Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken and Sausage Gumbo With Shrimp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken and Sausage Gumbo With Shrimp

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2011

      I made this last night and it turned out delicious!!! My sweet hubby normally makes his from scratch on the stove, and it's very good. Last night though he told me that the gumbo making is now my job...lol...so he definitely gave it 5 stars! :) This was also my first attempt at ever making gumbo, so anybody out there can do this! :) I've always been intimidated by the roux, but it was so easy! I'm a Louisiana girl as well, so this was every bit Louisiana as New Orleans is...lol...For me it was spicy enough. Probably because of the sausage I used along with the cayenne pepper I added. I also added crawfish since we were out of shrimp! :) Soooo good. Having the leftovers for dinner tonight after church! Can't wait to see how good it tastes after it sits in the fridge!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2013

      My husband loves when I make this! The best part is how easy the roux is to make. The only change is I season my chicken with cajun seasoning. I am very liberal with the cajun seasoning both on the chicken and in the gumbo. I also use brown rice (made in a rice cooker because it tastes better/has a better consistency that way) and turkey sausage. We make a big bowl of this, add some cornbread and eat to our hearts' delight! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      This turned out delicious. Very easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Used this recipe for a Ladies' Nite Out at church in Alabama and now all the ladies want it! I'm from Louisiana and it totally reminds me of home! Nicely done. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      Very goo recipe. Tried this last week and it turned out great. Never made gumbo before this because I was intimidated by makink roux. It truelly isnt difficult, and I am glad I tried this recipe. The only this I did different was grill the chicken and sausage on the grill. It gave the gumbo a great flavor. I also added extra chicken and shrimp.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      I made this recipe for myself and decided to share left overs with my co-workers the next day. I have never had more of my friends rave about a meal like this one. The following day I had to bring copies of the recipe to hand out. Some have made it and said their families now beg to have it over and over again. I made simple changes to the recipe to simplify. I used a bag of frozen gumbo veg. that included all the original veggies plus corn. and used bottled minced garlic. And I used cajun seasoning salt instead of regular salt. Thats it. It is truly a FABULOUS recipe !!!! deserves 10 stars!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2005

      We thought this was ok. As my husband put it....it was "gumbo-ish". Not a true gumbo. That being said, other Gumbos we have made have taken HOURS and this one you just threw together and walked away while it cooked. So, I guess we can't really complain, right? All in all a tasty recipe that I will make again, but if I am looking for a true gumbo, I will spend the time to do it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2003

      Very easy to make and it came out wonderful! Add Red Hot for an extra kick!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2003

      Delicious! The best gumbo we've had in a long time and the directions were excellent and simple to follow! Thanks Rita for posting this recipe. We will definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2003

      OH, MY Gosh, this Gumbo is Delicious. Made it just like it said , except used red pepper flakes. DH loved it. Recipe is definitely a keeper, Thanks Rita.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2014

      Don't put off making gumbo, get out your crock pot and make this one today! <br/><br/>Mea culpa, I'd been promising my nearest and dearest gumbo since April. Gumbo takes forever to make, I had to find file, and authentic Andouille sausage, I needed to research and get a new Dutch Oven because a gumbo would surely stick and burn in our old one, blah blah blah ...<br/><br/>Last night my nearest/dearest was called out on an emergency project, and I knew he'd come home exhausted and starving. "There's no better time to make a big pot of man-pleasing food, and he'll never notice he's been slipped a short-cut gumbo!" <br/><br/>My local grocery store provided frozen okra and surprisingly tasty packaged Andouille sausage. It was late, and I was practically falling asleep while getting everything into the crock pot. The only changes I made were pretty basic: I browned the sausage and then cooked the sliced chicken breast, then added the oil to the same pan to scoop up the yummy browned/burned bits. And I rubbed the chicken with some homemade Cajun seasoning, heavy on the cayenne pepper. Into the crock pot and off to bed.<br/><br/>At 5am he shook me awake. "It's WAY good!" <br/><br/>Now it's almost 4pm and he's eaten the entire batch. There's one little serving left in tupperware. Oops, I just realized I forgot the shrimp!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2012

      I had to make this for a work function. I had never made this or eaten it! Made this recipe using Rotisserie chicken & added 1 tsp Frank's Red Hot. It was a HUGE hit!! Wonderful Recipe!! Thank You,Thank You!! (: Had SO many requests for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      Had to add Cajun seasoning to spice it up. It was right on the second day! all the flavors had soaked together! Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

    • on November 15, 2009

      This was a bit hit at our house. The timing of the roux is exactly right. I used andouille sausage and browned my chicken with it together. I added fresh peeled shrimp 20 minutes at the end. One of my son's loved the heat and the other doused it with hot sauce. Next time I think I will add some file as I like that taste. Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      I found this recipe to be somewhat bland, which surprised me considering all the veggies, garlic, etc. I'm going to add some Louisiana Hot Sauce and a little more salt to the leftovers. Hopefully this will help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      I made this with Jambalaya sausage and it was a big hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      We really liked this! I made as written, except omitted the chicken because I am allergic to it and increased the sausage and shrimp slightly. DH had JUST started weight watchers when I made this (I had bought the ingredients before he had decided, so I told him too bad I was making it anyway) and to our surprise it was only 13 points per serving. I know for some thats alot, but it worked well for him.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Wow! That was good. Only change I would make is that I chose a cajun saugage that was a bit oily. Next time I would choose maybe a spicy turkey saugage. I am with one of the previous posts about kicking it up a notch with some hot sause - Bam! What a great recipe. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      This recipe is tops in my book. I did make a few changes. I browned the chicken and sausage in the oil and made the roux from the drippings. I added 1 1/2 teaspoon of file gumbo seasoning. I also cheated and used a pakage of frozen gumbo vegetables which made it really fast and easy. The flavor was perfect and I plan to use this one over and over. Thanks for sharing Rita!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken and Sausage Gumbo With Shrimp

    Serving Size: 1 (533 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 577.3
     
    Calories from Fat 292
    50%
    Total Fat 32.5 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 134.9 mg
    44%
    Sodium 1059.2 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 28.5 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites