32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Pretty good. Used only 1/2 stick salted butter, and about a tablespoon of light olive oil. Will definitely make again, but with the following modifications: Cook chicken only 4 hours. Add 1/2 to 1 cup of milk to cream cheese mixture. Add salt to taste. Add peas at the end. Served over fettucine noodles. Will try rice or egg noodles next time. Overall, a yummy, easy recipe. Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daniel'sWife November 16, 2007

LOL! This recipe has several major problems but reading all the reviews today more than made up for them! I am reading this on 7-29-13, almost 9 years since this recipe was originally posted. What great reads the 30 odd reviews about this recipe were for me! I am amazed about how so many give a recipe 5 stars yet specify that they completely amended the recipe! There were so many suggestions about this recipe that I am now uncertain about how to proceed! Should I cut down on the butter? Should I cut down on the cooking time for the chicken?; Do I really use the chicken without getting any color on it beforehand? IMO, the answers are: yes, yes, and no! And not including a quick sautee in 1 tsp of canola oil to get some color on the chicken is a major flaw in this recipe, as is the overlong cooking time which will dry out and toughen chicken breasts, even if submerged in butter and condensed soup and even wine! Some of the suggestions by reviewers that I now include in my version of this recipe include the addition of sautéed onions and mushrooms and the addition of 1 cup of Chablis and 1 package of Lipton Secrets Onion Mushroom Soup and Dip Mix. I wish to thank the O/P (truebrit) for posting his/her recipe for this dish and allowing me to criticize it. As is, this recipe does not work. Happy cooking!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Chili July 29, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I knew it would be good, but my husband really raved over this. I made this as written, but cut the amount of butter in half and used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. It was nice and creamy and had a great flavor. I served this over corkscrew pasta. This will be one of my go-to crockpot recipes. Thanx!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* January 09, 2013

YUM. total comfort food type meal. I was short on time and only had frozen chix tenderloins so I put the cooked on high for about 3 hours. Added rest of ingredients and about another hour on high. I did also add milk per the other reviews. Had dry italian dressing on hand so used a little of that and only about 3 tablespoons butter. Kids and I both ate it up over rice. Delish!! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
runningirl March 19, 2011

I love this dish. When i first came across it I fixed like it said to. Now i use Bow Tie pasta and i add california blend vegies. Makes it into a great casserole.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
c.weidmaier November 15, 2010

I really liked this! I've tried it in the crock pot as well as on the stovetop and I prefer it on the stove, actually, just b/c the chicken has a little more texture and it's not all mushy-- I use half the amount of butter and use it to brown the chicken in the pan after I season it with the recommended seasoning (I use black pepper though) I cook the chicken through, add the soup and cream cheese, cook through (I add 1 soup can of water to make the sauce more creamy instead of "glumpy") and, once hot, added diced up deli ham (that's all I have at my house!) and let it cook for a half hour or so... I then mix the mixture with my egg noodles so it's kinda like a Chicken Helper dish. Hubby LOVES it. (did I mention it's his FAVORITE dish ever?)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrandNewJen February 14, 2009

very tasty, however next time I will reduce butter by at least half as there was a bit too much butter. I also served this over biscuits, boiled potatoes and stove top stuffing (separately), to great success.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fynnie May 14, 2008

OMG...this was so GOOD! I did use only 1/4 c.butter and subbed some white wine to make up for the lost moisture (I thought it was an inspired move...loved the flavor it added), I also added some sauteed mushrooms and onions with the soup, ham, cream cheese phase. It was extremely well recieved over buttered noodles. This is a sure fire repeat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. February 22, 2007

I agree with cooking it less...it was good, but it seemed like the chicken and ham both cooked down so much there weren't any chunks of meat left! So next time I will dice in larger size and cook less and see how that works out. I liked it over corkscrew pasta but my fiance said he thinks he would have preferred rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MysteriousSoul October 25, 2013

This is an amazing recipe! I've made it several times and made a few changes. I use only one stick of unsalted butter. I cook the chicken for about four hours before adding the rest of the ingredients. Like other reviewers, I add a 1/2 cup of whole milk to the soup. We like it served over rice. It turns out great! This is a real winner and one of our favorite dishes! Thank you for the delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scottyevil June 01, 2012
Crock Pot Cheesy Chicken & Ham (So Good!!!)