Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken Dip

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2011

      If you have an extra 20 minutes... SKIP THE CANNED CHICKEN. Canned chicken has that "tuna" taste/smell association because of the brine/canning process. Take 3/4-1lb of boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut them in 1/2 or 1/3rds depending on the size of the breast pieces you have and poach them in boiling salted water (they'll cook quicker) - run them under cold water and shred them with a fork or dice them if you're in a hurry. If you've made it with canned chicken and then do it this way you will taste the WORLD of difference. Also, I tend to add a touch of cayenne 1/8tsp and use sharp cheddar... If you make it in a 13x9 instead of the crock pot, you can sprinkle crumbled bleu cheese on top before you bake it and you get a nice cheesey brown crusty top :) (ps I'm from Buffalo...)

      ALSO - If you're making this ahead of time and want to 'set and forget' -- which is what a crock pot recipe should be, you can completely skip the saucepan, just stir everything together (easiest way is throw it all in the bowl of a stand mixer with the paddle and turn it up (it really helps integrate the chicken as well) and throw it all in the crock pot...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Quick, simple and tastes wonderful. I made the dip for my cousins grad party and it was gone in no time, everyone loved it. I skipped all of the first steps and just put all of the ingredients into the crockpot and let them cook together on high for 1 hour and then another hour on warm and then switched it to warm and it was ready! A real crowd pleaser.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      I made this twice for Christmas parties and also for New Year's Eve, everyone loved it!!! I used about 1/3 of a block of "velveeta" and threw in about 1-2 cups of shredded mexican cheese and also upped the hot sauce, since we all love the heat. I also used a rotisserie chicken, picked free of skin, fat and bone. Threw it all in the crockpot and stirred from time to time, easy and delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Awesome dip! Super simple to make, and I did as someone else suggested and just started it all out together in the crockpot. Loved it with both the bread and the chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2012

      This is one of my go-to recipes for many occasions. I also just throw everything in the Crock-Pot and heat it together, no need for the separate step in the saucepan.
      I prefer an even thicker spread/dip, so I make it with a cup of ranch dip (generally just half a batch of Hidden Valley Ranch mix in sour cream) instead of dressing. I then serve it with crackers, tortilla chips, and Fritos (depending on what I have around).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      This is a great recipe to bring to any party. I also used reduced fat cream cheese and light ranch dressing and it still tastes great. I've also made it with left over cooked and chopped chicken breasts and it taste great that way as well. I prefer it served with tortilla chips and celery sticks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2014

    • on February 03, 2014

      This was part of our Super Bowl dinner. I made a half recipe using freshly shredded chicken. There was only about 7 oz chicken, but that seemed like plenty. Since it was just family and I did not need to keep it hot for an extended period of time, I cooked it on the stove top and left it in the pot for serving. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      I made this for the first time, it was good! It was quick and easy! It's great for parties!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      As written, I will give this 4 stars. It is good with canned chicken, but it is stellar if you take the time to cook your own chicken. It is requested for our family Christmas party every year (I am actually making it right now. Haha) and I have yet to return home with any leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2013

      I cheated and used the pre-cooked packaged perdue chicken in the meat case since I didn't have time to boil chicken and I don't like canned chicken either. Just chop it up in smaller pieces. Worked great. 1 package should be enough unless you like a lot of chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2013

    • on May 06, 2013

      I made this using one pound chicken breasts boiled in chicken stock, minced onion and salt-free garlic herb seasoning. I used Frank's Buffalo Wing hot sauce and upped it to between 1 - 1 1/4 cups. (It had just enough bite without burning your mouth.) I put everything but the chicken into a bowl and microwaved it for a couple minutes to make it easier to mix. I mixed the cheese mixture until well combined then added the shredded chicken. Mixed well and then put into a 2-quart crock pot. Served with Tostito's scoops. I took this to a birthday cookout over the weekend and everyone raved about them. They couldn't get enough of them and there was none left over for me to take home. I will be making this often for family/work gatherings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      I have to go with tommybluez- do not ruin this dish by using canned chicken! I made this for Easter as an appetizer and people went bananas over it. I think I am going to be the buffalo chicken dip person at all future holiday parties. <br/><br/>Using freshly poached chicken is easy. I caution you not to cook the chicken at a full roaring boil. You want the water slightly boiling, but not roaring or else your chicken may get over done. Then when you finish poaching, you just shred with two forks. It really doesn't take long once you get the hang of it. <br/><br/>I used lowfat ranch in this recipe as a personal preference, but I did add a minute amount (like 1/4 cup) of crumbled bleu cheese (the actual cheese, not the dressing) to it. Also, I did not follow the exact instructions. I put the cheese, cream cheese and ranch in the crockpot when the chicken started boiling. Then after I shredded the chicken, I put it in a sauté pan with 3/4 of the buffalo sauce and cooked it on medium for a few minutes to get the chicken to absorb the sauce. I added the remaining buffalo sauce to the crock pot and then added the chicken/buffalo sauce mixture in and let it congeal. I served this with Scoop Corn chips and celery sticks. YUM. The bleu cheese made it pop if you ask me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      YUM! Delicious recipe. But I agree. Skip the canned chicken. I think it'd be even better with fresh chicken. But the can is just oh so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      This was terrific. I made it for the superbowl using 1 lb chicken breast, poached in salted water and shredded, instead of the canned chicken. All other ingredients were as written, except that I followed another reviewer's suggestion and just mixed it all with my Kitchen Aid and then dumped it in the crock pot to heat through. No muss. No fuss. Great recipe! And the leftovers are excellent too, if you have any.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      This was an amazing dip and so portable. I took it tonight for a "girl" party and like "tommybluz" suggested I poached my chicken with bay leave, black pepper, garlic powder and minced onions. I didn't have ranch dressing so I used blue cheese. I did use the corn chip "scoops" since it was easier to eat sitting down. So thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      Family loved this, definitely better to keep warm in crock pot! Agree with previous reviewer, skip the pan. I also rinsed the chicken because it is so salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

    • on July 02, 2012

      To tommybluez: Excellent mods--especially the chicken prep and Sharp Cheddar. I also increase the Franks by a quarter cup to enhance the 'Buffalo' piquant and, rather than cayenne, I add a couple Tablespoons Schriracha--one can never have too much of that wonderful stuff. Also, mixing all ingredients and heating in the slow cooker works perfectly. My wife and I made this for an office function and served with pita and tortilla chips--gratefully received with love.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (185 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 539.1
     
    Calories from Fat 214
    39%
    Total Fat 23.8 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 62.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1043.1 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.8 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes