28 Reviews

I made this last night and it turned out delicious!!! My sweet hubby normally makes his from scratch on the stove, and it's very good. Last night though he told me that the gumbo making is now my job...lol...so he definitely gave it 5 stars! :) This was also my first attempt at ever making gumbo, so anybody out there can do this! :) I've always been intimidated by the roux, but it was so easy! I'm a Louisiana girl as well, so this was every bit Louisiana as New Orleans is...lol...For me it was spicy enough. Probably because of the sausage I used along with the cayenne pepper I added. I also added crawfish since we were out of shrimp! :) Soooo good. Having the leftovers for dinner tonight after church! Can't wait to see how good it tastes after it sits in the fridge!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma Vickie August 31, 2011

My husband loves when I make this! The best part is how easy the roux is to make. The only change is I season my chicken with cajun seasoning. I am very liberal with the cajun seasoning both on the chicken and in the gumbo. I also use brown rice (made in a rice cooker because it tastes better/has a better consistency that way) and turkey sausage. We make a big bowl of this, add some cornbread and eat to our hearts' delight! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ericaaw August 15, 2013

This turned out delicious. Very easy to make!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stonecoldcrazy June 18, 2010

Used this recipe for a Ladies' Nite Out at church in Alabama and now all the ladies want it! I'm from Louisiana and it totally reminds me of home! Nicely done. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crrich918 March 16, 2010

This gumbo is fantastic! I loved in the south for ten years

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie W. November 23, 2014

Very goo recipe. Tried this last week and it turned out great. Never made gumbo before this because I was intimidated by makink roux. It truelly isnt difficult, and I am glad I tried this recipe. The only this I did different was grill the chicken and sausage on the grill. It gave the gumbo a great flavor. I also added extra chicken and shrimp.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
svanochten May 25, 2013

I made this recipe for myself and decided to share left overs with my co-workers the next day. I have never had more of my friends rave about a meal like this one. The following day I had to bring copies of the recipe to hand out. Some have made it and said their families now beg to have it over and over again. I made simple changes to the recipe to simplify. I used a bag of frozen gumbo veg. that included all the original veggies plus corn. and used bottled minced garlic. And I used cajun seasoning salt instead of regular salt. Thats it. It is truly a FABULOUS recipe !!!! deserves 10 stars!!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ridergirl November 04, 2012

We thought this was ok. As my husband put it....it was "gumbo-ish". Not a true gumbo. That being said, other Gumbos we have made have taken HOURS and this one you just threw together and walked away while it cooked. So, I guess we can't really complain, right? All in all a tasty recipe that I will make again, but if I am looking for a true gumbo, I will spend the time to do it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizP May 17, 2005

Very easy to make and it came out wonderful! Add Red Hot for an extra kick!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MadameSev November 25, 2003

Delicious! The best gumbo we've had in a long time and the directions were excellent and simple to follow! Thanks Rita for posting this recipe. We will definitely be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ August 11, 2003
Crock Pot Chicken and Sausage Gumbo With Shrimp