Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2004

      This was a very easy recipe to make and the taste was exceptional! I did make a few adjustments and it turned out great. I added chopped celery with the veggies, more spices like bay leaf, marjoram, and savory, and omitted the peas. I also used boneless chicken breast because my family doesn't like the taste of chicken thighs, and added about 1 tbsp. of parsley to the dumpling mixture for a little color. I cooked this on high because I was in a hurry and it's a good thing that I did because it took about 5-6 hours for the veggies to be soft. I will definitely add this to my overflowing recipe collection. Thanks Rhonda! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      This was really good and so easy. Had to make some modifications due to ingredients I had on hand. In place of fresh carrots I used frozen mixed vegetables that included the baby peas AND carrots. Used about 1 1/2 pounds of boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of thighs. Used half and half instead of milk. Added 1/2 chopped onion and 2 stalks chopped celery with the potato. Added sprinke of dried parsley, 1/2 teaspoon poultry seasoning and two bay leaves to broth mix. Also doubled the chicken broth and that seemed to be a good amount of liquid to make perfect dumplings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      I doubled the liquid but the biscuits completely soaked up all the broth. If I were to make this again, I would triple the liquid but I think I will search for a different recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      Super easy and delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      My family enjoyed this meal for dinner tonight. It was the perfect comfort food meal on a cool, rainy day in Western NY. Like other reviewers of this recipe, I did a lot of "doctoring" it up to give it more intense flavor. I added 1 small chopped onion, 1 clove of minced garlic, 1 tsp. poultry seasoning, 1/2 tsp. marjoram and doubled the amount of broth. Like other reviewers, I was afraid the amount of broth indicated would not be enough for the amount of time it would be cooking. I also omitted the dumplings, as DH dislikes the texture. I instead served it with classic buttermilk biscuits. It turned out delicious and savory with just the right amount of each essential component of this classic dish. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2005

      What an easy way to make a great meal. I used 2 cans of broth & still could have used more. Guess I'm just used to thinner broth. Will certainly make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      Oops hit post review too soon, I LOVE this recipe, I always aim for simple and tasty and this fit the bill. I too made a few changes for time's sake, I honestly don't have time or patience for cutting up a lot of vegetables and I skipped the peas don't like them, used a big frozen bag of stew vegetables that include onions, carrots and potatoes, I too doubled the chicken broth and still added some water to make sure there was enough liquid to make yummy dumplings. Its 2 a.m. and I woke up just in time to make the dumplings and am waiting for them to be done so I can go back to bed, thank you for the great recipe that has really worked well for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      We loved this easy chicken and dumplings recipe. I just used boneless skinless chicken breasts.I didn't even cut the chicken up first because after cooking in the crock pot it just falls apart anyway.I added an onion to the carrots and potatoes.After I cooked the chicken in the crockpot I put it all in a large pot over the stove and added several more cans of chicken broth.I then cooked the dumplings according to the box of Bisquick which was 10 minutes uncovered then 10 minutes covered.The dumplings came out so tender and delicious.I did leave the peas out this time because I made a pea salad to go with this.This is the only way I'll make chicken and dumplings from now on..it's so easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Very good recipe. I made this on the stove as opposed to the crock pot method due to schedule issues. I like mine to have more "soupy" consistency than chunky, so I actually used two cans of broth and half of the chicken. Turned out great. Typically I will find at least one dumpling that is chewy, but this time I had nothing but fluffy dumplings. Definitely a good recipe and a keeper for certain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      After reading the previous reviews, I made some adjustments. I added an onion, and two stalks of celery to the beginning and used chicken breasts instead of thighs. We don't like peas, so I used green beans instead. I, too, added marjoram, poutlry spice and a bay leaf to the broth to increase flavor. Based upon a previous suggestion, I added about a TBS each of dried parsley and basil to the bisquit mixture, too. This was a super easy recipe and it's very tasty with the changes. I'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      This started out good but when I went to add the dumplings I thought 1 1/2 cups seemed like a lot of dough and sure enough it took over the pot and by the time they were done there was no broth left and it was more like sticky chicken and biscuits. Not sure why I had this problem but I think next time I would leave out the dumplings all together and maybe use noodles instead. It was just way too biscuity for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      Modified as I always do, This was was woderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      This was delicious! A great meal for a cold winter day. I used regular chicken thighs with the bone and just took off the skin. I also added more potatoes and carrot because I wanted leftovers for lunch. Next time I will remove the chicken bones before adding the dumplings, but it was great. I'm more used to potato dumplings but these were very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      Over the moon delicious :) My family's new favorite.Thank you very much for taking the time to write it all up and posting it.I've never had that dish before,but it always sounded good.You made it easy to understand how it's all put together to perfection! :) It's now going to be a staple in my home.I've heard it's great leftover...what leftovers,?there gone I tell ya gone!!! Thank you again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      I modified this recipe a bit for my 6.5 quart slow cooker. I changed the servings to 12, and used a whole 32 box of organic low sodium chicken broth. I didn't have any peas, so I substituted corn and lima beans instead. Otherwise I prepared as the 12 serving changes suggested. I made up the ingredients (except for the beans and corn) the night before, then put the crock in the fridge and set it to cooking before I left for work. I let it cook on low for about 9 hours, though I was able to come home on lunch and stir it about halfway through. I added the frozen veggies at that time instead of waiting for the end. Once I got home, I turned the crock to high and let it heat up for 15 minutes, then added the dumplings and cooked on high for another 25 minutes. The results were tasty and flavorful, though I might add more in the way of spices next time. Don't skip the dumplings, though! They do a lot to thicken up the broth. Before I added them, I thought it was going to be too thin, but afterward it came out just right. Sitting in the fridge overnight didn't seem to effect it in the least. I'm looking forward to the leftovers, since stews like this are usually better the next day. Definitely something I'd make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      This was soooooo delicious! My taste buds couldn't believe it! My crockpot does not get "bubbling hot" so I ended up transfering to a pot on the stove at the end to do the dumplings. I didn't add any salt and instead of thyme used basil, rosemary, parsley, and oregano. I can't wait to make this again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      Rating this for the flavor. I had problems with it being to thick after adding the baking mix. I added the dumpling's to the boiling mixture but I feel that there wasn't enough liquid in the pot for adding dumplings. Something went wrong somewhere but it had a good flavor. I did leave out the thyme and added 1/4tsp of basil in its place.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      This was simple and good. I thought it was a little heavy on the thyme, but dh liked it. I also added onion ad garlic. I used chicken breasts which did get a bit dry, will try the thighs next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      I merged this recipe with our favorite stove top chicken and dumpling recipe because I wanted to try making it in the slow cooker. I omitted the potato, added 3 celery ribs, 1 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and one coarsely chopped onion and added 1 tbs. poultry seasoning in place of only the thyme. The chicken was done after only 4 hours in my slow cooker and the dish was tasty but we wished the dumplings were a little more dense. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      This was really good! I made a few changes though, only because of ingredients I didn't have. I used oregano instead of the thyme and omitted the peas. The flavor was great! I over did it a little with the dumplings. The batter didn't look like enough, to I added more. (Ummm... yeah.. the batter rises - didn't know that :( ) The dumplings took over! I will follow the recipe better next time when it comes to that! Overall, it was very good and I will be making it again soon! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (286 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 325.3
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    25%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 97.0 mg
    32%
    Sodium 670.8 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 28.8 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites