64 Reviews

Bummer!! Very bland when made as is. Unfortunately, I didn't read the reviews to see that several people made modifications then rated it great. I will go the onion soup mix route to save this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikkinostrand November 24, 2009

Yummy! Had to make a few changes, only because of ingredients on hand. 1 lb of beef stew meat. No beef broth, so in place of flour, I used 2 Tbs. of powdered beef gravy mix to coat the beef that I had browned. Added 1/2 lb. of baby carrots, and a full 2 cups of vegetable broth. Used 1/2 a pkg of onion soup mix & 1/3 cup of dehydrated onions. (& an 8 oz can of tomato sauce) added a cup of frozen peas at the end. I know it seems like a lot of changes, due to what I had; but it was super! I know some members hate it when you post, after making changes, but oh well. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Mother Earth September 04, 2009

Wow, this came out exactly like I had hoped. I browned the meat, added some sliced carrots (frozen, but thawed), and added a cornstarch slurry at the end to thicken it just a bit. Served over mashed potatoes. The meat was fall apart tender after 11 hours on low, and the broth/gravy was very flavorful. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori in NC February 12, 2009

This was a great beef stew! I made a few modifications- I used only 1 onion, added a packet of dry onion soup mix, I used frozen stew veggies, and in the end added a little more beef broth as I thought it was a bit dry. I chopped the onion and put all my dry ingredients in a zip top bag the night before and in the morning all I had to do was shake up the meat in it and add the broth. I added my frozen stew veggies after about 8 hours of cooking on low and turned it to high for an hour. Thanks for a great, easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zanni December 08, 2008

Ellen, you did great! This is very tasty and very easy to prepare. I have made this several times and have added sliced carrots and mushrooms (personal preferences)and it is wonderful. Left-overs (when there are any) are highly sought after. We like to serve over hot biscuits. Thanks for sharing a great recipe! Update 12/1/08 - This is just as wonderful as the first time I reviewed. For a nice depth in flavors, I now add 2 TBS. tomato paste. This is our favorite Beef Stew Recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ December 01, 2008

This recipe is the reason I LOVE Recipezaar!! I look up an "oldie" recipe and get a twist I never would have thought of! Thanks Ellen for the recipe. I think the Worstershire & Paprika are brilliant. I tossed the meat in flour, salt, peper and all-season before putting in the pot but otherwise followed the recipe to the Tee. Cheers from Down Under! ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catherine Wall November 12, 2008

This one is a keeper, I base this on my picky fiance's reaction, when he likes something. The only thing I did different was add frozen "stew veggies." I found it in the frozen food section and it had carrots, celery, potatoes and onions all chopped up. What a lifesaver! Thank for a yummy comfort food recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Flanagan November 12, 2008

This recipe is great! Tastes good, is easy and can't beat the convenience of coming home to a meal already to eat. I didn't have any worcestershire sauce and skipped the paprika,it still turned out yummy. I had to have carrots instead of the celery though and a loaf of french bread to go with. mmmmmm.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisa deptula February 04, 2001

Recipe has good bones. I did brown the beef and sauteed the onions before adding to the crock pot with a good amount of red wine. I highly recommend adding carrots, peas and mushrooms next time. Needs more salt too......and I usually go easy on the salt. However, will try this again since the meat was very tender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chic Geek February 22, 2016
Crock-Pot Beef Stew