33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very easy and very tasty. I threw this together in about 5 minutes before I went to work. When I came home, the house smelled wonderful. I used a sirloin steak because that's what I had in the freezer. I only had 1 cup of wine, so used that plus 1 cup of beef broth. I found that I had to thicken it with a bit of cornstarch. Also added about 2 tbsp of sour cream near the end (personal preference). I served it on a platter of egg noodles and topped it with freshly chopped parsley. Definitely a keeper. (Next time I would eliminate the broth altogether and use 1 cup of wine plus some sliced fresh mushrooms).

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha November 25, 2002

It's easy and full of flavor. Serve with egg noodles. One note, if cooking with wine, never use "cooking wine". If you can't drink it, it isn't worth putting in your food!!! Add 1/4 - 1/2 cup sour cream right before serving for a creamier and richer sauce.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
digginsjr November 06, 2000

It IS very easy and tasty! However, I ended up adding an extra can of condensed soup to thicken it a bit more towards the end (I didn't have sour cream). Also, though my partner didn't think so, I felt the wine flavor was just a bit too pronounced. So next time I may try half boullion and half wine for the liquid. Will definitely make again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dennis December 10, 2001

We made this the other day and we agreed that the wine flavor was overpowering, however we still liked it and I will make again, just add less wine and see how that goes. The meat was so tender it was like butter. Thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour May 18, 2013

So full of sodium it could give you a stroke! I will make sure I use homemade onion soup mix next time and also make a cream of soup with no sodium to cut back on the salt. Taste was good otherwise!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OutOfThyme July 24, 2009

This is the only way we eat Beef Stroganoff. It is so simple and fool proof.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jimmy Padgett July 16, 2009

I followed the recipe exactly but it never tasted like the alcohol burned off. Because the recipe didn't specify cooking wine or regular wine I used the rest of the regular wine that was in the fridge. I let it cook a couple hours longer than suggested but it still tasted like alcohol.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnmlLovr March 08, 2009

Absolutely wonderful! I used 1C red wine, 1C beef broth, and 2 cans mushrooms.............wasn't quite as thick as I would have liked but the flavor was amazing, and the house smelled fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosiefordchick February 03, 2009

Added subbed beef broth for some of the wine and added cornstarch, sour cream and mushrooms. Great meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Marsh January 12, 2009

This recipe turned out really well. I read the other reviews and used 1 cup of red wine and 1 cup of beef broth and added fresh mushrooms during the last hour of cooking. Before eating, I added some light sour cream in addition to a little bit of dijon mustard since the red wine taste was a little strong for me. The dijon mustard made it perfect for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jomo1130 January 04, 2009
Crock Pot Beef Stroganoff