Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken Barbecue Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken Barbecue

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2009

      This was great but I tweaked it. I knew my family was not going to enjoy all that ketchup so that being said I used 3/4 cup ketchup and 3/4 cup BBQ sauce (whatever your favoite is). I didn't have the worestershire sauce so I left that out. Based on other reviews I thought it would be safe to add a few more breasts of chicken so I doubled it to 4 breasts. I cooked on low heat for 6 hours. The chicken came out tender with just the right amount of flavor and there was plenty of sauce. I served the chicken on warm sesame buns and it was a great chicken sandwhich. There were no leftovers to save!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      Absolutely Delicious:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      This was a great meal to come home to. Only thing to point out is, I doubled the recipe because I used 6 chicken breast instead of the two listed and there was much too much sauce. Don't get me wrong, I loved the sauce, better than any bottle, but it was too soupy. We chose open faced sandwiches because of the texture. I let it slow cook for 10 hours on low, came home and took 2 forks to it to shred and let it simmer and soak up the goodness another hour before spooning onto toasted whole wheat buns spread with mustard and pickle relish then topped with a few jalapenos. Good meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      This recipe is perfect! The sweet tangy flavor just bursts in your mouth. I fixed on potato buns and had macaroni and cheese on the side. I think these would be awesome with slaw and corn on the cob. Such a quick and easy recipe anytime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      This was a fast and easy crock pot recipe. I made this for DH's dinner when I had plans for a night out. I cooked on high for 3.5 hours and then reduced the heat to low so that he could eat whenever he was ready. DH said his chicken was tender and moist and easily pulled apart to shred. He felt that the sauce was too sweet for his tastes, so next time I might halve the brown sugar. DH ate these on sesame buns and had enough to take for lunch the next day. He felt they held up being reheated. This is a great recipe for a busy night. Thanks, Sharon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      We really, really enjoyed this! And it surprised me that we enjoyed it so much as it is so unusual for us. We never think to pull chicken apart like this but it works so well. The chicken gets to soak up all the yummy sauce. I tasted the sauce just before it was ready and for us it was quite tomato soupy so I added 1 teaspoon of liquid smoke. Wow, yum, that just made it awesome. Served in a mix of buttered bread rolls. Excellent, warming Sunday night dinner. Just an extra little note - 2 chicken breasts were ample for our family so this works out as an excellent money saving recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      I loved this! My DH thought it was too spicy so next time I will cut back on the red pepper. This recipe was super easy. I served it with pasta salad and corn on the cob...delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      I can turkey once a year around Thanksgiving time when turkey's are at there cheapest. So, I used a pint jar of canned turkey and about 6 chicken tenders. I found there was quite a bit of sauce and so I thickened it w/2 T. of cornstarch. Perfect.~! This is really tasty BBQ chicken Sharon and I love the fact of using my crockpot to have a quick and easy meal. I"m glad I tagged for ZaarStars~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      I made this using 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts and followed the sauce recipe exactly. I ended up with a lot of sauce....it sort of overwhelmed the chicken. I served on hamburger buns like a barbecue chicken sandwich. Maybe my chicken breasts were too small? Very easy to put together. I cooked it on low 4 hours, and it was ready. Made this for Everyday is a Holiday tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      wow this was really fantastic. I will be making it again DH thought it was great as it had the kick to it from the chilli flakes. easy to put together and just forget. great for when you are busy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Fantastic! My crock seems to get hot on the low setting, so I cooked on low for 2 hours, warm on 1-1/2 hrs, then back on low (just to get hotter). Delicious recipe that I'll def. use again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Nice and easy dinner which we enjoyed. I used two large boneless chicken breasts and did not double the sauce. The amount of the sauce was perfect but we do not like saucy. I added both the garlic and garlic powder. I cooked on high for 4 hours. Next time I think I will use 1 cup ketchup and 1/2 barbecue sauce and add 1/4 teaspoon seasoning salt. Thank you for this nice meal Sharon. Made for Ausie Swap #18.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      Really tangy!! The cider vinegar in this was kind of strong, but only if you stuck your nose in the crock pot and sniffed too deeply, lol. I made exactly as directed except used just less than the called for red pepper flakes and used jarred, minced garlic (1 tsp). I had to cook mine on low for closer to 8 hours because of mine and bf's schedules. Really tender chicken, good amount of sauce, and good flavor. We had these on toasted buns. I thought this was a bit too tomato-ey for my liking, but overall the balance of flavors was very good. Tangy with some heat, and flavorful. Reheats well too. Bet this freezes well! Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Loved how simple and easy this is! Had no time and threw it together in 5 mins. I only cooked it for about 3 hours on low then kept in on "warm" for another 2 hours..but I think my slow cooker has a higher temperature than most because I seem to have to adjust most recipe cooking times. Chicken was tender and moist. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      I did half the sauce. Cause we're not big fan of sauce LOL That way it was perfect. It was the right amount of sauce with the chicken. Not too much. And I cooked the chicken at low for 6 hours like others suggested. Thanks Sharon :) Made for PAC Spring 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      Just made this tonight. Delicious! I doubled the recipe (except for the red pepper). Did not cook on high. Cooked on low for 6 hours and chicken was tender and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This was pretty good. It was a little dry, so we had to add BBQ sauce to the finished product. I really liked the kick from the hot pepper flakes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      Excellent. I had tried another recipe on a previous occasion and by far this is the best yet. I don't think I'll be trying any more as this was just what I wanted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      Yummiest barbequed chicken I've ever had from a crock pot. Only comment I have is it is better cooked on low or medium for 6-8 hours. When I cooked it on high for 3 and a half hours, it was a little dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      Followed as noted. IT WAS A HUGE HIT!! EVeryone loved it!! Will be making this again soon!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken Barbecue

    Serving Size: 1 (694 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 407.0
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    91%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 2735.1 mg
    113%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.0 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 62.2 g
    249%
    Protein 29.3 g
    58%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes