38 Reviews

This was great but I tweaked it. I knew my family was not going to enjoy all that ketchup so that being said I used 3/4 cup ketchup and 3/4 cup BBQ sauce (whatever your favoite is). I didn't have the worestershire sauce so I left that out. Based on other reviews I thought it would be safe to add a few more breasts of chicken so I doubled it to 4 breasts. I cooked on low heat for 6 hours. The chicken came out tender with just the right amount of flavor and there was plenty of sauce. I served the chicken on warm sesame buns and it was a great chicken sandwhich. There were no leftovers to save!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mojo mom July 20, 2009

Absolutely Delicious:)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Easy Going Chef October 02, 2010

This was a great meal to come home to. Only thing to point out is, I doubled the recipe because I used 6 chicken breast instead of the two listed and there was much too much sauce. Don't get me wrong, I loved the sauce, better than any bottle, but it was too soupy. We chose open faced sandwiches because of the texture. I let it slow cook for 10 hours on low, came home and took 2 forks to it to shred and let it simmer and soak up the goodness another hour before spooning onto toasted whole wheat buns spread with mustard and pickle relish then topped with a few jalapenos. Good meal!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookeymom September 10, 2010

This recipe is perfect! The sweet tangy flavor just bursts in your mouth. I fixed on potato buns and had macaroni and cheese on the side. I think these would be awesome with slaw and corn on the cob. Such a quick and easy recipe anytime!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Puff December 20, 2009

This was a fast and easy crock pot recipe. I made this for DH's dinner when I had plans for a night out. I cooked on high for 3.5 hours and then reduced the heat to low so that he could eat whenever he was ready. DH said his chicken was tender and moist and easily pulled apart to shred. He felt that the sauce was too sweet for his tastes, so next time I might halve the brown sugar. DH ate these on sesame buns and had enough to take for lunch the next day. He felt they held up being reheated. This is a great recipe for a busy night. Thanks, Sharon!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny August 09, 2009

We really, really enjoyed this! And it surprised me that we enjoyed it so much as it is so unusual for us. We never think to pull chicken apart like this but it works so well. The chicken gets to soak up all the yummy sauce. I tasted the sauce just before it was ready and for us it was quite tomato soupy so I added 1 teaspoon of liquid smoke. Wow, yum, that just made it awesome. Served in a mix of buttered bread rolls. Excellent, warming Sunday night dinner. Just an extra little note - 2 chicken breasts were ample for our family so this works out as an excellent money saving recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies April 19, 2009

I loved this! My DH thought it was too spicy so next time I will cut back on the red pepper. This recipe was super easy. I served it with pasta salad and corn on the cob...delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linze January 16, 2009

I can turkey once a year around Thanksgiving time when turkey's are at there cheapest. So, I used a pint jar of canned turkey and about 6 chicken tenders. I found there was quite a bit of sauce and so I thickened it w/2 T. of cornstarch. Perfect.~! This is really tasty BBQ chicken Sharon and I love the fact of using my crockpot to have a quick and easy meal. I"m glad I tagged for ZaarStars~

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB January 02, 2009

I made this using 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts and followed the sauce recipe exactly. I ended up with a lot of sauce....it sort of overwhelmed the chicken. I served on hamburger buns like a barbecue chicken sandwich. Maybe my chicken breasts were too small? Very easy to put together. I cooked it on low 4 hours, and it was ready. Made this for Everyday is a Holiday tag.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 16, 2008

wow this was really fantastic. I will be making it again DH thought it was great as it had the kick to it from the chilli flakes. easy to put together and just forget. great for when you are busy.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonya01 October 19, 2008
Crock Pot Chicken Barbecue