Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Apricot Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Apricot Chicken

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2003

      This is an outstanding recipe. I have made it for years. Instead of French dressing, I use Russian. Also, I use the whole amount of Russian dressing that is in a small bottle. Great with parsley potatoes. A sure keeper in your recipe box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      The flavours in this chicken dish are divine. I used 3 chicken breasts and cooked on low for 3 1/2 hours. Just the right amount of tasty sauce. Thaks for posting. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2002

      Also works with apricot sauce from Trader Joes! I use it with a bit of honey and spices like nutmeg and cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      REALLY good! I used FROZEN boneless/skinless breasts and chicken remained moist and sauce was perfect. My 3 year old loved it. I served with a brown/wild rice, broccoli and romaine lettuce salad. A wonderful meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2003

      WOW!! Lennie this recipe is wonderful. The chicken was very moist and the sauce was so delicious. I also substituted Russian dressing for the French, I thought the flavor was great. This recipe couldn't be easier to make. Everyone in my family agrees that this one's a keeper. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2003

      Lenny-this was great. Very moist and yummy. I used 2 cut up chickens and doubled the sauce recipe. Served it with rice and there wasn't a drop left over. Since I work fulltime, I use my crockpot several times a week. My kids know that when they see the crock on the counter that they will be having a great dinner. This is on their request list from now on. Chava

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      I'm making this recipe for the 2nd time (in the oven, as I write this), and it's delicious. I followed the sauce ingredients as written. The only changes I made: I used 4 large chicken thighs, (about 1 lb) and baked it in the oven at 350, for 55 min. That's also the method I used last time, cause it's cold and rainy outside. I like extra sauce, so even though chicken weight was reduced, kept the sauce the same. Will serve over rice. Yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      My version from the 70's uses Wishbone Russian Dressing, jam and soup. Absolutely delicious!! Try it. I'm going to try this. I've never used French dressing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2004

      My family and friends thought this was a definate keeper. It is even taster as left overs. I will make this again. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2004

      This is a great dish. I have made it a couple of times now, and everyone loves it. I love it because my 18 month old twins and my husband all like it - a rare occurance in our house! I've even served it to company who asked for the recipe. Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      Loved it! Used Russian dressing, bone-in chicken thighs, and an apricot/passionfruit jam. Served with white rice and some baby spinach. Thanks Lennie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      This is a keeper. I'll be making this dish very often. It was super easy to make and tasted delicious. It was a big hit! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      A real winner! I used skinless chicken thighs and served over mashed potatoes. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      I made this as the directions stated but used peach instead of apricot since that is what I had on hand. It's an interesting flavor, and my husband and I both enjoyed it. We both felt it was missing a slight bit of heat to balance the sweetness of the sauce. Does anyone have a suggestion on what could be added to achieve what we're trying for? I will make this again and experiment a bit to see if we can get there. Thanks for sharing something different!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      What a great recipe. I was a bit dubious about the ingredients, even after all the great reviews, but boy was I wrong. The sauce is just fantastic. I used big meaty chicken thighs and since my slow cooker tends to run hot they only took 4 hours on low.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Thanks Lennie, for this fabulous Company's Coming recipe! My family loved it - I used four frozen boneless skinless chicken breasts and cooked on Low for four hours, and had lots of left over sauce (even after smothering my chicken and rice in it). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      FINALLY! A crock pot dish that my DH likes. Thank you for sharing/posting this "Company's Coming Slow Cooker Recipes" recipe. Here is what I did - which was very minimal. 1. Used Russian dressing by btcats (#87710) 2. Peach preserves (all I had on hand) 3. FROZEN, boneless, skinless breasts cut in thirds 4. Crock pot w/Low temp for approx. 4 hrs. It was SO DELICIOUS! Even I was amazed! Thanks again, Lennie!!! Keep up the good recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      I didn't have a very good result with this. I did what the recipe said and everything ended up burnt on the bottom of the pot. I'm almost terrified to try again just in case I screwed up! :-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      My mother made this as the first recipe that she prepared for my father after they got married, and I continued the tradition with my husband! I ususally bake this in the oven, and finish it off by turning on the broiler for a few minutes. This caramelizes the sauce and gives the chicken a nice crunchy exterior and beautiful color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      I made this today for a potluck at work. Everyone loved it. I found chicken thighs on sale for .99 a pound, put it altgether and cooked it on high. Delicious! I used Russian dressing, because I couldn't find French dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Apricot Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 446.5
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    37%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 103.4 mg
    34%
    Sodium 1244.8 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 22.8 g
    91%
    Protein 32.9 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites