32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really delicious and so easy! I used boneless beef country ribs and they were so tender and flavorful. The only thing I did different was I added a little dry mustard and onion powder to the rub, and cooked on high instead of low. Then I left a little bit of the juice at the bottom and covered the meat with Sweet Baby Rays bbq sauce. It was sweet and spicy and awesome! We had macaroni and cheese along with it and all everyone could say was YUM! Thank you so much for this awesome recipe, for sure I will be making this again and again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love2cook47 April 30, 2009

So easy and so good! I did cut the cayenne by half, since the kids said it was too spicy the first time I made them. Definitely a keeper, and I've shared it with others. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicoal123 May 21, 2013

Wow! Wonderful recipe. I didn't change a thing. Oh, I added some thick pork chops I had sitting in my freezer than seem to take forever to tenderize. People don't skip the cayenne! It makes the recipe, and its not overly spicy at all! Will be definitely making these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda V. August 14, 2014

My family loved this! I don't think I even have to add the barbecue sauce. My husband did suggest adding carrots and potatoes to round out the meal. I'm doing that today! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatMcC September 22, 2013

I really enjoyed the flavor of the rub with this one. I only had one package of boneless beef ribs, so a little less than two pounds, so I just mixed the rub, then sprinkled some on as I went and proceeded with the recipe. I did sub hickory smoked salt for salt, but otherwise kept the proportions the same. My ribs were cut in the "with the grain equals shoe leather" style, so these weren't as tender as I would have liked, but the flavor was great. I used a sauce recipe from this site, a clone of Tony Roma's smoky style, which went very well with the dry rub seasonings. Thanks for sharing. :-) I'll try this one again with better quality ribs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie May 17, 2013

So delicious! I had to use pork ribs, but they were still the best ribs I had ever eaten. Great job fitmama!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dexterchloe December 20, 2012

DELICIOUS! i used country-style pork ribs, some with bones .. some, without. i, too, added dry mustard and onion to the rub. i drained mine after 5 hours (on low) and added a full bottle of Stubb's Hickory Bourbon Barbecue sauce, and half of a bottle of the generic store brand 'original' flavor sauce (for 4 1/2 lbs of ribs). I prefer to have to extra sauce for serving and dipping! I continued to cook them on low for another two hours, and then set to warm.
they were, as stated in most other reviews, fall-off-the-bone tender, and very much exactly what i'd hoped for. Leftovers tomorrow will make great sandwiches. Thank you, fitmama, for such a tasty, easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Froggus. November 22, 2010

Loved these Ribs! Great flavor from the rub. I also cut back a little on the cayenne, and they were perfect! Cooked mine a total of 4 hrs High 7 hrs low. These were some big ribs. Thank you for a very nice recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iam511 October 06, 2010

This is a great recipe! I used boneless Texas Style Beef Ribs. My ribs were done in 3 hours on low. I was shocked by that. I would cut the cayenne down to 1/4t for us it was a little too hot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColiesKitchen June 15, 2009

All I can say is, "awesome" The meat falls right off the bone. We used Pork also!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jandsgreer April 18, 2009
Crock Pot BBQ Ribs