30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe and easy to make! I cooked in the crock pot (you need a large one) on high for about 6 1/2 hours. The only thing I changed was adding a 1/2 cup of ruby port about 1/2 through the cooking time. I have made other cabbage recipes that used port and just couldn't resist adding some. I used 4 green apples and it was delish. I have 2 pkgs frozen for future dinners. Thanks French Tart!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW January 07, 2010

YUM! I made mine in the oven cooking the mixture for two hours, stirring occasionally. Interesting to watch the stages as the various ingredients cooked into what would be pickled cabbage. Followed recipe as posted mixing the apples and pears. This recipe will be served at my dinner table again for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JERSEY FLOURCHILD July 27, 2014

Unfortunately I was pretty disappointed in the recipe as is. I followed the directions exactly for the crock-pot and it came out pretty bland. I was hoping it would taste like the red cabbage at my favorite German restaurant. I think if this recipe was tweaked it would be better... or maybe the stove-top preparation would have more flavor. Sorry, I really wanted to like this one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee October 03, 2010

Really good! This makes 10 servings as FT indicates, and lucky me I get it all because DH doesn't like cloves and so I froze serveral packets for future use. I used a slow cooker and cooked for 5 hours on high before dipping in for a serving. This is as close to the way I remember my mother's red cabbage tasting as I have ever been able to make. That deserves a special thank you! I used powdered clove, but perhaps will use whole cloves next time as my mother used to. Thanks for your wonderful recipe, FT.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues December 07, 2009

I have not made this recipe yet but it is in my recipe pile for Christmas Eve. Reading the other reviews, I'm seeing frequent mention of "something missing" or "not sweet enough". My German grandmother would always put a little grape jelly in her red cabbage and I'm going to be adding a little of that to this recipe. That will likely add some sweetness and a little extra zing. I'll let you all know how it turns out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyToTwo December 11, 2013

Made mine on the stove top, giving it a good stir every hour or so because I didn't layer the ingredients. Everyone loved it! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy January 10, 2013

I have cooked red cabbage plenty of times before, but this was the first time in a crockpot. I used a mixture of apple and pear (because that's what I had), and that turned out OK in terms of the blend of flavours. The quantities given were way too much to fit into one pot; I have two, so split the mixture between them. After seven hours it wasn't cooked anything like as much as I like it done. it might have been OK after about ten hours. Next time, I'll go back to my usual method which is in a Le Creuset pot simmering slowly on the hob for a couple of hours, or in the oven (if it's being used for something else as well). The other reason I have given this just two stars in spite of it being potentially a good recipe is the quantity specified. We had plenty left over for the second and third days; then I had to throw it out. It isn't that we don't eat many vegetables, but alongside the other veg that I cooked it was way too much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sudenimes December 31, 2012

Yum! Made in the crock pot. Made for Queens of Quisisne ZWT 6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boo Chef in West Texas May 20, 2010

Wow, did everyone at my dinner party ever LOVE this dish!!! My husband's family is 100% German/Pennsylvania Dutch and we had a Venison Roast and I made this as one of the side dishes. Everyone raved about it!!! I only used three onions because 4 seemed like too much, but when I inquired to one of the guests if they thought there was enough onion in the dish he said "I think you could use even more". So, follow the recipe as is and you'll be great! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jakers January 02, 2010

Was very tasty, and I am planning to freeze the leftovers for a quickie dinner. However, it seemed to be missing something that would make it great. Can't figure out what it is, but if I ended up with another head of red cabbage (from my CSA), I know what I'll be making.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin' Kiki September 07, 2009
Crock Pot Baked Spiced Red Cabbage With Apples or Pears