10 Reviews

This recipe was good and the meat was fabulously tender, but I think could definitely be better with a few changes. The sauce was way too thin for me, and that is after dredging the meat in the seasoned flour (which I DO think helps and adds a little additional flavor!) and adding the additional flour near the end. In the future I will either use way less beef broth or none at all, and add beef bouillon if I want the additional flavor. It's important to realize that sauces naturally thin out somewhat in a crock pot due to the juices from the meat. I also used real sour cream (although low-fat), and as others have said, adding it near the end keeps it from separating. And lastly, although the taste was good, I definitely needed some extra seasoning with salt and pepper. So keep those handy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zezzilynn March 09, 2010

This was a great recipe, and easy!! I also tossed the meat in the flour before cooking. I passed on the mustard and used red instead of white wine and it was still fabulous. This is a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wannabe chef extraordinaire! November 29, 2008

An easy and delicious meal. I love those throw-everything-in-the-pot-and-come-home-to-dinner meals, and this one is just that!! I too dredged the meat in some seasoned flour before tossing it in the crockpot. It turned out beautifully! The meat is soooo tender!! Thank you for sharing this keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkinnyMinnie January 09, 2007

Wonderful, delicious and easy to throw together since there is no browning meat involved! Wonderful meal to come home to at the end of the day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose November 29, 2006

Great recipe.... I made a few changes to it though... I used a jar of mushrooms since I didn't have fresh.... Going to make a point of using fresh next time.... I bet it makes it that much better.... I also left out the white wine and used real sourcream.... I seasoned some flour with seasoning salt, pepper, and garlic powder and tossed my meat in it before adding it to the crockpot.... This helps in the thickening process as well as added more flavor.... Thanks so much for the recipe....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gertc96 January 05, 2006

Wonderful dish! Very easy and able to make some changes in the recipe. I used regular mustard, garlic, lots of mushrooms, red wine, I put the sourcream in right before I served it. I made this for Easter dinner with fresh asparagus. Thank you for sharing..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Lee April 11, 2004

Yummy! I added the sour cream (not substitute) near the end. This is my favorite crock pot recipe so far. I make it whenever DH goes out of town (he doesn't like beef stroganoff) so, I manage to eat the entire pot! I like to serve it over egg noodles

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dotedu March 02, 2003

I have to give this one a 5* rating. My entire family liked it and that's hard to find with 4 kids!! It was very easy to make...Put ingredients in and let it cook all day. I did not use the sour cream substitute but I thought everything came out just fine! Good one Diggy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SonShne February 28, 2003

Diggy, I made your recipe yesterday and found it to be just ok. I would recommend adding the sour cream at the end, because mine separated during the cooking process on low. Maybe a better cut of meat would also improve this recipe...like some beef tenderloin. The sauce sounded really appetizing, but it just didn't appeal to me. I'm going to try your Easy Creamy Hamburger Stroganoff next... it looks to be a real winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*~Suzy~* September 10, 2002

What a great easy recipe. I cut the recipe in half and only cooked it on low for 3 1/2 hours, perfect. Only thing I added were 3 cloves garlic and 2 jalapeno peppers. I love a recipe that you can put on and forget about til dinner Thans Diggy I diggy your recipe !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy September 10, 2002
Crock Pot Beef Stroganoff