Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2001

      I made this recipe 8/2001 and it turned out great!However, next time I will be sure to use skinless chicken. The skin made it a bit greasy. I also used tomato sauce instead of paste, and added a can of diced tomatoes. I did not add the celery seeds, but I chopped up some green peppers and added them to the pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      The added ingredients in this recipe made it more appealing than the others I considered. Used legs only and found that it was not necessary to skin the chicken if it was browned well. Also, the cook time is a bit long. Five hours is long enough. Very tender. White meat would dry out, so stick with dark. Add garlic bread, a salad, and a good bottle of red...great dinner for a week night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      We used 4 frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts, 3 cans of tomato sauce, and a tad extra oregano and served this over whole wheat thin spaghetti. It was fabulous. Also, taking the advice of other reviews, I added 2 green bell peppers cut into strips, which added greatly to the flavor and made the dish go further. I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

    • on October 25, 2009

      This is really good. I had made this a long time ago and forgot about it, so I'm glad I found a Crock Pot version. I substituted black olives for the mushrooms, and added 2 teaspoons of dried basil. Thanks for posting your recipe! HHC

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      I took the skin off of most of the chicken pieces before adding them to the crock pot. I think that really helped to cut down on the amount of fat in the cooked sauce. I added a few strips of green pepper and used 1/4c. red wine and 1/4 c. water for the 1/2c. water ingredient. My mushrooms were small so I left them whole. The chicken was fall off the bone tender so before serving, I pulled all of the chicken off of the bone and stirred everything together. Serve with additional parmesan cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      Excellent flavor! I used boneless chicken breasts and added a can of diced tomatoes to this and let it cook all day on low..Serve over pasta and it was delicious! .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      I made this 2 weekends in a row with chicken breasts - I used sea salt instead of table salt and it made a difference. Very tasty and super easy - highly recommend!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      My co-worker, John, tried this out over the weekend. He says it was very good and gives it 4 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      I made this chicken last night and it was falling-off-the-bone delicious! I omitted the onion, mushrooms, and celery seed (personal preference) and upped the garlic to 6 cloves. I also used 12 ounces of tomato paste plus a 15-ounce can of diced tomatoes. Cooked it on high for almost 4 hours. My beloved and I devoured it on top of some whole wheat angel hair. Will definitely be making this again and again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      I made this last night and it was fabulous. A few changes that I made after reading the reviews were as follows; Used some leftover white wine in place of the water, about 2/3 cup, I used 12 ozs of tomato paste and sauce. We're not big on angel hair so we used linguini instead. I also omited the celery seed. I will absolutley be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      I used a dutch oven to make this. It came out wonderful. I will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      Oh my goodness the family LOVED it! Instead of tomato paste or sauce I used my left over home made marinara and instead of water...Wine. Thank you what a wonderful winter dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      Yummy. I used only chicken thighs. I removed the skin and tossed them in. I used 6 oz tomato paste and 6 oz tomato sauce. Very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      Made this for DH and me the other night and it was just fantastic. I am still getting to grips with the crockpot so cooked this on the low setting for 7 hours. The meat was really tender and just fell off the bones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2005

      Easy to make, very tasty. Didn't use the mushrooms, however, as I am the only one in the family who likes them. (Darn!) But everyone else thought they were great too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2004

      Not a bad recipe. When I do it again I will add 4 chopped red peppers, and use tomato sauce instead of paste. Thanks for the recipe all the same. -cApTaIn iNsAnO

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2004

      I decided not to assign stars, because I have decided I don't much like crockpot food. I did think the sauce ingredients worked and tasted fine as written. I hated the texture of the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2001

      Have not tried this yet, was looking for crock-pot recipes, but Chicken Cacc. is one of my family's favorites and it absolutely has to have red wine in it, and green peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore

    Serving Size: 1 (349 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 550.2
     
    Calories from Fat 311
    56%
    Total Fat 34.5 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 170.1 mg
    56%
    Sodium 1000.6 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 45.5 g
    91%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites