62 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a great beef stew! I made a few modifications- I used only 1 onion, added a packet of dry onion soup mix, I used frozen stew veggies, and in the end added a little more beef broth as I thought it was a bit dry. I chopped the onion and put all my dry ingredients in a zip top bag the night before and in the morning all I had to do was shake up the meat in it and add the broth. I added my frozen stew veggies after about 8 hours of cooking on low and turned it to high for an hour. Thanks for a great, easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zanni December 08, 2008

Ellen, you did great! This is very tasty and very easy to prepare. I have made this several times and have added sliced carrots and mushrooms (personal preferences)and it is wonderful. Left-overs (when there are any) are highly sought after. We like to serve over hot biscuits. Thanks for sharing a great recipe! Update 12/1/08 - This is just as wonderful as the first time I reviewed. For a nice depth in flavors, I now add 2 TBS. tomato paste. This is our favorite Beef Stew Recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ December 01, 2008

This recipe is the reason I LOVE Recipezaar!! I look up an "oldie" recipe and get a twist I never would have thought of! Thanks Ellen for the recipe. I think the Worstershire & Paprika are brilliant. I tossed the meat in flour, salt, peper and all-season before putting in the pot but otherwise followed the recipe to the Tee. Cheers from Down Under! ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catherine Wall November 12, 2008

This one is a keeper, I base this on my picky fiance's reaction, when he likes something. The only thing I did different was add frozen "stew veggies." I found it in the frozen food section and it had carrots, celery, potatoes and onions all chopped up. What a lifesaver! Thank for a yummy comfort food recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Flanagan November 12, 2008

Confession time- I didn't make this, my DH did. Even so, it tasted really good. He pretty much stuck with the recipe except that he added some carrots, and didn't use the Kitchen Bouquet (didn't have any), and only used 1 onion. It was nicely flavorful and hearty; served with corn muffins.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay D. November 04, 2008

Followed recipe has given by Ellen and have to say it was the best beef stew I ever had.My husband really liked it-and for him to say so is something in its self.Wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom4 September 16, 2006

This recipe is great! Tastes good, is easy and can't beat the convenience of coming home to a meal already to eat. I didn't have any worcestershire sauce and skipped the paprika,it still turned out yummy. I had to have carrots instead of the celery though and a loaf of french bread to go with. mmmmmm.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisa deptula February 04, 2001

I halved the recipe and only cooked for two people. A few modifications are made. 1) I coated the beef with salt and pepper, then browned it in butter. 2) Reduced flour amount and added 1/4 cup red wine. 3) Added a cup of chopped carrots. The result was pretty good but I think that it could be better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen February 10, 2015

Made a half batch with my only change being to add carrots. It was my first homemade beef stew and it turned out wonderfully!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vigilant20 March 28, 2014

This is a tasty recipe! I did 1/2 the onions and added some carrots. Yummy! Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MKLadyLaura February 07, 2014
Crock-Pot Beef Stew