62 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Be aware that this is the EXACT recipe that is printed in the booklet that comes with a new crockpot. It's easy enough, but they call for too much flour, it's a little pasty-tasting to me. Luckily, I made a test batch before I cooked for guests or I would have been embarrassed. Cut the flour amount down to about 1/2 and add more pepper. I've found that browning the beef first seals it and makes it taste better.

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristina Stanfill January 27, 2001

cut down on flour and brown the meat first

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paul bertrand August 10, 2001

I tossed the meat in flour (reduced to about 1 tablespoon of flour), salt, pepper and 1/2 teaspoon of thyme. Then browned the meat in 2 tablespoon of olive oil. Removed the meat from sauce pan, added 4 cloves of garlic, minced, and 1 chopped onion, browned them. Deglazed with about 1/2 cup of red wine. Poured everything into the crock pot and added 1 small can of tomato paste and another 1/2 teaspoon of thyme. Then followed the rest of the directions. Served this with a salad and crusty bread. The family loved this beef stew. They wanted more potatoes (but my crock pot was already full). I will make this again. Thank you.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 March 10, 2008

This was the first recipe I tried from Recipezaar and it was wonderful. I read all the comments and did brown the meat first - that was a great suggestion. Also, it was easy, most of the ingredients I actually had on hand, and I will definitely make it again!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoosierBjw April 10, 2002

i put carrots in instead of celery and served with french bread. it was the best beef stew that i ever had. Great!!!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billie jo griffin January 07, 2002

Very tasty! I must admit that I did the modifications listed in many of the comments: beefy onion soup mix (instead of flour--I didn't add as much salt because of this), no bay leaf, I kept celery in the recipe, but I didn't have Kitchen Bouquet or paprika. I included baby carrots and potatoes about halfway through the cooking so that they won't be mushy, and I browned the beef in the broiler oven prior to starting the stew.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Abena December 10, 2010

The ratio of meat to vegetable is way too high. I would increase the amount of veggies 2 times and decrease the meat to 1lb. Then I would leave out the bay leave, but add a can of cream of mushroom soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann Cecile February 02, 2010

Bummer!! Very bland when made as is. Unfortunately, I didn't read the reviews to see that several people made modifications then rated it great. I will go the onion soup mix route to save this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikkinostrand November 24, 2009

Yummy! Had to make a few changes, only because of ingredients on hand. 1 lb of beef stew meat. No beef broth, so in place of flour, I used 2 Tbs. of powdered beef gravy mix to coat the beef that I had browned. Added 1/2 lb. of baby carrots, and a full 2 cups of vegetable broth. Used 1/2 a pkg of onion soup mix & 1/3 cup of dehydrated onions. (& an 8 oz can of tomato sauce) added a cup of frozen peas at the end. I know it seems like a lot of changes, due to what I had; but it was super! I know some members hate it when you post, after making changes, but oh well. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Mother Earth September 05, 2009

great. a true traditional beef stew recipe ~~

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gahousewife December 19, 2008
Crock-Pot Beef Stew