22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved it! I added a dry rub for the first part and for the second part used homemade grape jelly rather than plum. The sauce is delicious but I think it needs the dry rub too (I used garlic powder, onion powder and seasoning salt.) I cut the ribs into large chunks then browned them and then cooked 8 hours on low plus 30 on high. Thank you for posting Sue! Made for photo forum's Crockpot Event, see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup August 26, 2008

These are great tasting crockpot ribs even if mine did not turn out the way the chef said. I followed the recipe exactly, but my ribs fell apart and ended up more like pulled pork than ribs. Who cares? They tasted great anyway. This is a good weekday dish for a busy cook. I will make often. Thanks Sue L.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda B January 23, 2004

This is a great / easy dinner to come home to after a tough day skiing.. I also like to dry rub and brown the meat prior to slow cooking. To add a bit of tang, try mixing a little of Voodoo Chile's Porcus Infernum ( the world's best bacon hot sauce) in with the bbq sauce and jam. Really awesome, and the ribs are just soooo tender anyway ! And, BTW, I like my St Louis ribs like pulled pork ! These are not baby back ribs you know.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
W K. January 24, 2014

hands down the best ribs ever! I used boneless beef ribs which worked very well, and grape jam instead of plum. I also used a beef rub and browned the beef beforehand. Definately sharing and saving the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginamac9 October 20, 2013

I used Sweet Baby Ray's Sweet %u2019n Spicy barbecue sauce which has a great spicy taste, and it was go good in this recipe! This is great to make when you are busy and can't be home slaving all day over the stove. It cooked all day while I was at work and then when I got home I finished it and we were ready to eat in less than an hour. Served the ribs with Potato Salad and Cole Slaw with freshly made biscuits hot out of the oven!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanetLee52 September 22, 2011

Awesome! Not a shred left, fall apart juicy and my kids even loved it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sumisan December 12, 2009

I made this recently and forgot to review it ....sorry. This was finger licking good and needless to say the meat just fell off the bones! What a time-saver...and so easy to just toss into the crockpot! I'll make this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfletcher October 18, 2009

This was awesome! I accidentally put all the ingredients in at the beginning, and was afraid if it would mess it up. When finished cooking, I just decided to follow the rest of the steps- I drained it (since it was watery) and added a little more sauce and jam on top- let it sit on high for a little. IT was DELICIOUS!!! I also used grape jelly instead of plum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samanthapete September 14, 2009

With all the good reviews I wasn't too impressed. Good but needed more sauce or something.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Ambrosia July 21, 2009

Delicious! My crockpot cooks very fast for some reason, and the meat was falling off the bone. I didn't have plum jam, so used grape jam, was great. Whole family enjoyed and there wasn't any leftovers at all. Thank you, will use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Paula June 17, 2009
Crock Pot Barbecue Country Ribs