Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Asian-Style Short Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Asian-Style Short Ribs

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2003

      The sauce had a nice mellow flavor and the meat was quite tender. We enjoyed this, but next time we'll cook it on a bit higher setting (meat was borderline rare) and throw in some garlic to give it a boost.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2003

      I think this is very tasty and a great surprising twist on short ribs! That is, I really wouldn't think of the Asian style used with short ribs. Very tender and good flavor. Extremely easy to make and had all of the ingredients except the five spice. Now I will search for other recipes to use it with! Thanks for a great and different crock pot recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2003

      Very, very tender...in fact the most tender ribs I've ever eaten from a crockpot. Although I was worried that there wasn't enough liquid, the ribs turned out delicious and browned. I used country pork ribs, as I cannot get short beef ribs here, and made half the recipe. Using High heat, ribs were "falling off the bone" tender in under 4 hours. There was very little juice left in the crockpot, but I believe cooking them in so little liquid made them even better than cooking them in lots of liquid. The liquid would make a good basting sauce for the grill. next time I may add even a little more brown sugar. Good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2003

      Terrific ribs. I brought all the ingredients to my brother's lakehouse. Your directions were easy to follow and after I got everything in the crockpot, we got to enjoy our day on the lake. We came back to the most delicious smell and the meat was very tender. I could taste the asian spices but it wasn't too strong. I served with rice, like you suggested. We had a great meal with very little effort. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2003

      Followed exactly using the Sake. Fall apart tender.Lots of flavor. I didn`t think it would be enough liquid but it was. I had it in the crock pot in 15 minutes time. Very easy to make and easier to eat.This will be made agian.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2003

      This was delicious!! I used rice vinegar instead of sherry or sake. Mine was cooked within 5 hours but that may be because my crockpot is a small one. I did not discard the liquid and vegetable. I had them over my rice along with the meat. It was very good that way. I will definitely be making this again. Great recipe...definitely a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2003

      Delicious super-easy short ribs that we served with corn-on-the-cob and salad. I made these as directed except that I subsituted allspice for the five spice powder and 1 tsp of dried ginger to replace the ginger root.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2003

      I had high hopes for this dish, since all the flavors sounded like ones I like. The meat, however, didn't seem to have absorbed much flavor even after spending the day in the crockpot. I didn't discard the cooking liquid, since that's where the flavor was coming from, and I poured it over the meat and some rice. Easy to make, but I'm afraid I won't be repeating this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2003

      Lovely hint of the Orient flavor. The ribs came out tender and moist. Unless you really love 5 spice be careful not to overdo it - the 1 tsp in this recipe is ample giving flavor but not overpowering - next time I may even cut it back a wee bit. I did not discard the veggies & liquid left after cooking but poured them over my rice - wonderful. I cooked the recipe for 6 1/2 hours on low and turned to warm until I was ready to serve it. Easy tasty recipe Thank-you whomever you are.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      These are truly "melt in your mouth"! We had some fried rice and sauteed bok choy with these and it was a great meal. The ribs were so tender and flavorful. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

    • on February 10, 2010

      My whole family (which includes 4 children ages 2 to 9) loved this recipe. I was avoiding the short ribs in our freezer, but won't any longer! I added 5 to 6 cloves of peeled garlic with the vegetables, as well as some peeled and chopped broccoli stems that i had left-over in the fridge. Not having sake, I substituted some balsamic vinegar and white rice vinegar which worked well. Cooked on high for 5 1/2 hours and served it with rice vermicelli and Green Beans with Garlic Butter (Green Beans with Garlic Butter). Thanks, Sue L!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      A really good recipe for short ribs in the crock pot. Made just as stated and the family ate every last little bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      Made this on a lazy Sunday last weekend and really liked it. The short ribs were so tender, they fell right off the bone as we were trying to serve. The dish didn't particularly have an Asian flair, but it was delicious all the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      My husband liked this. He said he'd eat it again, but that it didn't really taste Asian to him. I will probablly not make it again though, looking for a recipe with a more Asian taste as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      The combination of ingredients was excellent. The smell in the house while this was cooking was intoxicating. My son could not wait to eat this dish. As far as ribs goes this is one of the best I've ever had. I sprinkled the ribs with black peper, cayenne pepper and five-spice powder, then grilled them to get a smoky flavor, then put them to the crock pot and added the rest of the ingredients mixed together as a sauce on top. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      This came out great. The meat was beautifully brown and fork tender. The flavor is mellow, sweet, and rich. This was a snap to make too -- I made the marinade first and put it into the crockpot. Then I added the chopped onion and carrots. And finally, I floured and browned the meat before adding it to the crockpot. I used the low setting for eight hours. I used chardonnay instead of dry sherry or sake. I also asked the butcher at the grocery store to cut the beef ribs into two-inch long pieces, so they would be easy to serve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      Loved the flavor! It was exactly what I was hoping for! I'm not a rib fan so I just used it with a sirloin pork roast. Excellent results! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      These are so good! Very tender and flavorful. I used low-sodium soy sauce 'cause hubby doesn't like things too salty. We cooked ours in the oven (covered) on 300F for about three hours. We took the cover off for the last twenty minutes to brown them a little more. We also ate the carrots instead of ditching them. I tasted one and couldn't bear to toss them! These will be a regular for us from now on! A great way to use an inexpensive cut of meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      I used the real thin cut, bone in short ribs. I followed the recipe, except adding garlic, and set the crockpot for 8 hours low. Needless to say they all burned. I liked the flavor towards the middle of the mound. But more then 1/2 we could not eat. They were really charred. I think I will try this again because the mixture of flavors were great. But I will choose a thicker cut of meat. I am still searching for an asian recipe to use with these short ribs..? Thank you,I will adjust and try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Asian-Style Short Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (498 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2125.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1645
    77%
    Total Fat 182.8 g
    281%
    Saturated Fat 73.9 g
    369%
    Cholesterol 344.7 mg
    114%
    Sodium 2940.3 mg
    122%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 22.9 g
    91%
    Protein 72.8 g
    145%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    five-spice powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes