Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Aztec Black Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Aztec Black Beans

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2008

      This ended up really good, but I had a few problems. Maybe it was the salsa I used but this was not very flavorful. I added some taco seasoning, garlic puree, salt and vinegar and it was good, but before those additions it was pretty bland. I also found that I kept having to add more water and stir the beans because they were sticking to the sides of the crockpot. So, it's not a recipe that I would want to put in the crockpot and then leave for the day. I served these on tortillas with sauteed peppers and onions, and a dollop of sour cream. The end result was very tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      These couldn't be easier and they're so tasty! Even with soaking overnight, my beans were still a bit crunchier than I prefer after 10 hours on low, so next time I think I'll either let them go longer or cook them on high. I increased the salsa to 32 ounces and reduced the water; I doubt that had much to do with the long cooking time, but it's worth noting. Next time around I think I'll toss in some garlic. I'm a wimp when it comes to spicy food, so I used mild salsa and I think garlic will perk up these beans. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      These are fantastic! I only had about 12oz of salsa, so I used that and added 1 teaspoon each of chili powder, cumin, and salt (plus another teaspoon salt after it was cooked). I also put in 6c of water and cooked it on low for 6 hours. So simple, yet delicious! Next time, I think I'll cook them 6.5-7 hours for softer beans (they were cooked but not as soft as I'd have liked) and use less water or just mash some beans for thickening (or do both). Thanks for posting the recipe, Geema!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      MMMmmm... These made great beans for a base for tostadas, burritos, or tacos. I think it would need more flavor to be used as a side dish--maybe garlic, onion, bell pepper, and Tobasco in the last hour or less of cooking. They did stick to the side of the crock pot, but the long cooking made them creamy and soft. I forgot to soak the dried beans all night, so I did the "quick soak" method of boiling for 2 min. and simmering for 1 hour. After my quick soak, my beans only needed 4 hours on low in my 5.5 qt cooker to be fully cooked. I turned the heat to warm for two more hours and the beans tasted even better. Thanks for a recipe that will be added to my family favorites!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      Super easy and tasty. My beans took 16 hours to cook but I have an unreliable crockpot and I'm not sure the beans were fresh. The flavor is great with NO WORK and almost NO MONEY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Tasty, easy and healthy - my favorite kind of recipe. I served this with brown rice, sour cream, guacamole and homemade chips. Thank you. It's a keeper !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      Nice flavor but I just never could get the beans to cook until they were soft enough for my liking. I have put them in a pot to boil so hopefully the texture will improve. Yummy taste though. I served them with Fat Free Whole Wheat Tortillas #109481 and they went well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2005

      These were really good. I made them with a ham bone. I served them with rice one night and stuffed them in flour tortillas another night. Simple and delicious, it makes a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2004

      My husband really enjoyed these beans. I discovered that my crockpot was on the blink. I turned on the crockpot and left for work. When I got home they weren't cooked. So I turned it on low all night, thinking I hadn't turned it on the right setting. The next morning, they were cold so I thought somebody had turned them off. Well after two days of fooling around, I finally switched to a smaller crockpot and they cooked up just fine. I have thrown away the bad one. Thank you so much for posting this. We served it up with yellow rice and chili rellenos. Yum, great meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Aztec Black Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.1
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    87%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 375.8 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 9.6 g
    38%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 13.2 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites