Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Beef With Mushroom and Red Wine Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Beef With Mushroom and Red Wine Gravy

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2013

      I was very pleased with the results. This was a great alternative to regular beef stew and was easy and tasty. I did add a few cloves of garlic, pepper, and some parsley. I made it on the stove and just left it simmer for about 2 hours before adding the mushrooms and cooking for another 10 minutes. (14)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

    • on November 01, 2010

      How absolutely simple this was to make. . .served it over pasta. . ..Great flavor. I used beef stew meat, one onion, reduced the wine by 1/4 cup and cooked on low for 7 hours. Because of the reviews, I cut the beef into smaller pieces and reduced the wine slightly. If you use flour instead of cornstarch, you may need a bit more flour to thicken.
      Next time, I'll make just as described. My husband loved it but said that the mushrooms lost their flavor. I might try adding them later next time.
      Thank you for a really good meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I used a chuck roast instead of the stew beef and just cut it at serving time into chunks.. It fell apart anyway while cooking so I just pulled the meat apart. Delicious blend of flavors and it made one delicious meal for us! About half way through cooking time I added potatoes and carrots to have with the roast. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      Really enjoyed this. I used chuck roast for the beef stew meat and 1 cup beef broth for 1 cup of the wine and we loved it. I really think 1 1/2 cups of wine would have been way too much for us. Loved the combination of flavors here. I did add some extra water (about a cup) I should have added more cornstarch since I added additional water. I slow cooked this for 8 hours and that was plenty for 2 1/2 pounds of chuck roast. Served this with Vegetable Strudel :) Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      I made this awhile back and I think I should get to the review, lol. We aren't wine fans here so I used beef broth and that worked very well for this family. I put it on mashed spuds (it's a guy thing) and served it with peas and carrots. Basic but a real pleasing comfort dinner for us. Yummm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      Although this recipe is described as perfect for cold winter nights, I made it during a sweltering summer forAus/NZ Recipe Swap #24. Well, I found that it's perfect for hot Australian summer nights too! The only problem I found was that it needed a little more water than suggested in the recipe - I added another cup and a half during the cooking time and it was perfect. Thanks for posting, Mary. A really delicious and easy meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      I did an onion soup mix recipe : Homemade Dry Onion Soup Mix Without salt. I didn't like the mushrooms in this. And I love mushrooms. I love red wine but they drank all the wine. They were not my favorite. But the beef was so tasty and moist. It cooked near 7 hours. 10 hours would have been too much for my crockpot. Thanks Mary. Made for Zaar Star Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      Oh my gosh, this was good stuff! I served over white rice. I did not change a thing. It was really simple to throw in the crockpot on the way out to work. We had a delicious meal when we got home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      We really loved this dish! Very tasty and tender and we loved the gravy over our mashed potatoes. I added frozen peas in with the gravy too. This one will be made again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      Aus/NZ Swap #14 - Delicious and easy!! What more could you ask for!! This will be added to my list of recipes to make again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      This was lovely, the meat was lovely & tender & it was very flavourful. I used French Onion soup mix as I couldn't find beefy onion. It was just a little salty for my liking so will use a reduced salt soup mix next time. This was great though, super easy & really tasty! Thanks LL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      Really nice, hearty meal. I followed the recipe exactly and had no need to add more cornstarch. This was done for me after about 7 hours on low. I think with a bit of fresh thyme added, this would be perfect, but it's still very tasty as is. Thanks Mary!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      This is a very good and easy crockpot dinner. I followed the ingredients except I had to add more cornstarch than in recipe. I added the 3 T in the morning when putting it in the crockpot. When I got home in the afternoon, it was not thick enough for gravy so I added another 1/4 C of water with about 4 T cornstarch to crockpot on high. The mixture instantly became thick enough. I made mashed potatoes with yukon gold potatoes. The meat and gravy were great on the potatoes. Made for Australian Recipe Exchange.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Beef With Mushroom and Red Wine Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 246.1
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    19%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 72.5 mg
    24%
    Sodium 478.3 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 26.2 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes