10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this today using large granny smith apples and cider. The apples were cooking 2 1/2 hours on low, and were not ready, I turned them up to high and they were done 1/2 hour later. I thickened the cider with a little arrow root mixed in water. The sauce was delicious I dribbled a little brandy in it, and served them with whipped cream, Yum :). I'll definately will be making these again. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
floridamarionlarry_11640178 January 29, 2012

Rival pot, Granny Smith apples, for exactly 3 hours with perfect results. Apple cider for the liquid which made a wonderful sauce. Microwaved(warmed) the extra apple in the morning for breakfast and it worked out great for when you're in a hurry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Va. December 07, 2009

Me again..I wonder...if fresh cranberries and maybe fresh cherries or a combo might work? See my "mom's Cranberry Cookies". Calls for fresh cranberries and I suppose dried would work but fresh have that beautiful tartnes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dennis December 13, 2014

We just loved these. I put raisins in ours. Made as posted except cut the recipe in half. I cooked them for 3 hours and they had just a bite to them. They were not mushy at all. Full of yummy flavor. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas January 12, 2009

I took head of the 'chunky applesauce' experience and set mine on low for 2 hours. My apples were brand new from the store, almost to the point of not being ripe enough. I did have a good experience, but I know my Crockpot well enough to know that it has a tendency to overcook things in a hurry. It really depends on each cooker itself, then you must adjust accordingly. What I ended up with was just about done apples, so I put it on high for about 20 minutes. They were perfect. This will not likely work with any sweet apples, so I wouldn't even try it. I used craisins for the dried berries. I didn't use the nuts, but I'd like to use some pecans next time because I missed them. Oh I also used apple cider in place of the juice. I think it gave it a little more zing, which was delicious. WHat I wish I could rate 10 stars is the SMELL of these babies cooking away in the kitchen. Oh my goodness. I could hardly stand it, it was so good. I made a tiny supper, just to save room for the apples. Ha! Made and Reviewed for 123 Hit Wonders tag - Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ January 08, 2009

an excellent dish !! I used granny smith apples,mixed dried fruit, and apple juice, and the chopped nuts. After 2 1/2 hours apples were tender, and it made a great addition to dinner. Very easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker July 28, 2008

I made this this morning for a company pot luck. I used McIntosh apples and quartered & cored them. I put in the ingredients (less the dried fruit) and set the crock pot on high for an hour and a half. They were perfectly done for the 10:00 brunch! I used the wine instead of the juice, and I think it gave it a more adult flavor. Super easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksatke October 16, 2007

Great way to use up apples! I made this for desert yesterday, what a hit! Served with frozen custard.........Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica Costello February 20, 2006

I did keep an eye on the apples after reading Rita L's review and the note from bluemoon downunder. The apples were very nice and tender, great tasting, and will be making these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 October 09, 2005

I`m not going to rate this for the reason I ended up with applesauce. BUT! Delish apple sauce. I was dissappointed because checking the apples after 3 hours of low slow cooking they were chunky sauce with dried blueberries. I did use firm fresh granny smiths. Being this is a slow cooker recipe it is one of those that should not have to be watched. I`m just glad I didn`t leave the house and come back 6 hours later. I have made similar recipes in the oven so I was looking forward to a nice tender spicied apple with ice cream. But now I just jarred my chunky apple sauce. Which is so very good! Sweet and tangy! I used dried blueberries, 1/2 cup apple juice and 1/4 cup apple iquour. I skipped the nuts!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ September 19, 2005
Crock Pot Baked Apples