15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is so easy and very good. The only changes I made was:only used 3 chicken breasts (because it was just the two of us eating), used 4 oz. of mushrooms instead of the called for 8oz. and I omitted the sherry. It still had a very nice flavor. And because we used less chicken there was plenty of sauce to go over the brown rice I made.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JellyBeanz April 14, 2005

I'm a little surprised to be able to report that everyone in my family loved this...including my 7-year-old who hates everything. I used cream of mushroom rather than celery, but left the rest of the recipe the same. This one's a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenInTally August 25, 2011

This was very tasty. My only problem was that I didn't get gravy but broth. Mine would have been 5 stars if I hadn't added any liquid at all. I used Creme of Chicken as it was that or mushroom and I figured that it had enough mushies already (it thats even possible!). You just have to love crock pots, throw it all into the pot in the morning and serve dinner when your ready. I will try this again without the extra liquid and see how that works. Thanks Luvs!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia February 21, 2011

I'm a big fan of cooking soup recipes. They're so easy to make! But.. I wasn't a huge fan of this one. The flavors didn't meld as much as I would've liked, and love spices and loads of flavor. It may be because I'm not a huge fan of cream of celery soup, though. That said, the recipe was just alright for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi T. January 05, 2011

Really good! I double the mushrooms and sometimes throw in frozen breasts instead of thawed and cook for the same amount of time. I serve it over egg noodles. Always comes out fantastic!!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bzsoccermom June 24, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed this recipe very much. I substituted apple juice for the sherry wine and carrots for the mushrooms. My husband does not like mushrooms.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cjhommel December 17, 2007

I made this recipe as written except I omitted the mushrooms. No one in the family likes them. It was really simple to make--we served the chicken and sauce over wide egg noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover November 17, 2007

I made this with cream of mushroom soup and left out the canned mushrooms, and I used dry vermouth since I was out of sherry. I served it with brown rice, which was a perfect base for the lovely sauce. The whole family loved this one. Next time I may try adding a little goat cheese to the sauce, but it was really delicious as is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeriBinNC October 19, 2005

Hi- we used fresh tarragon from the garden and Golden Mushroom condensed soup. Sooooooo good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mom & Chef Jane September 25, 2005

We loved it! I used tarragon and omitted the mushrooms (my dh doesn't care for them). Also used 7 breasts and had plenty of sauce (which I did thicken slightly before serving, but it didn't reeeeally need it). I wasn't sure we would like the tarragon, but it turned out delicious! I cooked it for about 5.5 hours on Low and that was perfectly tender and juicy. My dh put this in our Top 5 Recipes, so it will become a regular on our dinner table!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaggieB September 17, 2005
Crock Pot Chicken