9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family is not really fond of cabbage but I am so I thought I would try this recipe. I thought it was a bland and very boring meal. I won't be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannah lantzer January 14, 2004

I took M&Mers advice & added the onion soup mix & Worchestershire sauce. I also added a few drops of hot sauce & some of Emeril's Essence to the top. It was yummy, & will definitely make the recipe again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chellebel December 18, 2003

This was a big hit at dinner. I ended up making it on the stove top instead of in the crock pot. And left the rice out of the dish. (I did serve it over steamed rice)This one is a keeper...especially for a winter comfort food. It does freeze well...and tastes even better reheated. Next time I may add a few cloves of garlic and use beef broth instead of the water. Thanks for a simple way to get that cabbage roll flavor!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michele in NJ September 12, 2003

Hi Di! This was quite good! We always find cabbage roll casseroles to be pretty bland so we started off by adding an envelope of onion soup mix and Worchestshire sauce to the meat mixture. The recipe didn't say when to add the water so I threw that in with the meat too. We'll make this recipe again but we'll adjust the meat to rice ratio...we like more rice. In our crockpot, it would have been done in 4 hours on HI. Thanks for the recipe! :o)! M&Mers

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M&Mers August 03, 2003

Yum! I made this with ground turkey and two big onions and then I liked another reviewer's suggestion to add in a pack of onion soup mix so I did that too. Instead of tomato soup, I used more tomato juice because I heat that up instead of tomato soup for lunch all the time. I cooked it on high for about 3 hours and then tested a bit of cabbage and was happy with how soft it was so I let it stay on low until dinner. Served over steamed rice instead of mixing it in before cooking. Thanks for sharing this one, the whole family really liked it, even the baby :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deanna Kyre April 21, 2011

Tried doctoring alittle from reading other reviews, still a mushy mess !!! Had high hopes, but, won't be making again !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikesrepair December 05, 2008

This came out mushy and a little bland. I might try again adding the onion soup & worchestershire sauce. I would also leave the rice out/serve the dish over rice like Meezer Girl -- I think it would be good then! Otherwise, I would not make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mel93657 January 17, 2007

Excellent! My whole family loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NicoleCampbell October 15, 2006

Another good recipe from the crock pot. I doubled the recipe with no problem. Next time, I will add more tomato sauce for my family's taste preference. I also will add some chopped green pepper. I love stuffed peppers and this was an easy way to make it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M November 20, 2005
Crock Pot Cabbage Roll Casserole