9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I followed this recipe exactly and found it to be very bland and fairly runny. I expected something much richer. So I added more wine (I used a pinot noir; the driest of the burgundys), more garlic,salt, worcestershire and added a bunch of beef bouillon crystals. It was better, but still not great. It got such great reviews from everyone else that I went back thru the recipe to see what I did wrong, but I did it all as written. Sorry, I really wanted to love this. UPDATE: One of the reviews said it was much better the next day so I reheated leftovers and OMG it was perfect! Thick and rich and absolutely awesome! I am changing from 3 to 4 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mstout December 06, 2014

Excellent, a breeze to make, I read the other reviews and also added a little salt and some crushed garlic!! This is a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fendi912 February 08, 2013

I made this tonight for dinnerand had to write the review immediately. It was delicious. I followed the recipe other than I added 16 oz of beef broth. That could be why my sauce was too thin. I did use 1 Tbsp of cornstarch and also used a 1/2 cup of potato water to thicken it. Was much better. DSO said he didn't think it was spicy enough, I was speechless. but after another bite was fine with it. (This is coming from a man who never ate anything with any kind of spice, his ex-wife did'nt know how nor cared to cook and he cooks only simple plain things.) I will definitely be making this again. I thank you Sue for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frostyprecious February 05, 2013

My very first slow cooker recipe in my new crock pot. I eliminated the mushrooms (daughter doesn't like them) and used baby carrots and a red rhine wine. The house smelled great during the cooking process. The meat was so tender and the thick sauce was loaded with flavor. My wife, who rarely eats red meat, had two helpings. Will definately make it again. Thank you Sue!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Musician March 05, 2012

This was really good, but I needed to add salt and a few teaspoons more of marjoram and minced garlic to suit our taste buds. We had it over egg noodles, as the recipe directs, and the gravy consistency was just perfect. We got every last drop with the fresh dinner rolls I served with this dish. Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal May 28, 2009

Tres bon! The gravy thickness is perfect, the meat is tender, and the carrots are exactly right-not mushy. I like how it freed me up so I could plant my herb garden. I only had a 10.5 ounce can of beef broth so also added some of Slow Cooker French Onion Soup to make up the difference as long as I made that today also. Next time I would add 1/4 teaspoon salt, another 1/4 teaspoon of pepper, and more bacon. I had merlot in the house so that is what I used. Served with French Bread Rolls for our supper, a tossed salad, and some strawberries. Merci Sue de partager une recette merveilleuse! Made for my French jaunt during ZWT5 for the Chow Hounds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal May 28, 2009

Very good, a definate keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chipfo April 15, 2006

A true keeper. Simple to make but doesn't lack in taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M December 05, 2004

This was very much appreciated on a busy day. Incredibly easy, you don't even need to brown the stew meat. Ended up with very tender meat in a wonderfully flavored sauce that really pleased Dh. Thanks, Sue.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea October 18, 2004
Crock Pot Beef Burgundy