Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Baked Spiced Red Cabbage With Apples or Pears Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Baked Spiced Red Cabbage With Apples or Pears

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on October 03, 2010

      Unfortunately I was pretty disappointed in the recipe as is. I followed the directions exactly for the crock-pot and it came out pretty bland. I was hoping it would taste like the red cabbage at my favorite German restaurant. I think if this recipe was tweaked it would be better... or maybe the stove-top preparation would have more flavor. Sorry, I really wanted to like this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Great recipe and easy to make! I cooked in the crock pot (you need a large one) on high for about 6 1/2 hours. The only thing I changed was adding a 1/2 cup of ruby port about 1/2 through the cooking time. I have made other cabbage recipes that used port and just couldn't resist adding some. I used 4 green apples and it was delish. I have 2 pkgs frozen for future dinners. Thanks French Tart!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2014

      YUM! I made mine in the oven cooking the mixture for two hours, stirring occasionally. Interesting to watch the stages as the various ingredients cooked into what would be pickled cabbage. Followed recipe as posted mixing the apples and pears. This recipe will be served at my dinner table again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2013

      I have not made this recipe yet but it is in my recipe pile for Christmas Eve. Reading the other reviews, I'm seeing frequent mention of "something missing" or "not sweet enough". My German grandmother would always put a little grape jelly in her red cabbage and I'm going to be adding a little of that to this recipe. That will likely add some sweetness and a little extra zing. I'll let you all know how it turns out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      Made mine on the stove top, giving it a good stir every hour or so because I didn't layer the ingredients. Everyone loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      I have cooked red cabbage plenty of times before, but this was the first time in a crockpot. I used a mixture of apple and pear (because that's what I had), and that turned out OK in terms of the blend of flavours. The quantities given were way too much to fit into one pot; I have two, so split the mixture between them. After seven hours it wasn't cooked anything like as much as I like it done. it might have been OK after about ten hours. Next time, I'll go back to my usual method which is in a Le Creuset pot simmering slowly on the hob for a couple of hours, or in the oven (if it's being used for something else as well). The other reason I have given this just two stars in spite of it being potentially a good recipe is the quantity specified. We had plenty left over for the second and third days; then I had to throw it out. It isn't that we don't eat many vegetables, but alongside the other veg that I cooked it was way too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Yum! Made in the crock pot. Made for Queens of Quisisne ZWT 6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Wow, did everyone at my dinner party ever LOVE this dish!!! My husband's family is 100% German/Pennsylvania Dutch and we had a Venison Roast and I made this as one of the side dishes. Everyone raved about it!!! I only used three onions because 4 seemed like too much, but when I inquired to one of the guests if they thought there was enough onion in the dish he said "I think you could use even more". So, follow the recipe as is and you'll be great! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Really good! This makes 10 servings as FT indicates, and lucky me I get it all because DH doesn't like cloves and so I froze serveral packets for future use. I used a slow cooker and cooked for 5 hours on high before dipping in for a serving. This is as close to the way I remember my mother's red cabbage tasting as I have ever been able to make. That deserves a special thank you! I used powdered clove, but perhaps will use whole cloves next time as my mother used to. Thanks for your wonderful recipe, FT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Was very tasty, and I am planning to freeze the leftovers for a quickie dinner. However, it seemed to be missing something that would make it great. Can't figure out what it is, but if I ended up with another head of red cabbage (from my CSA), I know what I'll be making.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      Very tasty and it used up all the red cabbage in my garden! Used apples, pears, and cranberries. The pears melted into the dish and the apples & cranberries retained some shape/texture. I froze it in 3 cup portions so we can have an easy side dish to serve with pork chops, ham or turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      I made this in my crockpot../ After some issues I had to bring the crockpot to work with me! Lts jsut say my boss sent me home early (she doenst like cabbage) But everyone else thought it smelt delicious! We LOVED it! IT sure did make a lot and I hink next time I will make half of the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      I made the crock pot version, we really liked it but it seemed like there was something missing, either my onions were to strong and I only used half what was called for, or my apples were not sweet enough. It lacked the sweetness I desired and had an edge that I didn’t like. The spices seemed right, I froze half of it so when I take it out I am going to add some more apple and see if that is what I am missing . Thanks for the recipe I will be making it again because I love spiced red cabbage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I made this for the big Christmas dinner and it made the whole house smell wonderful!! It tasted pretty good too... although mine never really turned a lovely shade of red... just stayed purple... I used a combo of 2 apples and 2 pears since my mom doesn't really like apples... I also threw in a handful of cranberries to the mix for good measure! This recipe makes A LOT!!! and no one really ate it, but my grandfather... so I have a lot left over... and now my refrigerator smells like cabbage... I might make this again just for my grandfather, but for a big dinner where I need to please everyone... I might stick with something more traditional!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      I made this following the recipe to a T and no one liked this. We just didn't like the flavor. It sure was a pretty dish though. I think the cinnamon and cloves overdid it a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Made my partner a special dinner for his birthday. He loves pork schnitzel, so I made some along with spaetzle and homemade mushroom gravy. He also requested red cabbage, which I've never made so I turned to trusty 'zaar and found this wonderful recipe! The only change that I made was to chop and fry some bacon and add that ontop of the ingredients in the crockpot. It only took 3 hours in my crockpot on low. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      Very good and easy!! I used the crock pot and forgot to layer, so halfway thru I just stirred really well. Made for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      02/21/08 - This is a really good red cabbage recipe. I miss red cabbage (I go right on by it at the grocery store), and don't know why. This dish brings back memories of the wonderful aroma and taste of a very simple vegetable, and with the apples, I think I'll be eating it again more often now. -------- 05/22/08 Made this again tonight using 2 apples and 2 pears. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      There was no flavor to this recipe, luckily my wife was able to add a few items and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      This was super FT. i don't normally like cabbage but had to get vegetables into me and the apple combo sounded like a good way. delicious Thanks so much for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Baked Spiced Red Cabbage With Apples or Pears

    Serving Size: 1 (254 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 179.0
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    17%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 63.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 25.7 g
    102%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites