21 Reviews

I made this recipe 8/2001 and it turned out great!However, next time I will be sure to use skinless chicken. The skin made it a bit greasy. I also used tomato sauce instead of paste, and added a can of diced tomatoes. I did not add the celery seeds, but I chopped up some green peppers and added them to the pot.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily2 August 24, 2001

The added ingredients in this recipe made it more appealing than the others I considered. Used legs only and found that it was not necessary to skin the chicken if it was browned well. Also, the cook time is a bit long. Five hours is long enough. Very tender. White meat would dry out, so stick with dark. Add garlic bread, a salad, and a good bottle of red...great dinner for a week night!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wineho May 18, 2012

We used 4 frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts, 3 cans of tomato sauce, and a tad extra oregano and served this over whole wheat thin spaghetti. It was fabulous. Also, taking the advice of other reviews, I added 2 green bell peppers cut into strips, which added greatly to the flavor and made the dish go further. I will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie b. March 04, 2010

This is really good. I had made this a long time ago and forgot about it, so I'm glad I found a Crock Pot version. I substituted black olives for the mushrooms, and added 2 teaspoons of dried basil. Thanks for posting your recipe! HHC

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol October 25, 2009

I took the skin off of most of the chicken pieces before adding them to the crock pot. I think that really helped to cut down on the amount of fat in the cooked sauce. I added a few strips of green pepper and used 1/4c. red wine and 1/4 c. water for the 1/2c. water ingredient. My mushrooms were small so I left them whole. The chicken was fall off the bone tender so before serving, I pulled all of the chicken off of the bone and stirred everything together. Serve with additional parmesan cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon August 01, 2009

Excellent flavor! I used boneless chicken breasts and added a can of diced tomatoes to this and let it cook all day on low..Serve over pasta and it was delicious! .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staci.spass June 16, 2009

I made this 2 weekends in a row with chicken breasts - I used sea salt instead of table salt and it made a difference. Very tasty and super easy - highly recommend!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dean&Ryan's Chef February 09, 2009

My co-worker, John, tried this out over the weekend. He says it was very good and gives it 4 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rich and Stace January 12, 2009
Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore