24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a very easy recipe to make and the taste was exceptional! I did make a few adjustments and it turned out great. I added chopped celery with the veggies, more spices like bay leaf, marjoram, and savory, and omitted the peas. I also used boneless chicken breast because my family doesn't like the taste of chicken thighs, and added about 1 tbsp. of parsley to the dumpling mixture for a little color. I cooked this on high because I was in a hurry and it's a good thing that I did because it took about 5-6 hours for the veggies to be soft. I will definitely add this to my overflowing recipe collection. Thanks Rhonda! :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vacationgirl59 February 19, 2004

This was really good and so easy. Had to make some modifications due to ingredients I had on hand. In place of fresh carrots I used frozen mixed vegetables that included the baby peas AND carrots. Used about 1 1/2 pounds of boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of thighs. Used half and half instead of milk. Added 1/2 chopped onion and 2 stalks chopped celery with the potato. Added sprinke of dried parsley, 1/2 teaspoon poultry seasoning and two bay leaves to broth mix. Also doubled the chicken broth and that seemed to be a good amount of liquid to make perfect dumplings.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little_Sister February 12, 2010

I doubled the liquid but the biscuits completely soaked up all the broth. If I were to make this again, I would triple the liquid but I think I will search for a different recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittykat6678 December 16, 2012

Super easy and delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vaelmore October 09, 2012

My family enjoyed this meal for dinner tonight. It was the perfect comfort food meal on a cool, rainy day in Western NY. Like other reviewers of this recipe, I did a lot of "doctoring" it up to give it more intense flavor. I added 1 small chopped onion, 1 clove of minced garlic, 1 tsp. poultry seasoning, 1/2 tsp. marjoram and doubled the amount of broth. Like other reviewers, I was afraid the amount of broth indicated would not be enough for the amount of time it would be cooking. I also omitted the dumplings, as DH dislikes the texture. I instead served it with classic buttermilk biscuits. It turned out delicious and savory with just the right amount of each essential component of this classic dish. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe September 07, 2011

What an easy way to make a great meal. I used 2 cans of broth & still could have used more. Guess I'm just used to thinner broth. Will certainly make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zipadedoda August 05, 2005

Oops hit post review too soon, I LOVE this recipe, I always aim for simple and tasty and this fit the bill. I too made a few changes for time's sake, I honestly don't have time or patience for cutting up a lot of vegetables and I skipped the peas don't like them, used a big frozen bag of stew vegetables that include onions, carrots and potatoes, I too doubled the chicken broth and still added some water to make sure there was enough liquid to make yummy dumplings. Its 2 a.m. and I woke up just in time to make the dumplings and am waiting for them to be done so I can go back to bed, thank you for the great recipe that has really worked well for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kmbpeace1171 August 03, 2011

We loved this easy chicken and dumplings recipe. I just used boneless skinless chicken breasts.I didn't even cut the chicken up first because after cooking in the crock pot it just falls apart anyway.I added an onion to the carrots and potatoes.After I cooked the chicken in the crockpot I put it all in a large pot over the stove and added several more cans of chicken broth.I then cooked the dumplings according to the box of Bisquick which was 10 minutes uncovered then 10 minutes covered.The dumplings came out so tender and delicious.I did leave the peas out this time because I made a pea salad to go with this.This is the only way I'll make chicken and dumplings from now on..it's so easy and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
officemaintenance April 06, 2010

Very good recipe. I made this on the stove as opposed to the crock pot method due to schedule issues. I like mine to have more "soupy" consistency than chunky, so I actually used two cans of broth and half of the chicken. Turned out great. Typically I will find at least one dumpling that is chewy, but this time I had nothing but fluffy dumplings. Definitely a good recipe and a keeper for certain.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mhartung November 14, 2009

After reading the previous reviews, I made some adjustments. I added an onion, and two stalks of celery to the beginning and used chicken breasts instead of thighs. We don't like peas, so I used green beans instead. I, too, added marjoram, poutlry spice and a bay leaf to the broth to increase flavor. Based upon a previous suggestion, I added about a TBS each of dried parsley and basil to the bisquit mixture, too. This was a super easy recipe and it's very tasty with the changes. I'll be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vanessasaven October 25, 2009
Crock Pot Chicken and Dumplings