Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Cheesy Chicken & Ham (So Good!!!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Cheesy Chicken & Ham (So Good!!!)

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2007

      Pretty good. Used only 1/2 stick salted butter, and about a tablespoon of light olive oil. Will definitely make again, but with the following modifications: Cook chicken only 4 hours. Add 1/2 to 1 cup of milk to cream cheese mixture. Add salt to taste. Add peas at the end. Served over fettucine noodles. Will try rice or egg noodles next time. Overall, a yummy, easy recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      LOL! This recipe has several major problems but reading all the reviews today more than made up for them! I am reading this on 7-29-13, almost 9 years since this recipe was originally posted. What great reads the 30 odd reviews about this recipe were for me! I am amazed about how so many give a recipe 5 stars yet specify that they completely amended the recipe! There were so many suggestions about this recipe that I am now uncertain about how to proceed! Should I cut down on the butter? Should I cut down on the cooking time for the chicken?; Do I really use the chicken without getting any color on it beforehand? IMO, the answers are: yes, yes, and no! And not including a quick sautee in 1 tsp of canola oil to get some color on the chicken is a major flaw in this recipe, as is the overlong cooking time which will dry out and toughen chicken breasts, even if submerged in butter and condensed soup and even wine! Some of the suggestions by reviewers that I now include in my version of this recipe include the addition of sautéed onions and mushrooms and the addition of 1 cup of Chablis and 1 package of Lipton Secrets Onion Mushroom Soup and Dip Mix. I wish to thank the O/P (truebrit) for posting his/her recipe for this dish and allowing me to criticize it. As is, this recipe does not work. Happy cooking!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I knew it would be good, but my husband really raved over this. I made this as written, but cut the amount of butter in half and used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. It was nice and creamy and had a great flavor. I served this over corkscrew pasta. This will be one of my go-to crockpot recipes. Thanx!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      YUM. total comfort food type meal. I was short on time and only had frozen chix tenderloins so I put the cooked on high for about 3 hours. Added rest of ingredients and about another hour on high. I did also add milk per the other reviews. Had dry italian dressing on hand so used a little of that and only about 3 tablespoons butter. Kids and I both ate it up over rice. Delish!! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      I love this dish. When i first came across it I fixed like it said to. Now i use Bow Tie pasta and i add california blend vegies. Makes it into a great casserole.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      I really liked this! I've tried it in the crock pot as well as on the stovetop and I prefer it on the stove, actually, just b/c the chicken has a little more texture and it's not all mushy-- I use half the amount of butter and use it to brown the chicken in the pan after I season it with the recommended seasoning (I use black pepper though) I cook the chicken through, add the soup and cream cheese, cook through (I add 1 soup can of water to make the sauce more creamy instead of "glumpy") and, once hot, added diced up deli ham (that's all I have at my house!) and let it cook for a half hour or so... I then mix the mixture with my egg noodles so it's kinda like a Chicken Helper dish. Hubby LOVES it. (did I mention it's his FAVORITE dish ever?)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      very tasty, however next time I will reduce butter by at least half as there was a bit too much butter. I also served this over biscuits, boiled potatoes and stove top stuffing (separately), to great success.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      OMG...this was so GOOD! I did use only 1/4 c.butter and subbed some white wine to make up for the lost moisture (I thought it was an inspired move...loved the flavor it added), I also added some sauteed mushrooms and onions with the soup, ham, cream cheese phase. It was extremely well recieved over buttered noodles. This is a sure fire repeat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2013

      I agree with cooking it less...it was good, but it seemed like the chicken and ham both cooked down so much there weren't any chunks of meat left! So next time I will dice in larger size and cook less and see how that works out. I liked it over corkscrew pasta but my fiance said he thinks he would have preferred rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2012

      This is an amazing recipe! I've made it several times and made a few changes. I use only one stick of unsalted butter. I cook the chicken for about four hours before adding the rest of the ingredients. Like other reviewers, I add a 1/2 cup of whole milk to the soup. We like it served over rice. It turns out great! This is a real winner and one of our favorite dishes! Thank you for the delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      This is very good. I made this last night and served with some buttered pasta and steamed broccoli. I cooked the chicken for six hours and we found that the chicken got a bit overcooked. No big deal, next time I will go 1/2 hour less and see it thats better. We really did like this alot and cant wait until next time. I loved the italian seasoning in this. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

    • on April 18, 2007

      This is a great dish to put into a crock pot and end up with a delicious supper. I only used 1/2 the recipe yield, omitted the butter, used ff 2 oz. cream cheese and ff soup. Added some swiss cheese. Mixed everything together and cooked on Hi for 3 hours. I did add a little cornstarch to thicken the end results. Served this over noodles. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      My DB and I loved this! It had a creamy texture and was great with the added broccoli and cauliflower as sugggested in another review. I added some garlic and onion powder to the chicken because I thought it might need some more spice. Served over fettuccini noodles with garlic bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      We loved this, it was very creamy and good. I was expecting it to be a little more like condon blue, but it was still great. I did make a few changes as follows: I put frozen chicken tenders in the crock pot with the other stuff then put it on high for about 3 hours. I put them on low then because I could tell they were getting cooked. I added some frozen broccoli and cauliflower. Mine needed a little salt at the end, maybe I had low salt ham, I also added some garlic powder. We served it over egg noodles and my Dh called it a 4.5(he doesn't rate anything a 5, he doesn't want to use it and then have nothing higher when he finds a REALLY great recipe :-) )Thank you for a recipe that we will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      Loved it! We can't get cream of chicken soup here so used Cream Soup Mix (Replacement for Cream of ___ Soups) Substitute with a chicken consumme liquid as the liquid instead. I can buy 'blocks 'of ham but the more finely shredded stuff that's more expensive but better quality is the one we prefer so I used that too. DH had his with pasta and salad, I had mine just with salad. While mine wasn't swimming in butter, it did seem like a lot (im my crockpot at least) I do believe that I could cut down on it considerably to make this healthier, so next time I might even just add a tablespoon of olive oil (a healthier fat)and sub the rest of the butter with the correct volume of chicken stock. I think that a few blanched veggies (thin sliced broccoli, peas, green beens) thrown in at the very end would go well in this too, to complete a more or less one pot meal. I will also increase the herb ratio next time - just personal preference. Please see my rating system: 4 stars for a very easy comfort home meal that will be on our menus again and which we will adapt a little to cut the cholesterol so that we can enjoy it more often. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      This was WONDERFUL!!!! I'll be making it again this weekend when our 16 year old grandson comes to visit. I am preplexed at the reviewer who said she had butter floating all over the place. I followed the recipe exactly and had no problem like that at all. We served it over egg noodles and will do that again -- but I'm sure it's great just as well served over rice. And you are right -- it does remind you of cordon bleu -- all that wonderful chicken and ham flavor along with the creamy cheese. It was just perfect for us. Thank you so much for sharing. Bobbie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      I would have rated this higher as it did taste sinfully good, but, against my better judgement, I followed the recipe to a T including the 3/4 cup butter. Big mistake... Butter floating everywhere, it was WAY too rich and I felt incredibly guilty eating it. I had to throw out most of it, big waste of food, which I can't stand. Maybe someday I'll make this again using some chicken stock and using lowfat cream cheese. BYW, I served over biscuits, which I think was a great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      This was wonderful. Easy to do on the stovetop too. I used 1 pound of chicken cutlets and 2 cups of chopped leftover ham. Had to add 1/2 cup half & half to thin the sauce because I added a can of Fiesta Corn for color and crunch. We ate this over hot buttermilk biscuits and it was like a yummy pot pie. Kat is going to love this! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      Wow - this is truly worth making - and so easy! My husband says its his "new favorite" and with him, that's really saying something. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe - its simply delicious! I chose to serve it with rice and we loved it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Cheesy Chicken & Ham (So Good!!!)

    Serving Size: 1 (204 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 569.0
     
    Calories from Fat 397
    69%
    Total Fat 44.1 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 24.1 g
    120%
    Cholesterol 201.9 mg
    67%
    Sodium 1391.6 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 37.2 g
    74%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites