9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I added about 3/4 C plain flour and 1/2 tsp salt to the cake mix to cut the sweetness (add these until you think it tastes good/not too sweet, almost like a mildly sweet biscuit dough). I also added a pinch of salt to the cherry pie filling to cut sweetness also and to disguise any weird canned/fake flavor (add to taste). The butter I used was salted. I also added little dots of butter to the pie filling. Turned out very good and not too sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Penelope111 September 01, 2012

Wonderful! I used fresh cherries from our yard, mixed with almond extract, cornstarch, and sugar. And I substituted toasted/glazed almonds for the pecans. Going to try it as a peach cobbler next!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareCook October 29, 2010

A fantastic recipe, I used a small crock pot and halved the recipe using half the cake mix and 1 can of pie filling because I mad it for 2 people and it still lasted 3 days. will make many more times with different fruit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aj3446 March 16, 2010

This was very good! I halved the recipe because I used a small box of cake mix by Sweet N Low...next time I will have to make the full recipe...the entire family loved it. Thanks for a easy, delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milkman's Daughter January 12, 2009

If there was a way to give this 10 stars I totally would!!! This was the easiest and by far the best cobbler recipe I've ever tried. I used peach filling instead of cherry, smeared a small amount of butter all over my crock pot before putting anything in, and dotted a little butter on the top of the pecans. It was absolutely perfect at 3.5 hours. Also, I used a cake mix that did not contain dairy and soy margarine to make this dairy free. We put vanilla ice cream (regular for my hubby and soy for me and my DH) on top. MMMMMMmmmmmmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2Summer&Gibson October 12, 2008

Soooo easy to make and good too! I cut recipe in half, came out very good and will make again. I want to try peaches next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolynn D's July 12, 2008

I love crockpot dishes. Five star for ease. I had a hard time determining when it was done. The cake mix was still dry on top after 4 hours. Next time I'll try a little butter drizzeled on the top and/or more cooking time. I like the taste more than my husband. However he is spoiled to homemade cobblers. I will update after experimenting some.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janie from TX November 13, 2005

EXTREMELY AWESOME~ I made this last night for the first time when we had company. The great thing about this recipe is you can use any kinda pie filling (or combination of) that you want. I used Apple, Blueberry, and Strawberry in equal amounts totalling the 42oz of pie filling the recipe calls for. I let it cook for the full 4 hours. SUPERIOR! The aroma filled my house as we all kept lifting the lid to take a whiff. It couldnt have been easier to whip up. Any leftover pie filling I used as topping for the vanilla ice cream we piled on the top with some whip cream. Thank you so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariposa 975 July 29, 2005

Amazing! Not exactly like a "traditional" cobbler but still outstanding. Couldn't have been easier and had a great taste. The small portion that was leftover kept surprisingly well in the fridge too. I served it warm with vanilla ice cream. I will definitely make this again and have already started thinking about how I might adapt it to an apple version. Thanks so much for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JavaDeb January 02, 2005
Crock Pot Cherry Cobbler