17 Reviews

This is the first time I've ever made my own baked beans and they were amazing! The house smelt amazing too! Couldn't wait to dig in. Gorgeous, rich flavour. Very more-ish, I just wanted to eat them all!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog December 01, 2015

I actually used a homemade sauce which I had made for some pork chops earlier in the week which had chopped peaches in it. These beans were easy and delicious! Everyone at the cookout could not get over how great these are! A sure hit for any occasion!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katobow July 09, 2010

I LOVED these baked beans!! I did make a couple changes...I used real bacon bits, cut out the green pepper (we don't like it), and cut down the brown sugar to 1/4 cup based on other reviews. I cooked these on low but after about 6 hours one side started to burn (I think it's a problem with my crockpot) so I turned it down to keep warm for another 2 hours until the rest of dinner was ready. I will never eat straight-out-of-the-can baked beans again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee March 04, 2010

These are not boston baked beans. Boston baked beans never contain green pepper, catsup or barbeque sauce, and are not made from already prepared baked beans. This is a tasty recipe I'm sure, but it is just named wrong

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bakechef November 30, 2008

This recipe was very good but too sweet for me. My husband loved it and he had finish it. I'm diabetic and not having eaten anything with added sugar for several years I figured it was just me over reacting to the sweet taste. But looking at the other reviews I realize it really was too sweet. I'll make it again but I'll be sure to cut way back on the sugar. I wish I had read all the reviews before I made it the first time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandyeggo92105 July 19, 2008

I'll never make baked beans any other way!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita M July 07, 2008

Couldn't be easier! My crock pot runs a little hot so I had them on low for 5 hours and warm the rest of the time. They came out perfectly. Also, based on other's reviews, I cut back on the sugar. I used 2 tablespoons of Brown Sugar Splenda and they had the perfect amount of sweetness for our group. These were the perfect addition to our 4th of July BBQ. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DreamoBway July 05, 2008

A simply wonderful recipe, thank you! I have to admit, being a Texan, I had to kick it up a notch by adding some chopped jalapeno to the mix :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Gary in Mesquite, TX December 09, 2007

What a great tasting baked bean recipe - and easy too. My favorite kind!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusanRW August 27, 2007
Crock Pot Boston Baked Beans