62 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe! We don't care for celery so I omitted that but otherwise this is awesome! Great with some warm bread or biscuits. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
labkat February 03, 2014

this is off the chain AWESOME! stuck to the main recipe except I didn't have kitchen bouquet so I used 2 tsp. of lemon juice and a little brown sugar to substitute. I also didn't have the bay leaf left it out didn't miss it. just added a little more white pepper and garlic for more of my taste. added double the potatoes and some green beans. I didn't brown my meat did it just like the recipe stated and OMG it was so tender!!! I usually do brown beforehand so glad I listened to Ellen! I always read the reviews and take from them as well mainly stuck to the bones of this one and so happy I did. I cooked on low and it was done in 5.5 hrs. it's a new fave in our home! I plan to try this with skinless boneless chicken and use chicken broth for another effortless yummy meal. THANKS for posting a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the twilight chef November 28, 2013

Be sue not to put too much broth in. Mine ended up a little too salty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond July 20, 2013

DELICIOUS!!!!! i didn't have any beef broth so I used chicken broth and it was still delicious!! It was so easy and simple and not a bunch of unnecessary ingredients and like i said it was still DELICIOUS!! big hit with my kids!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceciella March 21, 2013

Turned out great, I forgot to add the bay leaf even. And I think it could have used more pepper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PiercedKiss January 02, 2013

I made this today and for the most part followed the recipe. I didn't have any celery so I used a bit of celery seed, I also added carrots and a can of diced tomatoes. After tasting it I thought it tasted a little muddled so I added a touch of lemon juice and that helped a lot. We most of us thought it needed a little more liquid. Over all not a bad beef stew, just not for us.
Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A.S.K. October 03, 2011

I did like this BUT I also added my twist. A pinch of Cayenne pepper, and a medium can of tomato paste. I decreased it to 1 Ib and also added more veggies. If you are having a problem with thickness and you felt it was too watery add the paste, and or a bit of flour an hour before it finishes to your likng. A pinch at a time :) You can also add a stout beer instead of the broth if you want a different flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
b.ladley April 21, 2011

Too watery

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes February 22, 2010

Delicious! I usually make a few changes - no celery or Kitchen Bouquet, but I add chopped carrots. It's so nice to put this together in the morning and then it's ready to go when I get home from work. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeckaBoo November 07, 2009

I really liked this as I am one of the few people who do not like a tomato based stew...I added a package of onion soup mix and cut down on the raw onion. I, too, added frozen peas and carrots near the last of the cooking period. Very easy and very tasty. Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shellbee July 08, 2009
Crock-Pot Beef Stew