Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2003

      Perfection! My family loved this simple beef stew that we had with Barbara Mooers Best Popovers. The only changes I made to this stew was that I only had two carrots, so I added some baby carrots (next time I may only use baby carrots since my kids really like them) and I couldn't find "vegetable bouillon cubes" so I used 4 beef bouillion cubes instead of 2 beef and 2 vegetable. I also used low sodium tomatoes to lower the sodium context a bit. Next time I make this delicious stew I will use a little less water (2 1/2 cups instead of 3 1/2) because there was a little too much broth for us. Thanks Inez for posting this keeper recipe. I will definitely be making this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      This is a very good basic crock pot recipe and I'll for sure prepare it again. I used a marbled chuck roast and appreciated that in this recipe there was no requirement to coat the beef in flour and sear it in a separate skillet. I cut the layer of fat from the bottom of the roast before cutting it into cubes. This was somewhat difficult, but made a significant improvement to the overall result. However, I made some changes and additions to the recipe to suit my personal preferences and I offer them for your consideration. First, I used only 2 cups water, based on other reviews, my changes, and hoping for a little thicker gravy. Second, after assembling all the ingredients in the crock pot except the potatoes and celery, which I added (celery) at about the 5 hour mark, I added some Chef Paul "Vegetable Magic" seasoning. (I think whatever seasonings one likes would work.) It appeared to me from reading the recipe, which calls for no seasonings, that I would probably prefer something with a little bit more "kick." Third, I omitted the potatoes, since I planned to serve the stew over extra wide buttered egg noodles, and since in my experience potatoes cooked all day in the crock pot tend to break down and become mushy. And certainly I didn't want both pasta and potatoes at the same meal. Next, after testing the consistency of the sauce after about 6 hours in the crock pot and finding it a bit thin for my taste, I decided to add a little Wondra Sauce Flour toward the end of the cooking time, on high heat, to thicken the gravy. Finally, I added some frozen green peas about ten minutes before the completion of the cooking time. I think firm green peas are an essential ingredient to a great beef stew. I served the stew over the mentioned noodles along with crusty sliced baguettes and a crisp green salad made with Romain lettuce and a tart vinaigrette dressing. I think a light red wine would be a perfect compliment. What a nice comfort meal this was for me and my guest. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2003

      Well, I have been trying to make a decent beef stew for about 10 years now with some pathetic results. Thank goodness I came across this recipe. This was the absolute BEST stew that I have tasted let alone made!! Everybody had seconds and thirds!!!!!! Very easy to prepare with some outstanding end results!! You have got to try this one. Thank You so much for posting this terrific recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2003

      A tasty simple,healthy meal. I scaled down to 3 potatos, 2 large carrots and 2 sticks of celery for my 3 litre crockpot which turned out to fill up the pot just right. I also added a tablespoon of 'herbs du provence'. As per Ellie's suggestion I only used 2 1/2 cups of liquid but after 5 hours on low and 2 hours on high the broth was still plentiful and quite thin. So I drained the broth into a pan added a heaped teaspoon of flour and simmered for about 7 or 8 minutes until it thickened up and then returned the gravy to the pot. Given that this dish is so simple to make this extra step is no big deal. The meat was delicious, the veggies were tasty, we really enjoyed it and I will make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      I meant to give this 5 stars for exceeding my expectations!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      Quick, Easy and Tasty!!! a new staple in our house. The only change I would make is to thicken it up some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      huge hit with my family. I've made it twice. I didn't have any vegetable bouillon cubes so I just used 4 beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      This was okay for me. Didn't do much for my taste buds...Thanks for sharing though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Really good stew. I didn't have vegie bouillon cubes, so I threw in a packet of onion soup mix. Threw it all in, went to work, came home to great stew. Love that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      This turned out really good. Made yesterday as written except I didn't have any vegie bouillon cubes and only had 3 beef so that's what I used. I also added 1 8 oz can of tomato sauce. Didn't add the celery. All in all it was very good and I'm sure I'll make again. Thanks MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      Easy dinner! It has a nice fresh veggie taste that really come through. Instead of bouillon I used Aue Jus mix. It is probably the same thing though. I used the water called for but added a bit more corn starch at the end and turned it up to high to thicken. I added horseradish to my own bowl and it was very tasty! Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      This was the best beef stew I've ever made! And it was also very easy. Thanks for the recipe!! In reading the other reviews, I decided to also use less water (2 1/2c), thinking I could add more if need be. I didn't end up adding more and the consistency was just right. I also lightly floured the beef and browned it first as recommended by some. Since I had fresh rosemary leftover from my Thanksgiving turkey, I added a sprig during cooking and then removed it before serving. This flavor was wonderful with the stew! Also, I didn't have vegetable boullion, so I substituted chicken boullion for these 2 cubes. Excellent recipe, highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2005

      WONDERFUL! Easy to make but we all add something of our own to make it ours. I used vegetable stock and red win and still added the boullion. My son who doesn't eat these things even ate it. I had to puree some for my mom who is on a special diet and she loved it... Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      I needed a good crockpot recipe for beef stew and this is excellent! I did make some adjustments- I browned the beef cubes in seasoned flour and olive oil before placing in the crock pot. Instead of water, I used both beef and chicken broth. (And I still used the 2 bouillon cubes). I quarted the onion, but left the potatoes and carrots whole. I also used canned whole plum tomatoes instead of stewed and added 2 bay leaves. After cooking on low for 8 hrs., I removed the bay leaves and served the meal. The vegetables never got mushy!! The meat was beautifully tender. This was the best beef stew I've ever made. Thank you for posting MizzNezz ~ I couldn't have done this without you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (592 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 345.6
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    14%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 72.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 653.5 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 30.0 g
    60%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable bouillon cubes

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes