51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

No complaints here! It was very good. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly *except* I threw in 6 frozen skinless chicken tenders and added a table spoon of minced garlic, a pinch of crushed red pepper and a dusting of cumin along with the salt and pepper. I also added an undrained can of diced tomatoes when I added the cream cheese. I needed it a little thinner since I served it over brown rice. The family still added chips to thiers. Everyone loved it.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plumshadow September 12, 2011

I was looking for something different and stumbled on this, didn't sound real exciting but was my type of dish, quick and easy. Threw the stuff into the crock pot, taking a peek at the progress now and then, yipes, didn't look so good. Towards the end stirred in the cream cheese and added a little cheddar too. Still didn't look like much. Poured it over previously cooked basmati rice topped with additional salsa and put in the oven to hold until dinner. WOWSER, talk about comfort food, great taste, Mrs Rascal raved about it. Tis a keeper indeed, thanks Tish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AkRascal December 21, 2009

I love this recipe ...family and freinds are always requesting it. I have served it over curry rice and pigeon pea rice, made into a dip, and made in quesadillas. I do add a larger jar of salsa than it calls for, light cream cheese and two cans of green chilies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
circe2113 September 30, 2009

This is my go-to recipe for big family functions or pot lucks. It's always a huge hit and people gooble it down. I usually use 2 cans of black beans and reduced fat cream cheese. I put frozen chicken breasts in, then shred them when it's cooked. Always serve with tortilla chips for dipping. Everyone always asks me for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Sunshine April 27, 2009

THIS WAS SO GOOD!!!! Oh my...the kids ate and ate and ate!!! I did make some changes, but not much!! I only had hot salsa on hand...so I used that, plus a can of petite diced tomato and a small onion diced. Also, I used sour cream instead of cream cheese, once again, because that is what I had it onhand. I didn't read the recipe right and I added the sour cream at the beginning, so it looked kinda grainy...that is ok...I used frozen corn and the 2 cans of black beans (rinsed) I added the corn and black beans in the last hour. My new favorite way to cook rice is to use chicken stock instead of water. YUMMMMM....it was easier for me to just add the rice to the crockpot right before serving, so that is what I did. Also, the chicken was put in the crockpot whole, and I just shreaded it right before serving. My 10 year old said, this is 100% a keeper!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moreplease! February 13, 2006

So awesome!! I used frozen corn instead of canned and it made it less mushy. My hubby asked if I would make it every week!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisbon November 29, 2004

Our house thought it was good. I cut my chicken into about 1-1/2" cubes, used 16 oz bag of frozen corn. Added about 1 cup water, and added 1 TBSN of chicken base, and cooked on high in my electric pressure cooker. Done in 10 minutes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
green jeans January 01, 2012

This is a great basic dish. It's easy to adjust to accommodate individual tastes. I used more beans and less chicken. I also added some cumin and chili powder. It was great served over rice. Next time, I think I'll top it with some chopped cilantro to give it a little color.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hayley.king.42 August 04, 2010

delicious! hubby & i were racing each other to kitchen to get more out of crockpot!!! so easy too! we're going to try it with tortillas, rice & refried beans next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ddwilson June 25, 2010

I thought that this dish was just ok. It seemed to lack some type of seasoning. I served mine with rice and it seemed to soak up the juice and flavor so the chicken seemed a bit dry. I think I will make this again, but next time make it for more of a nacho topper for maybe a big crowd.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdh505 January 25, 2010
Crock Pot Black Bean Salsa Chicken (Oamc)