Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Beef Barley Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Beef Barley Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2010

      This is excellent stuff! I have my own recipe for beef barley soup posted here, and I actually like this one much better than mine - less work too! A few changes I made - I didn't measure the veggies, just chopped up a bunch and dumped them in. I used 3 stalks of celery, 4 carrots, and about 3/4 of a very large onion leftover from last night. I had no green pepper in the house so I skipped that. I added a package of au jus mix because I always do to beef and barley soup, it just adds something to the taste I love. Because of that, I skipped the salt. Also, I used 4 c. beef broth and about 2 c. water, and skipped the beef boullion, both since I used more broth than called for and to keep the saltiness down because of the au jus. I opted not to thicken it - it was just right for us. This filled my 5 qt. crock to the brim - I'm so glad I didn't try to use my 4 qt.! I think I will actually replace my recipe with this one, so good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      This is a good soup. I used chicken broth and only 3 cups of water since I wanted a more stew-like consistency. I added some freshly ground pepper just before serving too. It made 4 generous portions and was very tasty. BF loved it. Thanks so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      I followed this recipe to T, adding fresh chopped mushrooms. There is no where near enough barley. I let it cook for 13 hours on low, and added 2 T of cornstarch hoping that would thicken it and the barley might puff up more. Now I am cooking another cup of barley on the stovetop to add to the crockpot. If I made this again I'd use at least a cup less of water, and I'd put it in at least 3/4 cup barley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      So yummy. Made as directed except I didn't have an onion so I used 1/4 cup dried, minced onion. And did not use the corn starch. The consistency was just right without it. Will be a regular this winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      YUMMY! Made for My 3 Chef Nov2009. Wonderful flavors. I usually make my beef barley on the stove but neded something to come home to after DH did wood and I watched. :-) Well helped some. I doubled the recipe in a 7 qt crockpot except for the barley did 3/4 c instead. Wond3rful flavors, great broth. I added the corn startch in as directed and stirred gently. ( hint- took some broth out and put into a mixer cup, added corn starch to it and shook vigorously, then stirred into soup so no lumps. I must say never used ketchup before but it gave a nice hint of tomatoe flavor but not too much. That taste you try to figure out and then say hmm tomatoe? Thank you Chippie, this will be a regular rotation for the winter. We all loved it very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      layered everything in and left it til it was ready.. it was THAT easy. Added leeks as well. Yummy and a big big hit. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This soup had a really good flavor. I don't like onions or green peppers, so I used a bag of frozen mixed vegetables, and a lot of fresh mushrooms. I also used only four cups of water because five wouldn't have fit in my crock pot. I served it with turkey pita sandwiches, warmed in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      My family loved this soup and this past week I have made it twice. I added about 4 medium sized potatoes and just used dried parsley. I used a 900 ml can of broth and 2 cups of water and 1 tsp of soup base. Thanks for such a crowd pleasing recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      This is a wonderful, easy recipe. The flavors are really rich, and everybody in the house finished it in record time! I followed the recipe as written with one exception: I added a little fresh garlic that I wanted to use up. Thanks for the recipe Chippie, it will be a regular on our table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Oh-h-h so rich and beefy!I used leftover pot roast, added some mixed veggies and as one reviewer suggested I added some Lipton's Onion/Mushroom soup mix. This was so good and ready when we wanted it in the crockpot. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      This was just okay for me. Was missing some flavor, but I can't put my finger on what it was. The green pepper in it was kind of slimy so I think that I would leave that out next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      This was great! Perfect flavor and consistency. Not super thin, but not thick and stew like. Just what we were looking for. I definitely wanted a beefy flavor, so I used extra beef broth and less water. In addition, instead of 2 tsp of salt, I added an envelope of Lipton Onion Mushroom Soup Mix. It serves the same purpose as salt, but adds a nice flavor, as well. I was worried it would not have enough barley, but once cooked it was plenty, definitely no need for extra. We found the starch from the barley thickened the soup nicely, no need for any thickening agents. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      This is a delicious soup that made a nutritious and filling dinner for us. Since I love barley, I was tempted to add more than the 1/2 cup you called for ~ but I'm glad that I didn't because after cooking there is a nice amount of barley. I substituted red peppers for the green, and also used low sodium beef broth and bouillon cubes. It made a very flavorful soup and I will be making this often. Thanks Chippie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Beef Barley Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (675 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 304.2
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    19%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 73.1 mg
    24%
    Sodium 2698.0 mg
    112%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 30.8 g
    61%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    parsley

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites