Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2010

      This is a great, easy beef stew recipe. It's actually one of the best I have ever had and I've been making beef stew for a while. I love that the sauce was thick. I did a few things different though- I used vegetable broth and I used more than what the recipe calls for. Not sure how much extra I used but after I got it all in the crock pot the juice was not enough so I just poured more broth in until it almost covered everything, then I added a bit more worcestershire sauce for flavor since i had added more broth. ALSO a big change I made was I did not have a bay leaves, and I used rosemary instead..ahhh that made it sooo yummy and it smelled wonderful cooking! The whole time it cooked I was thinking I hope it taste as good as it smells. And it did! YUM. I just added as many whole baby carrots as I wanted and about 4-5 small red potatoes chuncked with skin on, and everything cooked perfectly. This has a wonderful flavor for having so few ingredients and no nasty additives! I served this with yeast rolls (and dipped my roll in the sauce left on my plate :)). Thanks for my new beef stew recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2014

      I followed this recipe exactly except that I doubled the potatoes, used baby reds with skin on in fact, I added a bag of frozen mixed veggies, and I substituted sea salt for regular salt. I also added 1/4 teaspoon gumbo file seasoning, but it was still rather bland. Also, there isn't much sauce to it at all so next time I will try to double the seasoning, especially the bay leaf, perhaps add other herbs, and double the beef broth and add a pinch more flour. It's not a bad basic recipe but it wasn't as flavorful as I'd hoped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2013

      Made this for my boyfriend and he loved it. Doubled almost all the veggies and thickened it a little bit since he likes it more 'hearty'. It came out wonderful. Going into my file of keepers. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks for a simple and delicious meal that's great on a cold night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      Great basic flavor. I've made this twice and it's been a hit both times. I do make some modifications, I always add cubed turnip and potatoes in addition to the carrots. I did substitute soy sauce as I didn't have any worchestire sauce in the house and it tasted great. I didn't have gravy master, but I think using the potato in addition to flouring the meat made it appropriately thick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      This was good, I think it still needed a little something. I think if we make it again I might add some rosemary or thyme. I added some extra broth because I wanted to make sure it had enough liquid. We like to sop. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      This recipe is simple and tasty.

      I used what I had on hand at the time: one potato short, extra carrots and celery. I used chicken broth instead of beef broth, added a bit of vegetable oil and a packet of Publix "beef stew seasoning" which I luckily found in the drawer. I left out the salt, paprika, and garlic. It still tasted pretty good. There wasn't a lot of sauce but it was still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      This recipe was very easy to make. I didn't like the flavor very much though. Although my husband liked it quite a bit. I did the recipe by the book except I just added how ever much veggies I thought looked right. It didn't have enough of the soupy sauce, although the little amount that was there was a good thickness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      This was a nice meal. Very easy to make and the flavor was excellent. I made this with a nice green salad and Beer Bread. About the only change I will make next time is to cook the meat alone for a couple of hours before adding my veggies. The potatoes pretty much disintegrated. It was still really good though. Very filling meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Very easy and great flavor! I added leftovers I had in the fridge so I cleaned out the fridge and made a great easy dinner. Jewell

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Thank you tootyflooty- you have given me such a gift; a full stomach, a huge smile, and happy husband! I did not have any bay leaves on hand, so I added parsley and thyme instead and it was delicious! However, it did turn out a little thicker than I had planned, so next time I'll just add more beef broth. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I make this with seitan, vegetable broth, and vegetarian Worcestershire for an awesome vegan stew. It's a regular in our house on chilly days!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      Easy, delicious, what more could you ask for? Served it in a bread bowl during a blizzard!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      This is our family's favorite beef stew recipe. It is so easy and turns our so great. This last time, I added a little more carrots and potatoes. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Love, Love, Love this recipe! So easy and simple to make. The beef stew has so much flavor. The only thing we don't include is the celery as none of us like it. Other than that this is perfect for those cold winter nights!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      quick to throw together and makes the house smell so good! Great winter meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      This was my first time making stew, which I am not fond of but my family loves. I must say, this was very tasty. My husband and kids loved it and complimented me nonstop. I will definitely be making this again. I even ate some and enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      My 8 year old does not like stew. But he ate this one up, and wanted me to fix it again!! I made this on the stove instead, and next time I will add more liquid to it, because it was on the pasty side after cooking, but even my husband who doesn't like stew either, said it was delicious! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      Great simple stew with a mild and comforting flavor. I used sweet potato because it was all I had, and baby carrots cut in halves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      A very good stew recipe! I also added a bit of red wine for added flavor. Thank You for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      I followed the recipe exactly as stated and the flavor was very bland. I added balsamic vinegar, red wine, evoo, and Herbs de Provence. Once I did that the Beef Stew was amazing. I used a Reynolds Crock-Pot bag for easy clean up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (355 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 299.5
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    21%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 96.7 mg
    32%
    Sodium 586.0 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 36.2 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes