12 Reviews

This was good and every easy to make. I use my crock pot a lot but have never made breakfast in it so this was a first and certainly not the last :) I followed the recipe as written except I used o'brien potatoes so I didn't add the onion and bell pepper.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol January 04, 2008

I created a user account just so I could rate this recipe. It was absolutely spectacular. Simple, quick, and better than any breakfast casserole we've ever tried! (And my family of 30 are huge breakfast casserole critics!)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CorpsMan December 27, 2010

Browsing the reviews tonight I came across this recipe. I've not made, nor will I probably ever. BUT the thing is crock pots. I have a love/hate relationship with them. The older, smaller ones don't get as hot as the bigger, newer ones do, and there is no set of instructions to to work this out. They all say crock pot, and they are, but they are not created equal. It is for this reason I wouldn't attempt this recipe that has eggs as a main ingredient. So, be kind to the chef as this may very well work for THEIR crock put, but be a disaster in yours.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ala-kat April 12, 2013

Easily 5 stars. I used Jimmy Deans hot ground breakfast sausage vs bacon and it was great. I cooked on low 8 hours and it was perfect. This is a keeper. This is so simple to prepare....a real fix it and forget about it recipe. We enjoyed this while relaxing in a cabin in the Smoky Mountains.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smilynn June 07, 2007

I made this for a group of hungry WWII reenactors and they LOVED it!!! I doubled the recipe and used half regular hash browns and half O'Brien potatoes so I omitted the onions and peppers. I also found pre-cooked turkey sausage crumbles in the meat section at the grocery store which made prep that much quicker!!! I will definitely be making this again. It seemed a little overcooked after almost 10 hours so I will cut back on that next time. But every crock pot is different. Thanks for this wonderful, crowd-pleasing, super easy to prep dish!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mdantzler65 September 29, 2012

Made this for Mother's Day and used Bob Evans Original sausage instead of bacon. Everyone loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmg11283 May 23, 2008

I've never made breakfast food before in my crockpot and we loved it! I used browned sausage instead of the bacon and served it with salsa on the side. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta January 29, 2016

Very good recipe. We all enjoyed it. Easy to make, easy to modify if desired. I doubled the recipe to fit a 6.5qt Crock-Pot. 7hrs on low and the hash browns were was nicely browned. YUM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
One Horse Barn January 17, 2016

8-10 hours? You are crazy! Luckily I woke up in the middle of the night a little past five hours and it was way over cooked. The eggs were disintigrating and the cheese was burned black (not in a good way). I would recommend checking after 3.5 hours how everything is doing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fizzy77 April 11, 2013

Sorry to say, but this wasn't any good. It looked good after about 4 hours when I peeked at it, but at 8 hours it was just way overdone. I'm sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom November 12, 2009
Crock Pot Breakfast Casserole