A good throw together crockpot recipe. The smell just fulled the house. I really liked the addition of celery powder. I used skinless thighs. Everyone went back for seconds. I will make this one again. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissyo October 08, 2002

This was a great recipe. Even my picky teenager really liked it. Used celery seed instead of celery powder. Used skinless chicken, 2 Tbsp. olive oil and added 1 tsp. sugar. Prep time was more than 5 minutes. This is a definite keeper!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shoppond November 03, 2002

Based on all your reviews, I trusted them and made it when we had company. I used one package of skinless, boneless chicken breasts and one package of skinless, boneless chicken thighs. I don't buy tomato paste, so I used my homemade tomato sauce in its place. The chicken was so amazingly tender, it fell apart with a fork, and the flavour was fabulous. I will be making this again. Thanks for the recipe.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeDee November 08, 2002

I was appalled that I'd forgotten the stars on my first review! This dish is excellent - I'd give it more stars if I could. Easy to prepare, completely flavorful, the house smelled incredible all day, the chicken was so tender it fell off the bones! Have made this many times and will fall approaching, will make it many, many more times! Thanks for a great recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joy1996 September 10, 2003

I used bone in skinless chicken breast and I thought the chicken was dry. Probably should have used thighs as the others did. The sauce itself was excellent. I added a couple of bay leaves along with the other spices.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise in NH October 30, 2002

For those of you who can't find or don't know what celery powder is (like me), its ground celery SEEDS (not to be confused with dried ground celery). Celery SALT is celery powder plus salt. I wanted to save others the precious minutes I lost googling this info on my blackberry while in the middle of aisle 9 at my local supermarket. I used the celery SALT (since recipe calls for salt anyway and powder unavailable) and I added one can diced tomatoes. I think the sauce came out with the PERFECT consistency and I served it over roasted spaghetti squash. I also used skinless thighs and breasts to try to make this as light (fat and calorie-wise) as possible. I used the high setting on crockpot for 4 hrs and it was cooked to perfection!! My family thought I labored intensely over this meal_ if only they knew, but I'll never tell!!!! Great recipe!!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raquelwest September 13, 2011

Loved this! Super flavorful! I used 1 can of tomato paste and 1 28oz can of crushed San Marzano tomatoes. I doubled the garlic and used all boneless skinless chicken breasts. I also added some italian seasoning to the other seasonings. Will definitely make this my go-to cacciatore. Thanks for posting.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl June 02, 2010
Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore