14 Reviews

I was very pleased with the results. This was a great alternative to regular beef stew and was easy and tasty. I did add a few cloves of garlic, pepper, and some parsley. I made it on the stove and just left it simmer for about 2 hours before adding the mushrooms and cooking for another 10 minutes. (14)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie September 12, 2013

How absolutely simple this was to make. . .served it over pasta. . ..Great flavor. I used beef stew meat, one onion, reduced the wine by 1/4 cup and cooked on low for 7 hours. Because of the reviews, I cut the beef into smaller pieces and reduced the wine slightly. If you use flour instead of cornstarch, you may need a bit more flour to thicken.
Next time, I'll make just as described. My husband loved it but said that the mushrooms lost their flavor. I might try adding them later next time.
Thank you for a really good meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dannhill November 01, 2010

I used a chuck roast instead of the stew beef and just cut it at serving time into chunks.. It fell apart anyway while cooking so I just pulled the meat apart. Delicious blend of flavors and it made one delicious meal for us! About half way through cooking time I added potatoes and carrots to have with the roast. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BluEyedCookette September 21, 2009

Really enjoyed this. I used chuck roast for the beef stew meat and 1 cup beef broth for 1 cup of the wine and we loved it. I really think 1 1/2 cups of wine would have been way too much for us. Loved the combination of flavors here. I did add some extra water (about a cup) I should have added more cornstarch since I added additional water. I slow cooked this for 8 hours and that was plenty for 2 1/2 pounds of chuck roast. Served this with Vegetable Strudel :) Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ April 19, 2009

I made this awhile back and I think I should get to the review, lol. We aren't wine fans here so I used beef broth and that worked very well for this family. I put it on mashed spuds (it's a guy thing) and served it with peas and carrots. Basic but a real pleasing comfort dinner for us. Yummm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia April 15, 2009

Although this recipe is described as perfect for cold winter nights, I made it during a sweltering summer forAus/NZ Recipe Swap #24. Well, I found that it's perfect for hot Australian summer nights too! The only problem I found was that it needed a little more water than suggested in the recipe - I added another cup and a half during the cooking time and it was perfect. Thanks for posting, Mary. A really delicious and easy meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NotQuiteVegetarian January 31, 2009

I did an onion soup mix recipe : Homemade Dry Onion Soup Mix Without salt. I didn't like the mushrooms in this. And I love mushrooms. I love red wine but they drank all the wine. They were not my favorite. But the beef was so tasty and moist. It cooked near 7 hours. 10 hours would have been too much for my crockpot. Thanks Mary. Made for Zaar Star Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 25, 2008

Oh my gosh, this was good stuff! I served over white rice. I did not change a thing. It was really simple to throw in the crockpot on the way out to work. We had a delicious meal when we got home.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover May 09, 2008

We really loved this dish! Very tasty and tender and we loved the gravy over our mashed potatoes. I added frozen peas in with the gravy too. This one will be made again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OutOfThyme April 04, 2008
Crock Pot Beef With Mushroom and Red Wine Gravy