Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock-Pot Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock-Pot Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2013

      this is off the chain AWESOME! stuck to the main recipe except I didn't have kitchen bouquet so I used 2 tsp. of lemon juice and a little brown sugar to substitute. I also didn't have the bay leaf left it out didn't miss it. just added a little more white pepper and garlic for more of my taste. added double the potatoes and some green beans. I didn't brown my meat did it just like the recipe stated and OMG it was so tender!!! I usually do brown beforehand so glad I listened to Ellen! I always read the reviews and take from them as well mainly stuck to the bones of this one and so happy I did. I cooked on low and it was done in 5.5 hrs. it's a new fave in our home! I plan to try this with skinless boneless chicken and use chicken broth for another effortless yummy meal. THANKS for posting a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2013

      Be sue not to put too much broth in. Mine ended up a little too salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      DELICIOUS!!!!! i didn't have any beef broth so I used chicken broth and it was still delicious!! It was so easy and simple and not a bunch of unnecessary ingredients and like i said it was still DELICIOUS!! big hit with my kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      Turned out great, I forgot to add the bay leaf even. And I think it could have used more pepper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      I made this today and for the most part followed the recipe. I didn't have any celery so I used a bit of celery seed, I also added carrots and a can of diced tomatoes. After tasting it I thought it tasted a little muddled so I added a touch of lemon juice and that helped a lot. We most of us thought it needed a little more liquid. Over all not a bad beef stew, just not for us.
      Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      I did like this BUT I also added my twist. A pinch of Cayenne pepper, and a medium can of tomato paste. I decreased it to 1 Ib and also added more veggies. If you are having a problem with thickness and you felt it was too watery add the paste, and or a bit of flour an hour before it finishes to your likng. A pinch at a time :) You can also add a stout beer instead of the broth if you want a different flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Too watery

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Delicious! I usually make a few changes - no celery or Kitchen Bouquet, but I add chopped carrots. It's so nice to put this together in the morning and then it's ready to go when I get home from work. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      I really liked this as I am one of the few people who do not like a tomato based stew...I added a package of onion soup mix and cut down on the raw onion. I, too, added frozen peas and carrots near the last of the cooking period. Very easy and very tasty. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      This had very little flavor... it tasted more like a bland veggy soup. I ended up adding a package of lipton soup beefy onion to save the day

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Wonderful, I have tried to make beef stew in the past and it was always horrible. This is exactly the way it should be, I did add a small bag of frozen crinkle cut carrots. This is a keeper. Thanks so much Ellen for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      I've made this several times. I always add carrots and sometimes some mixed frozen vegetables. No matter out this is a show stopper! My future mother-in-law is even asking for a repeat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      I love this stew so much that I have made it at least four times! I always leave out the celery and the kitchen bouquet. I followed the suggestion of browning the meat before dropping it in the crockpot the last time I made it. I will continue to do that in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Very good. Added sweet potatoes. Next time, might add carrots too. Didn't use the Kitchen Bouquet. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Wow, this came out exactly like I had hoped. I browned the meat, added some sliced carrots (frozen, but thawed), and added a cornstarch slurry at the end to thicken it just a bit. Served over mashed potatoes. The meat was fall apart tender after 11 hours on low, and the broth/gravy was very flavorful. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Wonderful, just like what I remember as a child. I also browned the meat, and added a little tapioca towards the end to help thicken, mine may have had too much liquid from mushrooms etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      I"m always looking for a good meal to cook (while) I'm at work. Ithrew in some baby carrots and a little onion!! SUPER supper!! I will be making this again. Jinny

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This is a good basic stew recipe. Everyone enjoyed it. You won't go wrong with this one. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      we have made this a few times now its lovely, i have added some carrots, just peeled and cut into half or thirds, they are so soft at the end they are so easy to break up. I have found what broth you use make a big difference i highly recommend organic low sodium chicken broth

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock-Pot Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.5
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    20%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 96.7 mg
    32%
    Sodium 948.4 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 36.8 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites