Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Cajun Chicken and Shrimp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Cajun Chicken and Shrimp

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2002

      This was wonderful;so flavorful! Thanks for such an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2003

      This was SO good! The chicken fell off the bones, and the flavour was just AWESOME!!! I grated a little cheddar cheese on top and served it over rice, we were very impressed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2002

      This is a great crockpot recipe. The only changes I made were to leave out the sugar and double the cajun seasoning. I used medium size shrimp and it worked fine. Thanks for sharing such an easy and tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2002

      This was excellent and really easy. However, the five minute prep time is a little off. I don't know anybody who can chop onions, bell pepper and celery AND clean and devein shrimp in five minutes. Prep time is actually more like 20 minutes. Served this over basmati rice with crusty bread. MMMMMMGood!!!! Will make this often throughout the winter months.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2002

      I like my sauces to be less runny, so I added some milk and cornstarch at the end, which turned out quite nice. Don't scrimp on the shrimp, get the best!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2002

      I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2002

      Very tastey Diggy!! I made the whole recipe for dinner tonight, but there are just two of us, so I am freezing the rest of it. It will be interesting to see how it is after freezing. Right out of the pot it was excellent!! Great taste, made one change, cut down on the sugar, about half and doubled the cajun seasoning. The timing is just right, it took 4.5 hours on high, I used baby shrimp, canned, just happened to have around (salad shrimp), they seemed to work just fine. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2014

      I also thickened the sauce when adding the shrimp. I also used frozen peppers so added them at the end as well. I added a little chopped celery at the beginning as well. Definitely a keeper recipe. I had made it before but really liked the thicker sauce. Just the sauce and rice alone made such a nice creole rice, and the delicious chicken and shrimp were a bonus. I used two thighs and 3 legs with the bone, but skinned them first. Cooking for one, so this made two dinners and lunch today for me. Next time will definitely make a homemade TV dinner for the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2014

      Great recipe. I added fresh mushrooms & link sausage. Made it that much better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      This was really good. My cajun seasoning was quite salty so I omitted the extra salt and it turned out very well. I took leftovers to work the next day and it was even better then. Thanks! UPDATE: The first time I made this my power outlet had blown part way through cooking time and I had to throw it in the oven, I did not think this would have affected the taste but I have made it several times since then, full time in the crock pot, and the flavor is so much better than it was the first time. This has become one of our favorite crock pot meals and has been upgraded to a five star meal! Thanks again for sharing this winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2013

      This recipe was quite tasty although my family insisted it didn't taste quite "Cajun enough". Next time I'm going to add more Cajun seasoning and a couple of bay leaves and see if that ups the Cajun factor for them. The only change I made to the recipe was to substitute green bells for the red.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2013

      Delicious!!! I adjusted the recipe a bit by using a lot less chicken than what is called for but used the full pound of shrimp -- served 4 of us, but the boys had at least two helpings if not more! Thanks for sharing this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2012

      AWESOME recipe!!! I added slap ya' mommas creole seasoning (2 1/2 tsp. instead of 1) and i added mushrooms and used green bell peppers instead of red....i also set timer for 4 hours and when i got home i added shrimp and lemon juice and added one more hour....MY HUSBAND SOPPED IT UP with the fresh garlic bread i made! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      We were really disappointed with this. Both my husband and I thought that the dish lacked a melded taste. There were flavors but they didn't seem to work together. I can't put my finger on exactly what we thought was missing so I'm less than helpful in that regard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Terrific! Up until finding this website I had very little cooking experience. Now I am finding all these wonderful and easy recipes. I actually am enjoying being a cook and my husband is such a happy camper now that I am trying all these new dishes. He devoured this and actually, though I hate to admit it.....made little grunting noises which I can only interpret as sounds of joy! I followed some of the other reviewers suggestion and added the shrimp the last thirty minutes. A great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      This dish turned out okay but it didn't taste very cajun to me. I even doubled the cajun seasoning. The chicken did turn out super moist though, so we enjoyed that part. We used bonless, so there would be no bones floating around! I think I would try this again, but on the stovetop and not the crockpot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      The recipe is excellent. The only change I made was to double the amount of stewed tomatoes. After making the recipe, next time I will add the shrimp much closer to the completion time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      This recipe was great and really easy too! I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and after a few hours when I stirred it, it was falling apart because it was so tender. I also used 2 tablespoons of chopped garlic out of the jar instead of having to mince the cloves and I added sausage as well. Even my picky 7 year old loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      This was very tasty and easy to make. I used skinless, boneless chicken thighs and shrimp that had already been peeled and deveined. Since my meat was boneless, I did add some extra broth while cooking. Everyone enjoyed this dish, thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      This was wonderful.I loved the smell when I walked into the house. I served this with the rice and a crusty bread for dipping the juices. I will make this again very soon. I did cheat and use the frozen large shrimp since that was what I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Cajun Chicken and Shrimp

    Serving Size: 1 (449 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 369.3
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    17%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 220.7 mg
    73%
    Sodium 1127.6 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 42.9 g
    85%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes