Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Caribbean-Style Black Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Caribbean-Style Black Beans

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2014

      Here in Australia black beans in a can don't exist. So, I had to soak mine and cook them (they are a bit hard to find as they aren't popular - we are more influenced my Asian cooking). I added a bacon bone, a green capsicum (pepper) and extra bbq sauce (I left out the sugar - I'm thought it would make it too sweet). I cooked mine in the oven (nice and slow for a couple of hours). I agree that a bit of hot sauce would be great. I served it with rice and can I say it is tasty but more filling than I thought. Thanks for the recipe, the leftovers are going into a pot of chili

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      I halved the recipe and really enjoyed this dish! I used veggie chorizo style sausage. Lots of flavor! Thanks Cookgirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      I didn't like this quite so sweet. I added a couple of dashes of tabasco sauce. I might add a can of pinto beans to the next batch. I served it over corn bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      I followed this recipe exactly but used 2 cups chopped cooked chicken instead of ham. I served it over brown rice. It was a huge hit with my family! This is going right into my Crockpot recipe cookbook - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      I think this was very sweet for my taste but we enjoyed it a lot. I didn't have pineapple on hand and used fresh sliced red peppers in place of the pineapple. I did use spicy honey BBQ sauce, that may have attributed to the substantial sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      This was easy. I mixed everything together the night before and threw it in the crock pot around 1:00. Served it over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      This is a Caribbean baked bean recipe, basically. I loved it. Easy and delicious. I added 1 Tb. of golden rum to the mixture at the beginning. My mixture came out a little soupy, more than I would get from 1 Tb. of rum. I guess I was supposed to drain the pineapple? Anyway, I just slightly thickened with a little cornstarch slurry. I added several shakes of cayenne pepper to my serving. I'm sure I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      I went home at lunch, threw this in the crockpot and when I got home, the whole house smelled wonderful! Super easy and good too! I think next time I'll leave out the ham and use 2 cans of pineapple (I really love pineapple), but this was just great! I love the barbeque sauce with the black beans. I didn't need to add any water at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      outstanding flavor and super easy!!!! I will be making this again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      Pretty darn good, Cookgirl! I love black beans, and this was a different and tasty way to eat them. I didn't use reduced-sodium beans and didn't have a can of crushed pineapple on hand, but I did have pineapple so I just crushed it a bit myself. :) I used regular ham and added a little extra, since I am trying to use up the last of the Easter ham. Simple and satisfying--thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      Loved these and did not need to add any water at the end. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Caribbean-Style Black Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (107 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 164.6
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    13%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 20.4 mg
    6%
    Sodium 579.4 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 24.5 g
    98%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced sodium black beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites