Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2009

      Just a wonderful simple full of beefy goodness stew. I didn't not flour the beef but did use a cornstartch slurry to thicken at the end. I added the potatoes about halfway thro cooking only because sometimes I find they get overccoked. I also added more broth but I also added more veggies ( personal likes is all) Made for PRMR Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2014

      Definitely a good recipe to try. I just basically used this recipe as a guide and added my own spices but it turned out really juicy and yummy, even the soup itself was so delicious. I used everything that was on the recipe, except a little less flour because I didn't want my soup to be too thick. In addition, I added: tsp of rosemary (dried) tsp of thyme (dried) A dash of onion powder A dash of garlic powder 3Tbsp of A1 sauce Tbsp of kikkoman soy sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

      way too much pepper, and I only put it in the flour mixture that the beef rolled in! Also, boring in other flavors, I guess I like my beef stew with wine added to it. meat was tender though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2013

      This beef stew was RIDICULOUSLY GOOD!!! I reduced the beef amount to 1 lb since there're only 2 of us and also reduced the veggie amount accordingly. Followed this recipe for everything else and after 6-hour slow cooking, my entire apartment smelt like heaven. Devoured this with rice! Definitely making this again! Highly recommended!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      This was wonderful. I did make a couple of changes. I floured the beef and browned in a little oil.<br/>Also added 4 cups of beef broth. It turn out perfect. This will be a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2013

      Impossible that this dish was rTed this many stars. It was awful... No one in the house enjoyed it and ended up having cereal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      My family enjoyed this stew a lot. Quick and easy. The smell all day was wonderful. Cooked it on Hi for 5.5 hrs and it was perfectly done, made a nice thick sauce too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Fabulous dish! I thought my DH was going to faint because he kept hmmm-ing through dinner and barely took a breath before the next bite. I used the 10-12 hour cycle and the meat was so tender you could leave the knife in the utensil drawer. Tagged in Zaar Stars tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Not a drop leftover at my house last night! Since there were only 3 of us, I cut the beef back to 1lb and left everything else the same. After 10 hours the meat was falling apart and the veggies were nice and soft without being mush.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Perfect! My DH is walking on air now. This was his comfort food and my easy no mess cooking recipe. Dinner was done and on the table in no time, (with the exception of 10 hours of cooking) but it was like I did nothing. What a wonderful recipe. The meat just fell apart on your fork (you may need a spoon). This is a keeper. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      This was wonderful. DH likes beef stew, but not beef stew with tomatoes, so I was excited to find this recipe. I used what the store called "stir-fry beef" smaller chunks than normal stew beef, and I cut everthing else to the same size. I started my potatoes and carrots in the microwave for about 5 mins cause I have an older crock-pot that doesn't like potatoes. I dumped everything in cooked on high for 3 hours and low for 3 hours. WONDERFUL. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Great meal for another chilly northern evening. I used smoked paprika and all else by the recipe. It's Grey Cup night here in Canada and DH is having his bowl in front of the tv and to be honest I'm not sure which he's enjoying the most! Thats a compliment Katzen. Thanks for a winning recipe :D.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      This was a nice, hearty stew. It was simple to throw together this morning, and delightful to serve for dinner. I made exactly as directed, no alterations or adjustments. Next time I will add some tomatoes to the stew and let them cook with it - I'm used to tomatoes in stew (you know, the way mom used to make it)... Made for the Groovy GastroGnomes of ZWT5!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      Omitted onion and celery due to diatery reasons cut followed through. Going on previous cooking estimated that I would need 8.5 hours on auto but could have done with an extra 1/2 to 1 hour. We thorouly enjoyed it with Mandy from Oz's Parmesan & Garlic Damper Rolls for you certainly need something to mop up those juices. Thank you Katzen for a crock Pot recipe I will try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      This is absolutely divine. I throw everything into the slow cooker and 6 hours later I have this amazing meal on such a cool rainy day. Okay, I didn't have any beef stock. But I did have a jar of Williams Sonoma American Slow Cooking Sauce (16 oz) that I used instead, and added 1 1/2 cups water also. I used 2 lbs of potato nuggets, and more celery and onions than called for. Wow, what a rich, intense, dark, spicy flavour this stew yielded! Thanks Katzen, you're an inspiration!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (297 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 498.7
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    19%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 145.1 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1201.4 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 55.7 g
    111%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites