10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This are with out a doubt the best ribs I've ever had. I did parboil them for 40 minutes before putting in the crock pot otherwise I followed the recipe exactally. The Paprica was hungarian and the Brown Sugar was from Barbados, who knows, maybe quality ingrediants results in quality food. This is one recipe I will make again and again. On the days I don't feel like cooking, I hope sharon lets me know where the pot luck get together is so I can have even more !!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gary7 January 19, 2003

I made this exactly as it said. The first serving was sorta bland, but the ribs were very tender. I think the onions could have mixed with the sauce for better cooking and flavor. Since I live alone I like cooking large meals that I can eat on for a couple of days. And, this dish got much better the second time around. And the third was great. Next time I'll cook it a day before I'm ready to eat it. Needed a little salt and I might try some changes just to spice (hot) it up. Thanks for getting me back to ribs since most recipes now are too sweat or leave a bad taste. Yours didn't.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Happy George Kinzy March 07, 2003

this is a good recipe, I did make a few changes, I added some garlic, cayenne pepper to the sauce, I decreased the water to 3/4 cup, and I used balsamic vinegar, I also parboiled the ribs to cut the fat. the sauce was great, it would also go well on other meats, I can't wait to try it on beef ribs, Thanks for the great post!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
midwestchef September 24, 2007

Very easy recipe. Didn't have quite enough time to cook the raw meat, so I used the Auto Shift feature on my old crock pot and cooked it for 6 hours. It came out very tender and yummy. Needed to add more BBQ sauce though. I will make this again. Thanks, Sharon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Magicduo September 01, 2007

This was a very good recipe. I added a little barbecue sauce to mine and reduced the amount of water based on the other review. Tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CLuv April 09, 2007

I also cut back on the water. The first time it was a bit too watery for my taste. The only water I used was to rinse out the measuring cup of catsup. This dish is a winner in my house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ray Grodnicki August 29, 2006

These were great. Next time I will omit the water - the sauce was very thin. I might also decrease the cooking time and crisp them on the grill. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb C July 24, 2006

Very good. I parboiled mine first to save on cooking time. The ribs ended up very tender and delicious. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kellfinder May 24, 2005

This was wonderful. I added about 1 T of honey and 2 T of soy sauce along with a few drops of liquid smoke. I also combined the onion with the sauce. My husband couldn't say enough about it. It's one of the best sauces we've ever tried. Thanks so much for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mannymom March 04, 2005

it had a good flavor and was really moist. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stitches33 December 21, 2004
Crock pot Barbecue Spareribs