Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Carnitas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Carnitas

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on August 01, 2011

      Originally from California and can't find any decent Carnitas where I live in Connecticut. These are very good Carnitas, the only modification I made was to pull them apart with a fork into smaller pieces and then put in the oven, under the broiler, to crisp them up. They turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      I love this recipe. The seasonings are perfect and the meat is tender and juicy and delicious. The only problem I have with the instructions is: with a crockpot you're going to get moisture, so there is no way to have a thick sauce, or the sauces thicken with adding four cups of broth in the first step. I'm going to try reducing the juices in a stockpot on the stove. Having said that, it's still one of my favorite recipes and I make if often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      I have tried so many different carnitas recipes in hopes of getting that crispy, flavorful meat and some were okay but this one is the best!! I was a little hesitant about it because I like to use fresh onions and garlic usually, but something about all the seasonings in this came together perfectly! I ended up sauteeing some onions and bell peppers, fajita style on the stove anyway, and served with all the fixings like at Chipotle. SO GOOD! Also, to get that "crispiness" I took the meat from the crockpot and shredded it in an oven safe dish, then drizzled a little sauce from the pot and some granulated splenda over the top. I broiled for about 5 minutes. For the meat I used pork tenderloins and pork chops for a leaner version, and it was still so juicy and tender. My favorite so far!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Just awesome. Add extra water to cook the pork in, then use it to make rice afterwards. Goes perfectly with the carnitas on a taco or burrito!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      This is an AMAZING crockpot recipe! Since my DH loves (and I mean LOVES) pork, I wanted lots of leftovers. I doubled the recipe and boy is it a LOT of leftovers! Since I couldn't be home to supervise, I put my crockpot on low for 8 hours. The meat was tender and flavorful - we really enjoyed it! The "broth" never thickened for me, but that was ok! The first night, we enjoyed the pork on flour tortillas with all the normal taco fixing. Night #2 we had pork on ciabatta bread with spicy mayo, lettuce and tomato. Who knows what Night #3 will hold?!?! LOL! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      Great crock pot reipe! This tasted very good. Great to make during a busy week. I just chopped up some onions, cilantro, cabbage and served with warm corn tortillas. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Awesome, the whole family said this recipe is a keeper. It's replacing my other carnita recipe.Tastes like restaurant carnitas if not better. (A lot like Acapulco Fresh if you have ever been there). Thanks Antilope1

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      I picked up some cheap piece of port at the grocery, shoulder and butt I think a picnic cut and I really wasn't sure what I was going to do with it but after searching decided to try this one and let me tell you it was delish. We shredded it up and made burritos. My son is super picky so when I try something different we usually do it when he's with his dad but when he got home and smelled the house he warming it up and eating it straight from bowl. I didn't change a thing and we'll be making this again for sure. Thank you for a great recipe. I wanted to come back and say this has become one of our favorite meals. I think I'm making this at least everyother week. Last week we took the left-overs and rolled them in small tortilla shells and fryed them and they were delish, we about made ourselves sick eating so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      This was the most authentic Carnitas we have had. Terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      this is a recipie that does not work with 4 cups broth!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2014

      This is my go to recipe! I am from California and half of my family is mexican and they rave over these carnitas. They are very flavorful. The only thing I do if I have time is I pull them apart and put them on a cookie sheet under the broiler to get a LITTLE bit of crisp on top of them. Serve with chopped fresh tomatoes, cilantro and white onions... amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      This was super easy and tasted great. There was a lot of liquid remaining after cooking for seven hours so not sure all the chicken broth is needed. I'll also use boneless pork butt next time since I use pork shoulder and had to fish out bones after cooking. Otherwise, it was super!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      I'm wondering why everyone thinks this is the best carnitas recipe ever? Where have you all been eating? <br/><br/>I think this recipe is okay but it's not real carnitas. Add some OJ, and the meat needs to be seared. I put my meat in the broiler but it's not the same.<br/><br/>For some reason stars on this site won't show up. I rate this recipe 2 stars. It's okay but it's not good carnitas.<br/><br/>In a pinch this recipe would be good to come home to. The best carnitas I've ever made came from a website called "Our Live in Food". This recipe and that recipe are two completely different beasts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      Used this recipe as a sub for @ home restaurant chain Chipotle Mexican Grill copycat Burrito Bowls. Was A-W-E-S-O-M-E! Made cpl changes for simplicity sake and conducive to what was on hand. Purchased 2-16 oz pre-pkgd Curly's Unseasoned Pulled Pork, cooked on med-high for 10 mins, added seasonings, w/the exception of coriander (none on hand), added 2 tsp Stubbs Hickory Smoke flavored liquid smoke and simmered for another 15 mins. Viola! A definite kpr! My family loved this on the stove. Next time I'll hvt crockpot it ;).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      This is so flavorful and delightful. I added a couple T honey because I like sweet pork, otherwise made as written and LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      Just perfect. Found a pork shoulder roast, followed recipe as is and it turned out great. Used another reviewer's suggestion and took the broth to cook up some rice and had rice, carnitas bowls for meal #1; tacos is meal #2; #3 and #4 who knows. I may tweak the spice up a notch next time but just the fact that they it was falling apart, moist and tasty was perfect enough for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      Fantastic. I used an 8lb pork shoulder blade. Doubled the amount of spices, but kept the 4 cups of "broth" the same. I used water and bouillon. I cooked on high for 9 hours, accident - got caught out of town. I then placed the crock pot outside, cold front, to cool quickly, by this time it was 1am. When meat was cool I spooned out as much of the top oil as possible and then refrigerated overnight. Later that day I removed the top grease and poured 1/2 of the mixture into an iron skillet and broiled, stirring every 8 min, until most of the liquid was gone. It crisped up excellently. Served on corn tortillas with cilantro, onions, green salsa, lime juice and salt. I thank everyone who said to crisp under the broiler. It made all the difference in the world. If not for this step I could have only given 4 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      Really good, just the right amount of spice. I also placed it in the oven to crisp up. So brainlessly easy too. Total keeper in my book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      This my go-to recipe for carnitas. It is consistently good, super easy, and inexpensive - bonus! We've used the meat in burritos, tacos, quesadillas... pretty much anything with a tortilla. Tonight, I think I'll try enchiladas. I'm sure they will be fantastic. If you're looking for a great crock pot carnitas recipe, THIS is it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2012

      This was great! Shred the meat and put under the broiler until brown and crispy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Carnitas

    Serving Size: 1 (402 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 593.9
     
    Calories from Fat 382
    64%
    Total Fat 42.5 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 14.5 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 161.0 mg
    53%
    Sodium 771.2 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 43.6 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites