10 Reviews

A comforting meal on a cool spring evening. Loved the smell as it cooked during the afternoon. Our store didn't have any vodka sauce so used a pasta sauce with sausages, peppers and onion. Also subbed stewed tomatoes for the tomato sauce. I added 1/2 cup each onion and red pepper, chopped, and 2 cups baby spinach leaves. Will love to make this again sometime with the vodka sauce. This is a great weeknight dinner that makes the weeknight feel special!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues June 07, 2009

I've always liked simple recipes. So when I came across this recipe of meatballs I decided to cook them in my Redmond multi cooker. Everything was so delicious! The only difference was the time of cooking: it took me about 3 hours to have the dish made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nitochka F. December 27, 2014

It's not bad. I agree that 6 hours would have been too long, so I cooked it in 4. I also don't know what vodka sauce is, and so I used regular pasta sauce. We don't have frozen meatballs in the UK, so I used fresh. I would probably make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deeprose3_6854654 December 22, 2013

Love this easy meal! It's soooo easy, soooo good, and great leftovers! But I have to say I make it in 3 hours... My tortellini come out perfect and the sauce is thick because I only put in about 1 cup water not 2. I make it on like a Sunday afternoon for dinner then I can clean house and just enjoy the evening. Then I have lunch for everyone for a few days. It's great!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julk_1212 December 01, 2013

Made the recipe exactly as called for. Decent, but no to impressive. Even when frozen, the tortellini just comes out too mushy at the end. The red pepper flakes keep it from being too bland, even with the Italian seasoning added too. Used a good quality vodka sauce too. Nice basic dish that's easy to throw together and low-maintenance, but not quite sure what the fuss is about with the other reviews giving this 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daisy D Petals December 14, 2009

So easy & delicious! I also omitted red pepper flakes. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Carp February 16, 2009

What a quick and easy one pot meal! It's awesome-I omitted the red pepper flakes as my kids wouldn't eat it if it was too spicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennythecook February 04, 2009

Great dinner for hockey night! I just used our favourite pasta sauce (not vodka sauce) and it turned out wonderful. By the time we got home from my son's game, it was done and smelling great. Thx for an easy and good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word January 03, 2009

This is delicious, and very forgiving. I left to go to work, knowing I'd be gone for 10 hours. My son was out of school, so I called him and asked him to take the crock pot container out of the refrigerator and put it in the crockpot on low....he did, he just didn't plug it in! When I got home, I wondered why I didn't smell anything....the crockpot was ice cold! I turned it on high for 2 hours, then on low for 1 hour. It was still good. I only added a sprinkle of italian seasonings and a sprinkle of red pepper flakes. I could taste the spice of the red pepper flakes...for me, great, for kids...not so great. Anyway, dinner was late, but it was delicious! Made this for New Kids on the Block tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 23, 2008

easy and delish. i used frozen turkey meatballs from Aldi and did not use the shredded mozarella cheese or the italian seasonings, but DH and I loved it and will make it again, thanks for a great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears December 16, 2008
Crock Pot Cheese Tortellini and Meatballs With Vodka Sauce