15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Just a wonderful simple full of beefy goodness stew. I didn't not flour the beef but did use a cornstartch slurry to thicken at the end. I added the potatoes about halfway thro cooking only because sometimes I find they get overccoked. I also added more broth but I also added more veggies ( personal likes is all) Made for PRMR Tag

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 October 29, 2009

Definitely a good recipe to try. I just basically used this recipe as a guide and added my own spices but it turned out really juicy and yummy, even the soup itself was so delicious. I used everything that was on the recipe, except a little less flour because I didn't want my soup to be too thick. In addition, I added: tsp of rosemary (dried) tsp of thyme (dried) A dash of onion powder A dash of garlic powder 3Tbsp of A1 sauce Tbsp of kikkoman soy sauce

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akira-Akiko August 01, 2014

way too much pepper, and I only put it in the flour mixture that the beef rolled in! Also, boring in other flavors, I guess I like my beef stew with wine added to it. meat was tender though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lexi.mixon_jr®an February 25, 2014

This beef stew was RIDICULOUSLY GOOD!!! I reduced the beef amount to 1 lb since there're only 2 of us and also reduced the veggie amount accordingly. Followed this recipe for everything else and after 6-hour slow cooking, my entire apartment smelt like heaven. Devoured this with rice! Definitely making this again! Highly recommended!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen October 09, 2013

This was wonderful. I did make a couple of changes. I floured the beef and browned in a little oil.<br/>Also added 4 cups of beef broth. It turn out perfect. This will be a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyrider24 September 11, 2013

Impossible that this dish was rTed this many stars. It was awful... No one in the house enjoyed it and ended up having cereal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommy Two September 03, 2013

My family enjoyed this stew a lot. Quick and easy. The smell all day was wonderful. Cooked it on Hi for 5.5 hrs and it was perfectly done, made a nice thick sauce too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lee s. November 06, 2011

Fabulous dish! I thought my DH was going to faint because he kept hmmm-ing through dinner and barely took a breath before the next bite. I used the 10-12 hour cycle and the meat was so tender you could leave the knife in the utensil drawer. Tagged in Zaar Stars tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom March 18, 2010

Not a drop leftover at my house last night! Since there were only 3 of us, I cut the beef back to 1lb and left everything else the same. After 10 hours the meat was falling apart and the veggies were nice and soft without being mush.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI March 14, 2010

Perfect! My DH is walking on air now. This was his comfort food and my easy no mess cooking recipe. Dinner was done and on the table in no time, (with the exception of 10 hours of cooking) but it was like I did nothing. What a wonderful recipe. The meat just fell apart on your fork (you may need a spoon). This is a keeper. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas January 31, 2010
Crock Pot Beef Stew