24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This started out good but when I went to add the dumplings I thought 1 1/2 cups seemed like a lot of dough and sure enough it took over the pot and by the time they were done there was no broth left and it was more like sticky chicken and biscuits. Not sure why I had this problem but I think next time I would leave out the dumplings all together and maybe use noodles instead. It was just way too biscuity for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skylar August 03, 2009

Modified as I always do, This was was woderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jwaugh8 February 05, 2009

This was delicious! A great meal for a cold winter day. I used regular chicken thighs with the bone and just took off the skin. I also added more potatoes and carrot because I wanted leftovers for lunch. Next time I will remove the chicken bones before adding the dumplings, but it was great. I'm more used to potato dumplings but these were very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Brad January 28, 2009

Over the moon delicious :) My family's new favorite.Thank you very much for taking the time to write it all up and posting it.I've never had that dish before,but it always sounded good.You made it easy to understand how it's all put together to perfection! :) It's now going to be a staple in my home.I've heard it's great leftover...what leftovers,?there gone I tell ya gone!!! Thank you again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Munky November 14, 2008

I modified this recipe a bit for my 6.5 quart slow cooker. I changed the servings to 12, and used a whole 32 box of organic low sodium chicken broth. I didn't have any peas, so I substituted corn and lima beans instead. Otherwise I prepared as the 12 serving changes suggested. I made up the ingredients (except for the beans and corn) the night before, then put the crock in the fridge and set it to cooking before I left for work. I let it cook on low for about 9 hours, though I was able to come home on lunch and stir it about halfway through. I added the frozen veggies at that time instead of waiting for the end. Once I got home, I turned the crock to high and let it heat up for 15 minutes, then added the dumplings and cooked on high for another 25 minutes. The results were tasty and flavorful, though I might add more in the way of spices next time. Don't skip the dumplings, though! They do a lot to thicken up the broth. Before I added them, I thought it was going to be too thin, but afterward it came out just right. Sitting in the fridge overnight didn't seem to effect it in the least. I'm looking forward to the leftovers, since stews like this are usually better the next day. Definitely something I'd make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hesster September 25, 2008

This was soooooo delicious! My taste buds couldn't believe it! My crockpot does not get "bubbling hot" so I ended up transfering to a pot on the stove at the end to do the dumplings. I didn't add any salt and instead of thyme used basil, rosemary, parsley, and oregano. I can't wait to make this again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ramsey_penegar September 16, 2008

Rating this for the flavor. I had problems with it being to thick after adding the baking mix. I added the dumpling's to the boiling mixture but I feel that there wasn't enough liquid in the pot for adding dumplings. Something went wrong somewhere but it had a good flavor. I did leave out the thyme and added 1/4tsp of basil in its place.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. March 05, 2008

This was simple and good. I thought it was a little heavy on the thyme, but dh liked it. I also added onion ad garlic. I used chicken breasts which did get a bit dry, will try the thighs next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jswinks February 22, 2008

I merged this recipe with our favorite stove top chicken and dumpling recipe because I wanted to try making it in the slow cooker. I omitted the potato, added 3 celery ribs, 1 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and one coarsely chopped onion and added 1 tbs. poultry seasoning in place of only the thyme. The chicken was done after only 4 hours in my slow cooker and the dish was tasty but we wished the dumplings were a little more dense. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn February 12, 2008

This was really good! I made a few changes though, only because of ingredients I didn't have. I used oregano instead of the thyme and omitted the peas. The flavor was great! I over did it a little with the dumplings. The batter didn't look like enough, to I added more. (Ummm... yeah.. the batter rises - didn't know that :( ) The dumplings took over! I will follow the recipe better next time when it comes to that! Overall, it was very good and I will be making it again soon! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah in New York December 13, 2007
Crock Pot Chicken and Dumplings