16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Easy and delicious. I cooked the potatoes for 8 hours. They were perfect. I used red potatoes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 03, 2007

Great idea! Baking potatoes in the crockpot is easy and no fuss. In the summer, you can still have baked potatoes without heating up the kitchen and in the winter it saves room in the oven for other things! I love recipes I can throw in and walk away from!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
R.Lynn September 24, 2006

This recipe is a great find. Our potatoes were so fluffy and light. I used olive oil and see salt. plus I added about a 1/4 C.of water to the pot. My crockpot instructions state that it should always have some liquid in the pot. I will use this recipe often. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview November 06, 2012

I used 2 good-size Yukon Gold potatoes and they cooked up perfectly for me. I stored 1 in the fridge to slice and fry for breakfast and served the other for dinner topped with Old-Time Hot Dog Sauce #342751 and shredded pepperjack cheese. Easy and delicious. Thanks for posting Danny. Made for Choose Your Event Party.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn August 20, 2010

How easy is this! I love baked potatoes. I also used rather large baking potatoes and came out perfect after 8 hours on low. I put these in before I went to work and enjoyed loaded baked potatoes with our dinner. I never thought to use the crock pot. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ARathkamp June 24, 2009

Dismal, partially-baked potatoes after nine hours. Not pleasant. I'll bake them in the oven as usual next time. Not fluffy when split, but dense, overly moist.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gordon Wagner May 11, 2009

Perfect! I used HUGE potatoes & they were cooked perfectly after 8 hours on low. As another reviewer said, I never would have thought to do this but what a great way to save time & free up oven space!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb November 26, 2008

I never would have figured out on my own that you can cook amazing baked potatoes in the crock pot. So THANK YOU so much for posting. They turned out perfect, 8 medium potatoes cooked on high for 2.5 hours. I don't know if I ever need to do the oven method again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2 boys mom September 03, 2008

Even though it was an easy way to cook my potatoes, they seemed more 'boiled' than 'baked'. The skins were too soft and moist and the inside wasn't as fluffy as a true baked potato. The convenience of the recipe and the fact of not using the oven in the middle of the summer are big pluses though. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) August 08, 2008

I can't believe I never thought of doing baked potatoes this way! I have spent so many years not having baked potatoes during the week because I don’t like them from the microwave! But no more! I used 8 potatoes, washed them with a vegetable brush and dried them well. I did use a fork to poke holes all over the potato surface then put about ½ cup olive oil in a bowl, about ½ cup kosher salt on a plate. I rolled each potato the olive oil, then the salt, then wrapped each potato with foil. I had read somewhere that the potatoes do better if you stand them on end in the crock pot, so I tried that too (don't know if it helps or not!). It was so great to come home from work to delicious baked potatoes - all we had to do was make a salad and grill the steaks and we had a perfect dinner! Thanks Danny Beason for the great method!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks May 28, 2008
Crock Pot Baked Potatoes