Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Black Bean Salsa Chicken (Oamc) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Black Bean Salsa Chicken (Oamc)

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2011

      No complaints here! It was very good. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly *except* I threw in 6 frozen skinless chicken tenders and added a table spoon of minced garlic, a pinch of crushed red pepper and a dusting of cumin along with the salt and pepper. I also added an undrained can of diced tomatoes when I added the cream cheese. I needed it a little thinner since I served it over brown rice. The family still added chips to thiers. Everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      I was looking for something different and stumbled on this, didn't sound real exciting but was my type of dish, quick and easy. Threw the stuff into the crock pot, taking a peek at the progress now and then, yipes, didn't look so good. Towards the end stirred in the cream cheese and added a little cheddar too. Still didn't look like much. Poured it over previously cooked basmati rice topped with additional salsa and put in the oven to hold until dinner. WOWSER, talk about comfort food, great taste, Mrs Rascal raved about it. Tis a keeper indeed, thanks Tish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      I love this recipe ...family and freinds are always requesting it. I have served it over curry rice and pigeon pea rice, made into a dip, and made in quesadillas. I do add a larger jar of salsa than it calls for, light cream cheese and two cans of green chilies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      This is my go-to recipe for big family functions or pot lucks. It's always a huge hit and people gooble it down. I usually use 2 cans of black beans and reduced fat cream cheese. I put frozen chicken breasts in, then shred them when it's cooked. Always serve with tortilla chips for dipping. Everyone always asks me for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      THIS WAS SO GOOD!!!! Oh my...the kids ate and ate and ate!!! I did make some changes, but not much!! I only had hot salsa on hand...so I used that, plus a can of petite diced tomato and a small onion diced. Also, I used sour cream instead of cream cheese, once again, because that is what I had it onhand. I didn't read the recipe right and I added the sour cream at the beginning, so it looked kinda grainy...that is ok...I used frozen corn and the 2 cans of black beans (rinsed) I added the corn and black beans in the last hour. My new favorite way to cook rice is to use chicken stock instead of water. YUMMMMM....it was easier for me to just add the rice to the crockpot right before serving, so that is what I did. Also, the chicken was put in the crockpot whole, and I just shreaded it right before serving. My 10 year old said, this is 100% a keeper!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      So awesome!! I used frozen corn instead of canned and it made it less mushy. My hubby asked if I would make it every week!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      Our house thought it was good. I cut my chicken into about 1-1/2" cubes, used 16 oz bag of frozen corn. Added about 1 cup water, and added 1 TBSN of chicken base, and cooked on high in my electric pressure cooker. Done in 10 minutes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      This is a great basic dish. It's easy to adjust to accommodate individual tastes. I used more beans and less chicken. I also added some cumin and chili powder. It was great served over rice. Next time, I think I'll top it with some chopped cilantro to give it a little color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      delicious! hubby & i were racing each other to kitchen to get more out of crockpot!!! so easy too! we're going to try it with tortillas, rice & refried beans next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I thought that this dish was just ok. It seemed to lack some type of seasoning. I served mine with rice and it seemed to soak up the juice and flavor so the chicken seemed a bit dry. I think I will make this again, but next time make it for more of a nacho topper for maybe a big crowd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      We used a bag of frozen corn and then served it as a dip with tortilla chips. Amazingly good with a spoon of sour cream on top to finish it off!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      We used to make this also. Just refound it and are adding it to our fave file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      This was good, but a little bland for me. I served it over brown rice. It was very easy, but next time I'll try to add more seasonings. I'm also thinking of using my frozen leftovers as a burrito filling with some lettuce, avocado, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      This recipe was *okay*. It was easy to make and tasted alright, but was nothing special to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      This was good. I only had 1 can of corn though, next time I'll make sure to have 2. I added some cumin & mexican seasoning because there wasn't much flavor. I think I'll cook the frozen boneless skinless chicken 1st next time because I had to keep scooping out the chicken's goopy fat & lost alot of corn in the process.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      I loved this recipe. Made it in the crock pot like suggested. I portioned mine for two and it fit perfectly into a small crock pot. I do think that I will use a spicier salsa next time since we like a bit of a kick or maybe add some jalapenos to the mix. I ate mine over rice and the boyfriend ate his in tortillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      delicious, and the whole family loved it! will be in our regular rotation. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      I placed this mixture in burritos and it was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      This was really easy.. I doubled the recipe and then divided it into three bags with four breasts in each. When it was time to cook I was glad I did because it wouldn't have all fit with 6 breasts. (We opted to freeze the breasts whole and shred after cooking.) Cooked on low 8 hours and added cream cheese for last 30 minutes. Loved the convenience of dump chicken plus crock pot- how easy is that? After tasting I added 1/2 tsp of chili powder. I will add a can of diced green chilis or some jalapenos next time, as it could use a little heat, otherwise it was great. Thanks for posting this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      Delicious. I found the white rice took a little longer than suggested to cook, and left in the oven for around 10 more minutes. Came out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Black Bean Salsa Chicken (Oamc)

    Serving Size: 1 (559 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 605.8
     
    Calories from Fat 260
    42%
    Total Fat 28.9 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 134.4 mg
    44%
    Sodium 732.8 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.8 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    36%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    41%
    Protein 43.1 g
    86%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites