14 Reviews

This was good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I used strawberry pie filling as hubby is not a fan of cherries. I also didn't add any of the optional ingredients. I used Splenda for the sugar as that is all I buy. We topped ours with ice cream. We enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol November 04, 2008

I prefer not to give rating cause I don't understand why I didn't like the topping. I love cherry cobbler made with cherry pie filling. So this part is fine for me. There is something in the topping I didn't like. Don't know what. I didn't add cherry flavored liqueur. Maybe I would have like it without the almond extract even though I like the taste of it. The batter was very thick so I added milk. I let it cook near 3 hours like Annisette suggested and it didn't turn out the same color as her photo. Thanks Bluemoon for posting. Made for Holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette September 26, 2008

This is good and quick way to make a cobbler. I used a lite cherry pie filling and it was great. I have a big crockpot so my layer of cherry filling was thin, so next time I'll use two cans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan September 17, 2008

This was a hit at dinner tonight. A wonderful and simple dessert to put together ahead of time. I assembled it ahead of time, and just before guests arrived I pressed start. Served it with vanilla ice cream on the fine china! Will take a photo next time! It was beautiful and not a crumb left on anyone's plate! Thanks, BlueMoonDownUnder! Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees August 27, 2008

Yuuummy and easy to things I love the most! I used and extra can of cherries cuz it seemed like the cake got pretty thick. I added some oats to the cake which I think gave it more of a cobbler feel. Glad I did it was perfect! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Get out of my kitchen August 02, 2008

This is a wonderful cobbler, & so easy to prepare! I did use the optional cherry liqueur as well as the toasted almonds, & I think both those ingredients added a lot to this great dish! I served it topped with frozen vanilla yogurt! Certainly a recipe to keep around! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars Tag Game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 01, 2008

This was great - love the fact that it can be made in the crockpot! Thanks for posting. Made and reviewed for Potluck Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Diva August 01, 2008

Soooo delicious. My family gobbled it up. I didn't use it in the crock pot because the ice storm knocked the power out. I baked it & it turned out heavenly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crunchymomof2 December 31, 2007

This works great for people that have issues with blood sugar issues. I used wilderness sugar free with splenda (Cherries). Then for the brown sugar used the Splenda blend. Worked out nicely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starfire (aka Wendy) December 19, 2007

This was my first attempt at making something cake-like in a crock pot. I'm living in China, without an oven, so I think recipes like this will be useful. I wasn't sure how it would turn out, simply because, well, it's a crock pot. I don't have pie filling, so I used apples, with a little sugar and cinnamon. I used olive oil instead of melted butter, since butter is really expensive here. I cooked it on high for 1 1/2 hrs. The resulting flavor was very light, and the cobbler was like cake, and the house smelled just like autumn in the States. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissLinguist October 17, 2007
Crock Pot Cherry Cobbler