Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Arroz Con Pollo (Spanish Chicken With Rice) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Arroz Con Pollo (Spanish Chicken With Rice)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2012

      Good recipe - but I changed it a little. Saffron is good in this, but true Cuban arroz con pollo uses some oregano and cumin. I used a round teaspoon of both. I also added a little Spanish paprika for a smokey flavor. To avoid having the rice turn to mush, first I deglazed the frying pan with the tomatoes and added this to the crockpot. I waited until about 45 minutes before completion, and sauteed the rice in a little olive oil until transparent, then added this rice to the crock pot. The rice cooked perfectly - it was tender but did not turn to mush.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      oh boy, I dusted off my crock pot and was excited about trying this recipe. I was so disappointed. It was a big mushy mess. I followed all the instructions and still found it to be lacking in flavor and too low in salt (and I don't need a lot). Any ideas on how to improve flavor. I even used the saffron threads.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      Chef Eagle is right; this turns into a mushy mess. The chicken is great as is the flavor, but the rice just goes south. I think it's the combo of tomato-based acidity and a general overcooking. The result is basically gumbo, so if that's what you seek you're fine. It wasn't what I wanted; I expected rice that was recognizable as rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      The flavours in this were fantastic. Done this way, the rice does turn to mush, so next time I would do it the same but add the rice in the last half hour. I used brown rice as well to kick up the nutritional content a bit! The garlic and the saffron lead to a very delicate, but yummy, flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      We really liked this recipe and I will make it again. I cooked this stove top and cooked the rice separately. I used skinless thighs and the saffron. I added some corn starch to thicken a little and also 2 small potatoes chopped. We usually eat very spicy dishes but we loved this mild saffron flavor. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This was very, very yummy. My only complaint (and it's not about the recipe itself) is that the hot sauce (that we love) overpowered the delicate taste of saffron. Next time I think I'll have to choose one or the other. Thanks, Olga, for posting this easy and delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      Good flavors but if I make it again, I will take the skin off of the chicken-makes it too greasy-and add the rice toward the end of the cooking process or cook the rice separately. I followed one reviewers advice and used brown rice, but it was still mushy. A more authentic spice to use is achote.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      I used to make this dish often when married to my 1st husband but I lost custody of the recipe! This one is very similar and I would say even better than the one I used to have. The rice is sticky, but that could be remedied by washing the rice before adding to the pan. I however like it sticky. I only used 1/2 tsp turmeric but otherwise made it just as written. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      Delicious flavor. My only complaint would be that the rice came out very sticky. Next time I will make the rice seperately.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2004

      We loved this recipe. The only change is we used brown rice, which gave it a slightly nuttier flavor and is a healthy alternative to white rice. Because this is a slow cook dish we did not have to adjust the cooking time for the brown rice. Enjoy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Arroz Con Pollo (Spanish Chicken With Rice)

    Serving Size: 1 (463 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 572.6
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    38%
    Total Fat 24.5 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 105.3 mg
    35%
    Sodium 582.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 33.6 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes