11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good recipe - but I changed it a little. Saffron is good in this, but true Cuban arroz con pollo uses some oregano and cumin. I used a round teaspoon of both. I also added a little Spanish paprika for a smokey flavor. To avoid having the rice turn to mush, first I deglazed the frying pan with the tomatoes and added this to the crockpot. I waited until about 45 minutes before completion, and sauteed the rice in a little olive oil until transparent, then added this rice to the crock pot. The rice cooked perfectly - it was tender but did not turn to mush.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
titopuente November 16, 2012

oh boy, I dusted off my crock pot and was excited about trying this recipe. I was so disappointed. It was a big mushy mess. I followed all the instructions and still found it to be lacking in flavor and too low in salt (and I don't need a lot). Any ideas on how to improve flavor. I even used the saffron threads.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Eagle June 03, 2009

This recipe was excellent. For those who said it was a mushy mess put a paper towel over the crock pot and under the crock pot for the last hour of cooking. This helps absorb most of the liquid and prevents the rice from being mushy. This tip can be used for other recipes in which you see there is too much liquid during the cooking time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fzpackpm March 24, 2015

Chef Eagle is right; this turns into a mushy mess. The chicken is great as is the flavor, but the rice just goes south. I think it's the combo of tomato-based acidity and a general overcooking. The result is basically gumbo, so if that's what you seek you're fine. It wasn't what I wanted; I expected rice that was recognizable as rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktappe January 27, 2012

The flavours in this were fantastic. Done this way, the rice does turn to mush, so next time I would do it the same but add the rice in the last half hour. I used brown rice as well to kick up the nutritional content a bit! The garlic and the saffron lead to a very delicate, but yummy, flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FancyFish April 26, 2009

We really liked this recipe and I will make it again. I cooked this stove top and cooked the rice separately. I used skinless thighs and the saffron. I added some corn starch to thicken a little and also 2 small potatoes chopped. We usually eat very spicy dishes but we loved this mild saffron flavor. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babytoothdoc July 25, 2008

This was very, very yummy. My only complaint (and it's not about the recipe itself) is that the hot sauce (that we love) overpowered the delicate taste of saffron. Next time I think I'll have to choose one or the other. Thanks, Olga, for posting this easy and delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SheCooksToConquer January 30, 2008

Good flavors but if I make it again, I will take the skin off of the chicken-makes it too greasy-and add the rice toward the end of the cooking process or cook the rice separately. I followed one reviewers advice and used brown rice, but it was still mushy. A more authentic spice to use is achote.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hisave04 December 17, 2006

I used to make this dish often when married to my 1st husband but I lost custody of the recipe! This one is very similar and I would say even better than the one I used to have. The rice is sticky, but that could be remedied by washing the rice before adding to the pan. I however like it sticky. I only used 1/2 tsp turmeric but otherwise made it just as written. Thank you for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lunchmeat December 11, 2006

Delicious flavor. My only complaint would be that the rice came out very sticky. Next time I will make the rice seperately.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike I. January 10, 2006
Crock Pot Arroz Con Pollo (Spanish Chicken With Rice)