12 Reviews

I'm always looking for crock pot meals since our children are so involved in after-school activities. I was excited to make this since I thought it would be a new twist on meatloaf. I followed the recipe exactly, except substituting an envelope of onion soup mix for the chili sauce. We couldn't tell there was cheese in it. I also took another reviewers (Gabriella20 ) suggestion and added the sauce from Fav Crock Pot Meatloaf #38249. It was a nice addition, but no real new twist on meatloaf. I would make this again, since the family approved.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ARathkamp January 24, 2009

I followed the directions exactly. It tasted just like plain meatloaf. I didn't taste any cheese or anything. All I tasted was the meat. Sorry - but I won't be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom December 09, 2008

I loved this. The loaf was firm and tasty. I substitued some bread I made and toasted for the cheese crackers and some salza for the chili sauce. I followed the tip for getting the meat loaf out of the crock pot using the aluminum foil. I was amazed that the cheese was fully incorporated into the mixture - it disappeared. I've also cooked this with the ritz crackers (generic brand) and as opposed to chili sauce using hot sauce - this was much better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JacksonRoykirk November 23, 2008

I would have never thought about making meatloaf in a crock pot, but it worked pretty well. We followed the recipe for the most part, but subbed goldfish for round cheese crackers since I couldn't find anything fitting that description at the store, and onion powder instead of onion because we didn't have any fresh onion. We also added some chopped yellow bell pepper and pepperoncini peppers because we had them leftover from the previous night's dinner. For spices, we also added a little cinnamon, cayenne pepper, and garlic powder because we felt like it would need a little more seasoning for our tastes. The chili sauce we used was also called 'ketchup with a kick', since chili sauce can mean several different products. We cooked it overnight for just at 8.5 hrs and that was a little too long, the outside was starting to get a little bitter (but I didn't take away on the rating for that- that was our bad, not the recipe). Next time we'll got for 7.5-8hrs. Even though it was a little dark on the outside, it was still plenty moist on the inside. The flavor was good- like other reviews have touched on, there really isn't a distinctive cheese flavor. However, the flavor is still very good. We will make this again, probably with the same tweaks we used this time, or maybe even experiment with the seasons and cheese we use to see what else we can come up with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerry G August 18, 2015

This is the best meatloaf. I used Goldfish snack crackers instead of cheese crackers and ketchup in place of the chili sauce since this is what I had on hand. Turned out wonderful. My daughter, who never liked meatloaf asked for seconds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1 tuff cookie September 26, 2008

AWESOME meatloaf recipe. I always hated meatloaf as a kid but decided to try again as an adult. WOW - wish my mom would have made it this way. It has a great taste. I did want a topping to it, so in the last 30 min. I added the sauce listed in Family Fav Crock Pot Meatloaf #38249. Sauce 1/4 cup catsup 2 tablespoons brown sugar 1 teaspoon dry mustard 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg That was such a great addition to a this tasty recipe. I will definitely be using this again! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gabriella20 February 07, 2008

This was very good. I wasn't sure what the round cheese crackers were, so I used an herb cracker, and it was fantastic! All it needed was soem mashed potatoes and gravy for a complete meal. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrswaz April 05, 2007

Everyone in the family love this one. They get really excited when I make it in the morning. It makes for a long day when everyone is looking forward to dinner. Normally no leftovers. This one is to become one of our family favorites.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1hotpotato September 27, 2006

I made this for my husband. He really enjoyed it, and it was very easy for me to make. I was amazed at how well the loaf kept its shape. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino Girl September 19, 2006

This was an incredible recipe! I made two changes though. Instead of a half cup of milk (I didn't want it too wet), I put in a splash of condensed milk (NOT sweetened), and I also put in two minced garlic cloves instead of onions (healthy, and no...burps afterwords). Thanks you for sharing this recipe! Two adults, two kids, all gone! Will make again!!!!! LA :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L.A. Stewart November 20, 2005
Crock Pot Cheesy Meatloaf