36 Reviews

This recipe is so simple and so tasty that I make it too often and eat too much when I do. I have made this several times and it is perfect every time.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbara3 January 27, 2002

I decided to try this recipe after Chia bragged about how delicious it was the day yall were discussing brisket in a "thread" and I told yall how hungry you were making me. I decided to try this in the oven since it was my day off and very cold outside. I used a 6 lb., market trimmed brisket and poked holes all in it. I doubled your sauce ingredients (used Honey Mustard, BTW) and poured it all over the meat, poking more holes so the seasoning would get down in the meat really well. Wrapped the brisket in foil and baked it in the oven at 350 degrees for 4 hours. When it was done, I removed the brisket and let it cool about an hour. Sliced it about 1/4-inch thick , with my electric knife, and layed the slices back down in the sauce. Then reheated it in the oven for a few minutes. WHOA MOMMA!!! DELICIOUS!! Thanks, Mirjam, for the recipe and thanks, Chia, for the recommendation!!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas February 09, 2003

This was my first try at brisket, and I'm so happy I chose your recipe! Everyone loved it. I didn't have onion soup mix, so used a little onion powder and beef boullion instead. I hope that didn't make too big a difference but it was GREAT!!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi December 13, 2002

i was very leery when i saw this recipe, but i was in a panic/time crunch, so i tried it and it was great!! my unadventurous (food-wise)family loved it, were shcked when i told them about the coke:)5 stars!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia November 29, 2002

Very good brisket and so easy to make. I used dijon and also added some garlic. It was even better the next day. The meat turned out a tad dry but the last 4 or 5 briskets we've cooked in the crockpot have been the same way, so I think we'll go back to using the oven or the grill. And the next time e use the oven, we'll use this recipe again...it's a keeper. Thanks Mirj.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark H. February 17, 2003

Very easy, a good taste and the meat was tender. I used a 1.5 pound brisket, which seemed to be slightly large for a single sauce (the edges weren't as tender as the rest of the brisket and apparently didn't cook in much, if any, sauce). The sauce is great and this ranks up there with some of the brisket recipes we enjoy.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky January 16, 2003

I made this today. It cooked for 8 hours on low. It turned out great! I admit, I wasn't too sure about the Coke, but the combination of ingredients sounded like it would work together and it did...no discernible Coke taste, just delicious. I did use the whole envelope of onion soup mix. I'll definitely use this recipe again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Serenity125 November 06, 2007

I loved how easy this recipe was! The aroma while it was cooking was so good, and the meat was so tender. This one is definately a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlueHyacinth April 17, 2004

Great flavor and very simple. Will definitely make this again. Wondeful comfort food.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen Andrews April 13, 2004

This is a great recipe. I changed a few things because in my opinion, it wasn't enough sauce for how large the meat was. Instead of onion soup mix I used a can of condensed French onion soup and I also added salt, pepper, onion finely chopped and garlic also finely chopped. I also cooked for 11 hours on low in the crock pot instead of 8. My family went NuTs. It was delicious. So tender and juicey and just great! This will definitely become one of my go to recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbtramel83 August 18, 2015
Crock Pot Brisket