35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I make this all the time using well drained sausage and have learned to set the crock pot on WARM setting,,,,not low. That way it cooks perfectly overnight with no burning. Try it and you will see! My family loves it!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Francesgrandma50 October 14, 2011

After reading all reviews about this burning/drying out on the low setting I made this and turned my crockpot to the "warm" setting. It turned out perfect after 8 hours (over night). Next time I will brown the potatos before placing them in the crockpot.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thegilgers January 31, 2013

I halved the recipe and it was dried out after 3 1/2 hours on low in the crock pot. I see potential in this dish, it could use some salsa. I didn't like the texture of the potatoes in the crock pot. Maybe if there was less potatoes and more eggs it would have been more to my liking. I love this idea.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snowflakes October 07, 2010

Yummy! Made it with sausage and took it to work. Its a hit, so I passed on the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktkate March 05, 2010

This was okay, but after only 4 hours for the full recipe, it was dried out and starting to burn. I think the potatoes absorb the liquid too fast. If I make this again, I'll probably halve the potatoes and leave everything else the same.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy020 October 12, 2011

It was great, but I switched it up a bit. I used hot and spicy sausage and green chili peppers in place of the bacon and onions and green peppers. It was breakfast with a kick, but my crew of movers ate all of it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jron September 13, 2011

My family and friends love this recipe. I also add diced ham along w/the bacon. You can pretty much add whatever you like to recipe. Also added mushrooms. Love waking up to the great smell from the casserole on Christmas morning. Usually make biscuits to go along also. Thanks for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lakegirl62 December 24, 2010

This was a hit in our family. We used breakfast sausage and cooked it on high for 3-4 hours. It made a good dinner along with some fresh strawberries and raspberries. The one thing I would recommend is use plenty of salt. I think next time I will season the potatoes and then every layer as we add it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 June 30, 2010

This is so easy, especially if you cook the bacon in the oven, and SO good! Waking up to breakfast made is FABULOUS, and this recipe can easily be modified... The ONLY thing that warrants caution is that newer crockpots can sometimes cook faster that older ones, so be careful - plan to check it at 8 hours in if you have a new pot the first time you make it, then you'll know for future makes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladonnanell December 18, 2009

Made this for DH to take to his Mens' Bible Study/Prayer Breakfast yesterday morning. Instead of bacon I used spicy breakfast sausage, and I omitted the dry mustard. The men used the filling in warm tortillas and topped them with sautéed onions, chopped green chilies, and sour cream. One of the men even asked DH if he could get a copy of the recipe to give to his wife! Best of all my DH who does not like everything mixed together said it was very tasty, and he asked if I would make it again. Now, that's a real compliment!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate December 14, 2009
Crock Pot Breakfast