Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Barbecued Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Barbecued Ribs

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2014

      I've had an issue with crock pots/slow cookers since my original one which my DH gave me (he my BF at the time) 36 years ago and in it I could cook a meat dish for 12 hour plus and know it would not come out dry but these days it is a juggle act with the crock pots and I have gone through a few since my original went to crock pot heaven but today I allowed 4 to 5 hour to cook the pork but checked at 3 1/2 hours and it was just under so put to warm as I the sauce was really watery, about 1/2 hour before I wanted to serve I scooped out as much of the sauce as I could without draining it completely and put the crock pot on warm as I bought the sauce up to the boil in a small saucepan and added a slurry of 2 teaspoons cornflour/cornstarch mixed with water to thicken and then added back into the crock pot and let simmer on low as I served up the rest of the dish. I served with Yummy Chinese Cold Noodles for Peanutbutter Lovers! on the side and some steamed bok choy with sesame oil though in future would consider serving with rice to soak up that lovely sauce. Thank you Marie, made for Name that Ingredient tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      Just wondering if the folks that said the sauce was too watery were confused by the way the amount of water was written. At first, I thought it was one and half cups of water, but on closer look, I believe it is half of one cup of water....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      This was the first time I ever used a slow cooker. I haved the recipe but cooked for the 8 hrs listed. They tasted good and sauce was watery. Will do again but cut cooking time. on to the next slow cooker meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      This was my first time making ribs in a crock pot. I halved the amount of ribs, but kept the rest of the ingredients the same. I guess I was expecting a thicker sauce, but following the directions exactly, my sauce was thin and watery and did not stick to the ribs. After cooking the time given though and seeing the sauce was not going to thicken, I took them out and placed them on a broiler pan. I spooned the sauce in the crock pot over the ribs and broiled them a few minutes on high heat so the sauce would "stick on". I did this a couple of times until I had used all of the sauce. Broiling them like this, they turned out fine, and it produced a rib more like I was expecting, with a sticky sauce that clings to the ribs. Will make again with these revisions. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      These were pretty good. End the end, these ribs were boiled, though I did use the full cup of water called for. I tend to like ribs that are dry and sticky w/ sauce, not boiled. The flavor was outstanding though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      Wonderful.... I used boneless beef ribs and followed the recipe as is... I let them cook about 9-10 hrs... My husband loved these..... Thanks....update....These again are wonderful.... Had them this weekend and they remain the favorite bbq rib recipe in my house.... So simple to make....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      I really liked this recipe. I used beef ribs because that is what I have left over from my cow. The only thing I would try next time is to add a little cayenne to spice up the sauce a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

    • on June 26, 2006

      I made these for my husband yesterday, and he loved them. They were tender and had great flavor (he liked that they weren't too sweet). I did make one change - we had an open bottle of cabernet so I put that in in place of the vinegar. I suspect that probably gave it a deeper and more mellow flavor. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      I made this recipe 3 times in 2 weeks. It is a great recipe. I ended up using baby back ribs (bone-in). I got great feedback from my BF, Dad and co-workers. After cooking on low for 10 hours, I put them on the barbeque for a few minutes and brushed barbeque sauce on them. Everyone could not believe that they were from the crockpot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      I LOVED the sauce, but the ribs came out tough. I cooked for 8 hours as directed. If I do it right next time and end up with melt in your mouth ribs, this would be a 5 star. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      I will never pour bottled sauce over my ribs in the crock pot again. This was so easy and tasted so much better. I made 2 lbs of ribs and cooked for 11 hours. Next time for that amount I will cut the sauce in half. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2005

    • on May 02, 2005

      I cut the recipe in half and placed the onions in the bottom of the crockpot. The sauce over the ribs was great and this was more than tender. Thanks marie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2004

      Thank you Marie for a great new favorite! Everyone loved this. I used country style ribs and left them in the cooker for 10 hours. The ribs were so tender they fell off the bone and the sauce was delicious. I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2004

      Loved these ribs in a crockpot! They were so tender and delicious, and the sauce was tasty. I cooked mine for 10 hours because that's how long I was out for and it worked perfectly. Served with potato salad and garlic bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2004

      The ribs turned out extremely tender, and the sauce was very tasty. I had them in my slow cooker for about 8 hours on low heat. Easy to put together, and i served it with Basmati and salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2004

      this was wonderful so tender,i think this would work well with a pork roast,boston butt,or pork steaks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      This recipe worked well. I halved the recipe and cooked them in the slow cooker for 8 hours. I liked this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Barbecued Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (307 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 696.6
     
    Calories from Fat 480
    68%
    Total Fat 53.3 g
    82%
    Saturated Fat 17.1 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 181.7 mg
    60%
    Sodium 1013.5 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 14.5 g
    58%
    Protein 35.9 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites