9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice recipe, thanks. I did make some mods: 1. Soak the raw peanuts over night in a large pot with a plate holding the peanuts under unsalted water (they tend to float). 2. I used 1/3 cup salt instead of 1/2 cup (for me 1/2 cup was too salty the first time I did this). 3. I had to cook mine about 14 hrs. on the High setting. Then turn the Crock Pot off before going to bed but let the peanuts sit in the brine until morning. Next day they are perfect. At least 2 days to cook 'em!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbarrett February 05, 2011

Ok, I made just a couple revisions...1/4 cup salt and 2 T of creole seasoning (Tony Chachere's) and 1 lb of peanuts in shell. I cooked on high for 6 hours, then on low for another 5 hours. I could LIVE on boiled peanuts! I used to look so forward to going to FL so I could get more, it never even occured to me to look into making them myself! Thank you so much for the recipe! These are SO good!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pooknnook June 03, 2005

Great Recipe. Minor alterations for my slow slow cooker... It took my crockpot 12 hours to get the peanuts to the right tenderness. But by that time the salt was extra salt-y. I made a second batch with a 1/4 cup of salt for another 12 hours and they are pretty good. Overall a great recipe. I am thrilled to have it in my cookbook!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~~**Amanda**~~ September 13, 2009

ok guys when boiling peanuts always salt water to taste that way its not to salty. Also cook peanuts to tenderness after that let the peanuts soak in the salt water they will soak up the salt. If for some odd reason they come out to salty soak them in plain water it helps to make them not as salty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mike135 November 17, 2012

Very good - I used just 1/3 cup of kosher salt and that was perfect. Mine took longer to cook until the desired doneness - about 10 hours to lose the firmness, and I soaked them overnight. I could stand for them to be even softer though, but not sure what would do it. Maybe more salt? Hot or warm water soak? I'll have to tinker some.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathi Ann November 30, 2011

We love it. Eating them now!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yourrose99 August 30, 2008

Everyone loved these Southern "delicacies". Salt is sufficient. Needed to crock about 24 hrs before done.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe January 02, 2006

This was great!!!I have never boiled peanuts before and this recipe got me threw. Thanks so much for posting. I did try adding the 2 T of cajun seasoning as a reviewer suggested and it was way to spicy.So I rinsed the spices off dand the peanuts were perfect. Thanks again for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parkers Mom September 26, 2005

My peanuts required a bit longer to get done, but this was a yummy recipe to take on the lake! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barenaked Chef August 06, 2013
Crock Pot Boiled Peanuts