Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Cheesy Hash Browns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Cheesy Hash Browns

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2002

      This recipe is the best. My Hubby loved it so very much. He wants it for tomorrow. This is a simple and easy meal that is great. Everything is included and I could not change a thing. We had a very big salad with garlic bread. We will be doing this over and over. This is why I love my crockpot. Thank You for such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2002

      My husband went back for seconds and thirds! This was creamy and comforting on this cold and blustery day! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2002

      I made this as a side dish for Thanksgiving. It came out pretty good and is very easy to make. I made this again yesterday and added some ham. 6 hours seems to be the maximum cooktime. I started the crockpot just before going to work and came back 7 hours later and it was burnt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2002

      My family liked this, but we all felt it didn't need the peas. Next time, I'll make it without the peas and will add more hashbrowns and maybe cut out the half & half - it was a little soupy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2002

      Just put it all in the crockpot and forget about it. It just can't get any easier and it turns out wonderful! I used a whole bag of hashbrowns (32 ounce size) which measured out to be 8 cups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2003

      I can't believe I have just now discovered this recipe. I LOVED it. So easy and turned out perfect for me. Had a creamy sauce and well flavored by the green onions. I wouldn't change a thing about it. Very comforting and something I will make again. Thanks Diggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2003

      At first I was not sure about this, I tasted it and didn't think I was going to like it, but i made it so i ate it and the more i ate the more I liked it, today it is really good, mine was not creamy at all and that could be that it cooked to long, 5 hours on low, but I am going to try it again for a shorter cooking time because a 5 star potential is there! Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      Oh my these are easy. I prepared them the night before and they were perfect for our Christmas morning breakfast. Thank you for sharing, I'm making again next week with our ribs. Can't wait.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2011

      I made this for a Men's Breakfast at church. How convenient that it cooks while you sleep! I varied the recipe a bit. Used cubed fresh potatoes instead of hash browns, no peas, and Vidalia onion instead of green onions. I doubled it as well. After about 5 hrs on low, the potatoes were still very crunchy so I moved it up to high and after about 2 hrs, it was perfect. I didn't have a full 8 hrs on low and am not sure if the potatoes would have been done then. The leftovers were great too! You could easily add some cubed ham or other meat and have this as a main dish for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      I made this for a family get together and it was really good and flavorful! It got a little thick & sticky after awhile, but I liked that it was kept warm at a buffet-style dinner. I think next time I'd add some more milk. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      I am making this for the second time, because it was so good and easy. As I was making it this time I thought next I'm going to make some fried bacon, crummbled. Either adding it to the potatoes or as a garnish. I really like this recipe, thanks...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      fantastic! easy, and i got rave reviews at my brunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Made it up for a brunch potluck and it turned out good. I was also looking for something not using the soup. The only change I made was leaving out the peas only because peas and breakfast food just don't sound right to me! Will make it again - definitely another good way to make up a large batch of potatos for any large gathering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      These are so delicious, and like another reviewer, I am glad they don't have added fat with cream soup or sour cream. But they are still full of flavor! I even made them without peas or onion. I have one disagreement with the recipe: in 2 hours at high temp, the potatoes were burning on the edges. (I use a 6qt crockpot.) I also would recommend stirring the whole shebang when the potatoes begin to thaw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      It was really tasty, I used everything as the recipe described, except I left out the green onions and I used sharp cheddar because that's my favorite. The only thing I'd mention is that someone here had said that there is only one size bag for the hash browns but the bag I bought had double the amount I needed so I had to dig out the extra quickly because I was making this on a high heat. It's a keeper though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      Doubled recipe, cooked on high 3 hrs. and on warm only for 1.5 hours. It was very bland. I might play with it - I like that it doesn't have the typical cream-of soup or other fatty ingredients, except the cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      I'm giving this five stars even though I did add three ingredients. As it is, the recipe would be delicious - I can tell. But me being me, I added a little maple syrup, some mild italian sausages and a shredded sweet potato. A complete meal and awesome. A real kid pleaser too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      I made this for mother's day brunch, cooked it on high for 3.5 hours, it was done! It was very good. I skipped the onions and peas because my family is picky. I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      I fixed this dish last night to take to our annual Thanksgiving dinner for our residents, families and staff today. I made it just as directed except for the green peas since I didn't have any. I took it to work with me and plugged it in to cook while I was working. It smelled great and we all were ready to just "dig in". I got busy and it cooked just a little longer than I planned but it was great..really no ill effects at all...perhaps not soupy as others have said.. but not to dry..and certainly no burning. It was wonderful and I will be making this often. Great to take to potlucks. Could be for breakfast..could add sausage or bacon for brunch..lots of possibilities. Thanks so much for this great recipe..True comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2005

      Colour this gone!!! I took this to a pot luck party and it was gone in no time. I should have made two crockpots!! It would have all been gone. There was another hot potato dish there as well with leftovers!! Thanks Diggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Cheesy Hash Browns

    Serving Size: 1 (213 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 565.1
     
    Calories from Fat 309
    54%
    Total Fat 34.3 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 17.3 g
    86%
    Cholesterol 52.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 728.0 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 17.6 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites